NAJ gears up for wage negotiations

• NAJ gears up for wage negotiations

It appears that the Government will have to dig deeper into its coffers to pay public sector nurses who are gearing up to start wage negotiations in a matter of weeks.

Following a meeting of its executive on Monday, the Nurses Association of Jamaica (NAJ) says it will now be seeking a wage adjustment above the 100 per cent promised by Finance Minister Audley Shaw.

NAJ President Edith Allwood-Anderson says a 100 per cent increase will not be enough to satisfy nurses who have seen their salaries eroded due to inflation.

She disclosed that the Association will submit its claim next month.

It will cover the 2008 to 2010 period.

"The NAJ will be seeking to have more because we realize that we have been eroded in terms of our gains over the years. So we are not only accepting that his good heart will see to it that is done and certainly we would hope that we would not have to negotiate for that but we will seek to justify our case for more pay. Maybe government should put in place a 10 year plan in terms of the strategic increasing overtime of nurses," said Mrs. Allwood-Anderson.

It appears that the Government will have to dig deeper into its coffers to pay public sector nurses who are gearing up to start wage negotiations in a matter of weeks.

Following a meeting of its executive on Monday, the Nurses Association of Jamaica (NAJ) says it will now be seeking a wage adjustment above the 100 per cent promised by Finance Minister Audley Shaw.

NAJ President Edith Allwood-Anderson says a 100 per cent increase will not be enough to satisfy nurses who have seen their salaries eroded due to inflation.

She disclosed that the Association will submit its claim next month.

It will cover the 2008 to 2010 period.

"The NAJ will be seeking to have more because we realize that we have been eroded in terms of our gains over the years. So we are not only accepting that his good heart will see to it that is done and certainly we would hope that we would not have to negotiate for that but we will seek to justify our case for more pay. Maybe government should put in place a 10 year plan in terms of the strategic increasing overtime of nurses," said Mrs. Allwood-Anderson.
    And if dem waan help fi block road - 836-1530!

juss nuh burn uh tires though LOL
      Talk about being played woooeeee