• Golding makes golden start as prime minister

Golding makes golden start as prime minister
    Ken Chaplin
    Tuesday, October 02, 2007

Detractors of new prime minister Bruce Golding say that he has made a shaky start in governance. But the contrary is true. He has made a strong start, perhaps the strongest by any government since independence.

The country took a major step forward when Golding, as he had promised during the general campaign, that his administration would end cost-sharing by parents and guardians and government in secondary schools. Government will now pay the tuition fees of all students. This will bring great relief to parents and guardians, many of whom had difficulty in sending their children to school. The charges by schools should be examined with expediency to establish whether these charges are reasonable and to make them unified. The government is to look into this aspect. The previous PNP government always said that the country could not afford free tuition, This column has always insisted that if government rids itself of corruption, money could be found for free tuition and other well-needed government social programmes.

As I have always written in this column, the primary objective of liberal education is to enable citizens to make a living, contribute to the welfare and development
    of their community and to engender harmonious relations with their fellowmen, especially their neighbours. Many of the social problems Jamaica is now experiencing are the direct result of many children who have not attended school at all, or attended irregularly over a period of time. The attitude of an illiterate person is quite different from one who is functionally literate. An illiterate person, for example, is handicapped in reasoning, easily misled by politicians, have difficulty in finding jobs and this is becoming increasingly so in Jamaica. Many of our young people are blessed with common sense, but common sense can take them only so far.

The standard of primary education has fallen over the past 25 years. Much more attention needs to be given to primary education. Many graduates of the primary schools can barely read and write, cannot make it to secondary schools or training institutions, because their educational standard is below the minimum standard required. Many do not want to take casual jobs and end up as misfits in the community.

Some resort to crime and violence. The failure of others to read and write is blamed on the society, but individuals have a responsibility. I have worked in the ghettos and the number of gang leaders that have asked me to help them to complete a simple form is disturbing. Therefore, we have to devise programmes to help the dropouts from primary schools who are unable to read and write. This brings us to the question of compulsory education at the primary level. The country will not move forward if its young people
    are not exposed to some form of primary or secondary education. Sooner or later the country will have to move into compulsory primary education on a phased basis. The country cannot afford to take on compulsory primary education because there is so much poverty. Many people would not be able to find the necessary resources and taxpayers would have to meet a substantial portion of the cost. It cannot be done at one shot, but certainly it can be implemented on a phased basis.

Education is more important than highways, something that the former Patterson administration seemed not to have recognised. It generates upward social mobility. In 1947 when I became a journalist there were no black tellers in commercial banks. The reasons given were that black girls could not be trusted and few had the required education. The matter of education was true to a certain extent. In a classic example of human resolve, black Jamaican girls embarked on a path of education and more education in which they and their parents, many from the working class (some making the optimum sacrifice) struggled and struggled against great odds for a good education. Today, black Jamaicans form 99 per cent of the tellers in commercial banks and the managerial staff is dominated by black Jamaicans.

Many black Jamaicans who did not have the educational opportunity or did not make use of it have been left behind in the forward leap to a better life, creating social problems. Some are beyond the point of rescue. Those who can be rescued must be helped. Golding's move to provide free tuition at the secondary school level must therefore be regarded as fundamentally important to Jamaica's future.

Golding has not yet fully settled down, but his credibility has escalated in less than a month. In his election campaign also, he said that one of the objectives of his administration would be to strengthen the role of the Opposition in Parliament. Within three weeks after he became prime minister, Golding invited the Opposition to chair six select committees of the House of Representatives. He also moved to give every member of the House the opportunity to make statements to the House, which is unprecedented in parliamentary affairs and will enable members of parliament to represent their constituents better.

Cabinet secretary should not be on appointments committee
    Many people are questioning the wisdom of the Cabinet Secretary sitting on the committee that selects chief executive officers of executive agencies. The prime minister has tremendous influence over the Cabinet secretary who wields influence on the Public Service Commission (PSC). This is the only objection being raised in the selection and appointment of chief executive officers of executive agencies as the system could be abused.

The procedure for appointment is simple:
    first, the post is advertised in the public service and in newspapers. The advertisement includes the requirements for the job because the post is at the senior management level. After an assessment is carried out, a shortlist is prepared by a group which includes the Cabinet secretary and a representative from the Office of the Services Commission. Applicants have to participate in a select group exercise with other people, after which an interview
    is conducted by a panel consisting of a representative of the PSC, Cabinet secretary and a specialist in the area for which the applicant is required. Then a summary is prepared which goes to the PSC and afterwards to the governor general for approval. The Office of the Services Commission then issues the letter of appointment.
    Last edited by Karl; October 2, 2007, 11:06 AM.

So far, so good

Dear Reader,
    There is no doubt that the Golding-led Jamaica Labour Party government is off to a good start. The new prime minister has definitely taken charge, and the results after only 20 days in office are encouraging. In fact, I believe that we all forgot what good governance looked and felt like. The truth is that what Mr Golding is doing and saying are things that are normal in any functioning democracy. The reason they seem novel is that the country had become so accustomed to sub-standard governance, that many people were even beginning to feel that we didn't deserve anything better.

It is clear that Mr Golding recognises the power of the media, and understands that there is a way to positively engage those entities that help shape public opinion. Any government that goes against the media, does so at its own peril, and Mr Golding seems to understand that. He scored a "first" by giving veteran journalist Cliff Hughes a two-hour interview on his television show Impact aired last week, only two weeks after his swearing-in as prime minister. I watched the interview in its entirety, and saw a leader who had definitely taken the driver's seat and was already pressing the accelerator. My own recommendation is that Mr Golding introduces a weekly programme of broadcasts to the nation, as well as periodic State of the Nation addresses so that Jamaicans will begin to feel that they too have a stake in governance.

Not only should the prime minister get into the habit of speaking to the nation regularly, he should encourage his Cabinet ministers to engage in interactive radio where ordinary Jamaicans can field questions and get answers. Even to this day, I don't think the People's National Party understands the importance of communicating with the people, and the few humble souls in their midst who recognise how important that is seem to be continually silenced by the "hawks" who forgot along the way that they were running a country and not their own personal households. Among the many failing grades of the PNP administration, the worst was the failing grade
    for communication.

The new prime minister's efforts towards rapprochement have not gone unnoticed. From the night of his victory speech, Mr Golding's public statements have all carried a tone and a call for reconciliation and unity. Mr Golding is a smart man. He understands that the Jamaican people gave him a thinly crafted mandate. In fact, it is almost as if the JLP has been given a "test run". I get a very clear sense that never again will the people of Jamaica allow any one party to entrench itself politically, to the detriment of the country, and I'm afraid that it is the JLP that has the burden of proof placed upon its head.

Outside of Cabinet meetings, I'm not sure what internal mechanisms exist to ensure uniformity of vision and methods, but it is also clear that Mr Golding's "get-to-business" attitude is quickly filtering down to his appointees. I was heartened to see that the minister of transport and works, Mike Henry, was on spot to see first-hand the devastation and ramifications of the lawlessness on our streets when he visited the site of the motor vehicle accident near the toll road in Clarendon last week. That type of response is supposed to be the norm.

Because our country's achievements, both good and bad, far outweigh our size, I believe we tend to forget that we live in a very small country that can actually be governed on the ground. In other words, we don't need a "top-down" approach. What we require, particularly for such a time as this, is a government that will get its hands and feet dirty, and make itself accessible to the people.

The minister of education's quick and decisive response to the crisis at Jose Marti Technical High School did not go unnoticed either, and it appears as if Cabinet ministers are on the same page as their leader. Under Andrew Holness' leadership, the contractors put in the necessary weekend overtime work to complete the classrooms, and students were able to go back to school by Monday morning.

Of course, one could argue that this is how any new government behaves. After all, it's like a new marriage, where everything is about doing what is pleasing to each other. Whether or not the JLP government can sustain its energy and focus over the next five years is left to be seen, but as far as I am concerned, it has made a very good start.

However, gaining the public trust is perhaps the biggest task Mr Golding is faced with.

Over 18 1/2 years, mistrust and cynicism hardened, and the people of Jamaica became accustomed to seeing everything through jaundiced and jaded eyes. It wasn't entirely the people's fault. As the years went by, the notion of good governance seemed unattainable - at best, blurred, and the notion of trust lost all currency within the context of corruption and mediocrity in government.

For many it is not a matter of liking Mr Golding. It is that they are not sure if they can trust him. While the PNP no doubt left him with a lot of baggage to carry, some of the mistrust is due to his own legacy. Nevertheless, it seems as if we can say, "So far, so good, Mr Golding."
    With love,
    bab2609@yahoo.com
    Last edited by Karl; October 2, 2007, 11:12 AM.

quite aside from that i marvel at the worldwide phenomenon where government acknowledge that its greatest resource is the people and yet do not do more to educate the people! WHY?!!

education, underfunded almost worldwide, is usually the first to take a hit in a budget reduction or if there is an increase it is minimal! While this is also true in the US, it is particularly true in jamaica and government after government has had the opportunity to do more but refused.

teachers are now under paid over worked and undermotivated because of all of the above, not to mention the risk of bodily harm now attendant with being a teacher!
      Last edited by Gamma; October 2, 2007, 11:30 AM.

Read this:

The education debate ...Square pegs in round holes
        published: Sunday | September 30, 2007

Valerie Dixon, Contributor

Students view posters on display at the Cross Keys Post Office in Manchester in this 2005 file photo. [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] needs a system that pays highly trained professional teachers at the same rate that a teacher, doctor, [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]lawyer[/COLOR][/COLOR] or highly trained professional could command in any part of the First World.

Many persons writing and giving commentary about the state of our [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]educational[/COLOR][/COLOR] system and, to a lesser extent, the state of the public sector, are either too young to know, or were not able to understand the politics of the day that 30 years later have placed us in today's precarious and sorry situation.
        A young person leaving school in 1961 had little problem [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]finding [COLOR=orange! important]a [/COLOR][COLOR=orange! important]job[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] if he or she chose not to study at the tertiary level.
        There were so many foreign investors operating businesses in Jamaica at this time that young people were guaranteed jobs that could almost take them into [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]retirement[/COLOR][/COLOR].
        Even though many of these jobs were menial by our middle-class yardstick of today, people managed very well because the cost of living was so low, relatively speaking.
        Today, people are getting a higher minimum wage, but it cannot buy what 21 shillings (now about $42) or less for wages could buy. People could also save out of these 'menial' wages; as a man didn't consider owning a house until he was in his 40s going on 50.
        So, young people hired by the bauxite companies (although they paid better wages) are now either retired or are about to retire. If the bauxite companies had left Jamaica, this could not be happening. Many were employed as young school leavers without tertiary education.
        Professionals, technocrats
        It, therefore, meant that the students who went to teachers' colleges, the College of Arts, Science and Technology (now University of Technology) and the University of the West Indies prepared themselves academically to become our professionals and technocrats.
        The matriculation standard for these institutions was very high and, as a result, these professionals, such as teachers, doctors, lawyers, engineers and others, were considered to be of a high calibre.
        However, by the mid-1970s all standards fell. Jamaica's 'industrial revolution' was spearheaded by Robert Lightbourne, who was the Minister of Trade and Industry during the 1960s leading up to 1972.
        However, by 1968, Jamaica got bitten by the 'ethnic bug' that was sweeping across the United States and, with a change of government in 1972, production and development gave way to ideology and we have not recovered from the ill-effects of this 'bite'.
        Many persons, who are of a certain political persuasion, do not like to talk about this or admit that such a thing really happened. But truth, like beauty, just is.
        So, when the foreign investments left our shores, many business establishments and factories closed their doors. This created a raft of school leavers who could not find jobs. This was an embarrassment to the Government of the day and a solution had to be found real fast.
        Lowering standards
        At about this same time, as if by coincidence, many teachers, teachers' colleges lecturers and many other professionals also left the shores of Jamaica. A vacuum was created that had to be filled.
        Many of the jobless school leavers were encouraged to enter into the once noble teaching profession. Many of these school leavers had no desire to teach or enter tertiary institutions, and many were not qualified to meet the high matriculation standards. In my opinion, this was the beginning of our present-day dilemma.
        Standards had to be lowered to accommodate these school leavers who could find nothing to do, so many of them found themselves as being like square pegs in round holes. The noble profession of teaching now became a mere 'job', rather than a vocation or a career path that one chose with zeal and passion.
        This solution placed many persons who felt that teaching was their calling or purpose in life in a most precarious position. We chose to enter the teaching profession in the same way that a person chooses to be a doctor, lawyer or engineer.
        Unfortunately, we graduated from tertiary institutions at a time when teaching began to lose its lustre, as many who would soon graduate after us would only be teaching because they could not find other jobs. The qualities one hoped to find in those who would be moulding young minds were sadly lacking in many of these new graduates from our teacher training colleges.
        From as far back as the mid to end of the 1970s, there were teachers with whom I worked who, in my opinion, should never have been standing in front of students.
        Many had, and still have, a poor command of the English language. Many could hardly wait for the lunchtime bell to ring so that they could ply their trade as taxi drivers or open the trunks of their cars which were used as clothes boutiques and haberdasheries.
        These people were not true teachers; they were square pegs in round holes. Clubs and other after-school extra-curricular activities, that in my school days were compulsory, now began to fall by the wayside.
        The 25 per cent of teachers in any school, who wanted to teach crafts, culture, dance and other performing arts - that they would proudly enter in the festival competitions - became discouraged as the student population was too large in many instances for any meaningful extra-curricular activity to take place.
        It is in these extra-curricular activities that many of us mature Jamaicans learnt our hobbies. Many entrepreneurs today have turned these hobbies into thriving businesses that generate employment.
        Much change
        Family life in Jamaica now means something completely different and it is our teachers who are some of the examples of this moral decay. It is not unheard of or unusual for some of our male teachers to be smoking ganja with their students.
        So much has changed in 30 years and the change has not been for the better. Many who are parents today were taught by some of these 'square pegs'. A lot of people believe that I am not a very bright person because I have been a teacher for so long and when I 'trot out my many qualifications', they look at me most suspiciously.
        These days I am most flattered when younger people say that I am difficult to work with. That's because I simply refuse to lower my standards and come down to their level of mediocrity.
        Payment as professionals
        A British adage says "measure twice and cut once". Our Jamaican adage says "cho, dat can live wid". A lot of our present-day graduates have become professional 'kabba- kabbas', and I say it with no apology.
        What is needed, in my opinion, in Jamaica is not 'performance pay', but a system that pays highly trained professional teachers at the same rate that a teacher, doctor, lawyer or highly trained professional could command in any part of the First World.
        By so doing, persons who have a passion and a love for teaching would want to stay in Jamaica and thereby 'crowd-out' those who can't find anything else to do and wind up in our institutions of learning not as true teachers, but as square pegs in round holes. Valerie Dixon is a Manchester-based educator who can be reached at valeriecdixon@hotmail.com.

quite aside from that i marvel at the worldwide phenomenon where government acknowledge that its greatest resource is the people and yet do not do more to educate the people! WHY?!!

education, underfunded almost worldwide, is usually the first to take a hit in a budget reduction or if there is an increase it is minimal! While this is also true in the US, it is particularly true in jamaica and government after government has had the opportunity to do more but refused.

teachers are now over paid over worked and undermotivated because of all of the above, not to mention the risk of bodily harm now attendant with being a teacher!
          Teachers overpaid?
          Not my Jamaica!

..but, you are bang-on with not enoungh attention being paid to education. Some of us...teachers would, in the grand scheme of rapidly moving the country forward, go so far as to claim "education has been overlooked".

It is a fact that every area of education that requires funding, in the history of the country, never ever has any of the areas been fully funded. If we focus on the requirement of our people since Independence, no governement has ever had the will (they shall all claim - the wherewithal) to no totally...but, not even adequately fund what we have in place - building of schools and other education buildings, maintenance of same, supplies and equipment, operational recurrent expenses, paying of teachers and ancillary staff, oversight officers and technocrats, etc. - NEVER EVER!!!!

Typo Karl!!!

That was clear.

Teachers overpaid?
              Not my Jamaica!

..but, you are bang-on with not enoungh attention being paid to education. Some of us...teachers would, in the grand scheme of rapidly moving the country forward, go so far as to claim "education has been overlooked".

It is a fact that every area of education that requires funding, in the history of the country, never ever has any of the areas been fully funded. If we focus on the requirement of our people since Independence, no governement has ever had the will (they shall all claim - the wherewithal) to no totally...but, not even adequately fund what we have in place - building of schools and other education buildings, maintenance of same, supplies and equipment, operational recurrent expenses, paying of teachers and ancillary staff, oversight officers and technocrats, etc. - NEVER EVER!!!!
              We also have a warped idea of thinking that everyone needs to be on the academic track!!!

In Germany, vocational (TRADE) skills training is huge and the workers are well paid.

We have too many lawyers and economists and not engineers, machinists, craftsmen, and masons (technicians).

i have a more cynical view....an uneducated rabble can be "educated" by the political parties to great effect!

Willi I can tell you Runaway Bay HEART Academy churning out great workers in our hotel industry and can compete with any other of its kind worldwide.

It would amaze me if cruise ship just take at 50% of the graduates. Students are taught different trades, and life skills to accomodate tourism.

Check it out sometime when you go pon your north coast visit.

i have met HEART graduates working at some very good hotel chains throughout the caribbean...St. kitts, Antigua, St. Lucia (and I seem to recall Grenada too...) I think some hotel chains may have a HEART preference.

For a few years well the Chefs use to take top awards at a Canadian competition and this lead to Brown Uninversity(i think) had a open door policy to graduates.

good to see they are branching out. I know they are highly trained with staff who come from all over the world to give a week or two in return for a Jamaican vacation plus the OAS was helping to staff it.