• Golding outlines plan for construction sector

Sunday, September 30, 2007

Prime Minister Bruce Golding has outlined his plan to totally revamp the approval process for construction, creating instead a single authority that should reduce waiting time to 90 days. "If there is no objection after 90 days then the developer may proceed with his plans," said Golding.

He was speaking at the opening of the tenth staging of the Hardware Merchants Association (HMA) Home Hardware show held at the National Arena on Thursday.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding (left) greets Brenda La Grange Johnson, US ambassador to Jamaica, at the opening of the Hardware Merchants Association Home and Hardware Show held at the National Arena last Thursday. The show closes today. (Photo:Karl McLarty)

According to Golding the proposed process will see investors filing a single plan for development with the new authority and waiting 90 days for a response.
    He explained that all the agencies now involved in the approval process, except environment, would be represented on the new Authority.

"Once you file those plans in accordance with what is stipulated, the authority has 90 days in which to object to the development."
    The prime minister emphasised that in doing so he was shifting the onus from the developers and to the Authority.
    "We will no longer require you to seek approval," Golding said, adding that one should not have to seek approval for doing something that is good for the country.

Any objections for example, inadequate parking facilities or a lack of water supply, would be communicated to the investor within a reasonable time allowing for better planning, Golding argued.
    "The onus will have to be with the Authority," he added.
    The cumbersome approval process now involves the submission of fifteen duplicates of a proposal to a Parish Council, which then passes them on to the relevant approval agencies and can take anywhere up to four years for final permission to proceed.

"We cannot be serious about investment if we place so many obstacles in the way of investment," Golding remarked.
    Speaking on the exclusion of environment functions normally executed by National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA), Golding said he believed that the environment should not be included in the planning and development authority.

"We believe that the environment ought to be a stand-alone agency. We don't want to compromise the environmental authority when it is a part of the planning approval," he said

From 4 years to 90 days? Is that possible?

Sunday, September 30, 2007

Prime Minister Bruce Golding has outlined his plan to totally revamp the approval process for construction, creating instead a single authority that should reduce waiting time to 90 days. "If there is no objection after 90 days then the developer may proceed with his plans," said Golding.

He was speaking at the opening of the tenth staging of the Hardware Merchants Association (HMA) Home Hardware show held at the National Arena on Thursday.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding (left) greets Brenda La Grange Johnson, US ambassador to Jamaica, at the opening of the Hardware Merchants Association Home and Hardware Show held at the National Arena last Thursday. The show closes today. (Photo:Karl McLarty)

According to Golding the proposed process will see investors filing a single plan for development with the new authority and waiting 90 days for a response.
      He explained that all the agencies now involved in the approval process, except environment, would be represented on the new Authority.

"Once you file those plans in accordance with what is stipulated, the authority has 90 days in which to object to the development."
      The prime minister emphasised that in doing so he was shifting the onus from the developers and to the Authority.
      "We will no longer require you to seek approval," Golding said, adding that one should not have to seek approval for doing something that is good for the country.

Any objections for example, inadequate parking facilities or a lack of water supply, would be communicated to the investor within a reasonable time allowing for better planning, Golding argued.
      "The onus will have to be with the Authority," he added.
      The cumbersome approval process now involves the submission of fifteen duplicates of a proposal to a Parish Council, which then passes them on to the relevant approval agencies and can take anywhere up to four years for final permission to proceed.

"We cannot be serious about investment if we place so many obstacles in the way of investment," Golding remarked.
      Speaking on the exclusion of environment functions normally executed by National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA), Golding said he believed that the environment should not be included in the planning and development authority.

"We believe that the environment ought to be a stand-alone agency. We don't want to compromise the environmental authority when it is a part of the planning approval," he said
      This is extremly interesting!

Who then protects the people who live within the community? ...what of any concerns and or objections they may have? ...what of any local knowledge -terrain, local community, local development plans? ...interests?

Are they informed of 'developments'/'projects' after they are a 'done deal'/'tuf but hush'...wi -the developers & the one-stop authority - neva kno?

...or, will steps be taken to inform the locals?

I thought that is what the parish council and other evironmental groups, plus community groups are about?

I also thought the JLP where moving in the direction I gave in answer to Willi's question - pre-elections.
          Well let's see, what we shall see!

I also thought the JLP where moving in the direction I gave in answer to Willi's question - pre-elections.
            Well let's see, what we shall see!
            pre-elections? Do you actually know what yuh typing?

it is on the people to mobilise to stop bad projects much like how they stopped cockpit country thing.

Look like seh you just like to talk off the top of your head.

Who currently protects the people who live in the community ?

You think the ridiculous delays currently in the system are efforts to protect who live within the community ?

I suspected you were going to throw down your pom-poms.. nevah realize seh you would exchange them for 'We want Justice' placards though..

Your hypocrisy knows no bounds... once again demonstrating you are in the 'part of the problem' group.

Jamaica nevah just fall into a hole.. it was dug by certain people and their idiosyncrasies.

I like this!Hey, look Lazie, yet another compliment from Mosiah re Bruce's initiatives!

Mi a see dem? 2 so far ... yuh suppose to be dizzy by now. Is a 90 day approval really realistic?

I may be dizzy, but you need to start being honest, at least with yourself!90 is not realistic given our habits, but it's high time we break some of our lethargic habits!

From 4 years to 90 days? Is that possible?
                        90 days may be unrealistic but 4 years!?! No wonder corruption abounds!

We will now have to find a way to offer those "protections" within 90 days!Good!

Before we jump up and shout (either way), we need to be CLEAR on what the new authority is about. If the authority is to fast-track planning and development and the requisite approvals and cut back on the long time line and multiple applications to different bodies - it is to be welcomed.
                            However, with NEPA's exclusion in the planning and development stage then expect to add a few more months for environmental approvals.
                            A number of red flags go up when I here 'approval' for development and "plans in accordance with what is stipulated". We need to know what are the guidelines. Why is an environment component excluded? If NEPA is not involved then certainly some other 'environmental entity' should be a part of the planning process. Why 'approve' a project then to find out later it is not viable?
                            Worldwide, the average for environmental approvals alone is about 9 months.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                              Before we jump up and shout (either way), we need to be CLEAR on what the new authority is about. If the authority is to fast-track planning and development and the requisite approvals and cut back on the long time line and multiple applications to different bodies - it is to be welcomed.
                              However, with NEPA's exclusion in the planning and development stage then expect to add a few more months for environmental approvals.
                              A number of red flags go up when I here 'approval' for development and "plans in accordance with what is stipulated". We need to know what are the guidelines. Why is an environment component excluded? If NEPA is not involved then certainly some other 'environmental entity' should be a part of the planning process. Why 'approve' a project then to find out later it is not viable?
                              Worldwide, the average for environmental approvals alone is about 9 months.
                              Regarding your question, the PM said, "We believe that the environment ought to be a stand-alone agency. We don't want to compromise the environmental authority when it is a part of the planning approval."