Yeah whatever Carib Cement..,just toe the line

Had it to my receding hairline with these Trinis!

You cyaan read ?

Where is the velocity from all the 'investment' and 'projects' ?

Yuh evah invest yuh money is anyting yet ?

What kinda returns yuh expec ? or yuh juss happy saying yuh invest X amount a money ?
      There is hope for you...at least your are NOW admitting that there were substantial investments and projects during the last 18 years.

Your words -

Many FDI, Many 'projects' yet abysmal economic growth and social decay, under employment.. etc...

Sumting Wong !
      Clap yuhself -you have moved a far way from "the PNP did nothing in the last 18 years". Mi clap yuhself, agen!

...and, you expect anyone to believe there has been no velocity from all the investments and projects?

Take your time - deep breaths, now! Feel better?

Well you shall feel much better if you said, the level 'velocity' one would expect was not there! You asked in the post before your last -"WHY was that? ...

Many FDI, Many 'projects' yet abysmal economic growth and social decay, under employment.. etc...

Sumting Wong !
      I am still awaiting your response to my quuestion -

...yeah? ...what is wrong?
      Well you may start by taking at look at inflows of 'cash' - for a start remove from inflows of 'cash' Remittances, Bauxite, Sugar, Bananas & Tourism...and, see what our loquacious, chest beating private sector has contributed?

...you may also want to consider the cost of importaion of oil - burden on our foreign exchange balances and the contribution to increased cost of doing business...the effects on cost of goods and services...? ...go on and think of other drags on the 'velocity' of which you speak... go on...

...or the cat got yuh tongue?

Karl,

Of course they didnt do nothing! Otherwise, the country would have rotted! The issue is that they did not do enough (by far) and that what they did do was not great value for money.

No on can deny that infrastructure was upgarded, but the burden has been shifted to taxpayers who already have a huge debt burden over their heads and who have already PAID taxes for lots of these developments!

The money skimming has done us great damage.

I guess you all missed this on the Internet.

Carib Cement is investing over US$100M in expanding its Jamaican operations. They are practically building a new plant further up on the hill, so they are not about to pick up and go anywhere any time soon. And they shouldn't have to.

With improved technology, and the new plant will have the latest technology, we should be able to get a plant that runs clean. For years we have become used to Carib Cement spitting out clouds of cement dust over Rockfort and Harbour View. There are plants all over the world that are clean as a whistle. Even T&T has one. So we can have one too!

Carib Cement is ideally located for its operations. The raw materials it uses are right in its backyard and the port is across the road. Not that much is being exported or their is an intention to increase imports on a long term basis. The new plant should satisfy the local market fully, with little left for export. But they do ship in some material for its mills every once in a while.

With proper management, there is no reason why Carib shouldn't be able to function right where it is as a good corporate citizen.

Lydford Mines or whatever its called in St. Ann is already planning another cement plant in that parish. They say they'll export 90% of its cement.

Those are the Internet-free facts. Do we still want to move Carib Cement? Do we still need another plant? I don't have a problem with competition, but for now, there don't seem to be any takers.
          Last edited by Mosiah; October 1, 2007, 07:13 AM.

I have a higher standard of measurement than you.

I am not a cheerleader.. you are the cheerleader.

You cheer every announcement without considering the consequences.. not every dollar that comes in is good for the country.

You cheer the presence of digicel.. massive investments.. to what end ? Yuh tink mi figget your RUBBISH about our First Class Telecom Infrastructure ?

Yuh mussi mean First Class consumption ? A man spending a fortune on phone cards while not having a land-line ?

Yuh know what a garage sale is ?

It is an effort for me to come down to your level of reasoning.. I am getting tired of it.. soon my patience will be at an end and I will have to leave you to drown in your murky pool.. I pray you come to your senses soon.
            Last edited by Muadib; October 1, 2007, 01:15 AM.

I guess you all missed this on the Internet.

Carib Cement is investing over US$100M in expanding its Jamaican operations. They are practically building a new plant further up on the hill, so they are not about to pick up and go anywhere any time soon. And they shouldn't have to.

With improved technology, and the new plant will have the latest technology, we should be able to get a plant that runs clean. For years we have become used to Carib Cement spitting out clouds of cement dust over Rockfort and Harbour View. There are plants all over the world that are clean as a whistle. Even T&T has one. So we can have one too!

Carib Cement is ideally located for its operations. The raw materials it uses are right in its backyard and the port is across the road. Not that much is being exported or their is an intention to increase imports on a long term basis. The new plant should satisfy the local market fully, with little left for export. But they do ship in some material for its mills every once in a while.

With proper management, there is no reason why Carib shouldn't be able to function right where it is as a good corporate citizen.

Lydford Mines or whatever its called in St. Ann is already planning another cement plant in that parish. They say they'll export 90% of its cement.

Those are the Internet-free facts. Do we still want to move Carib Cement? Do we still need another plant? I don't have a problem with competition, but for now, there don't seem to be any takers.
              Do you still want to move Caribbean Cement Company?
              Yes!

...I could almost ask where in Jamaica there is not the raw material for a Cement plant!

Move all the manaufacturing plants and heavy industry plants from along that strip! ...and, sooner rather than later!

...btw - the matter of cleaner plants was addressed earlier - environmentally friendly!

...as you are on the environment - Can the bauxite plants not be made 'cleaner'?
              Last edited by Karl; October 1, 2007, 01:28 PM.

Do you still want to move Caribbean Cement Company?
                Yes!

...I could almost ask where in Jamaica there is not the raw material for a Cement plant!
                Where in Jamaica are you going to find the following materials in close proximity - limestone, gypsum, shale and pozzolan? What about harbour? Where in Jamaica are you going find a deep natural harbour that does not require building out into the sea like we did for Port Esquivel?

Move all the manaufacturing plants and heavy industry plants from along that strip! ...and, sooner rather than later!
                No need to! Just ensure that they do not pollute!

...btw - the matter of cleaner plants was addressed earlier - environmentally friendly!

...as you are on the environment - Can the bauxite plants not be made 'cleaner'?
                Karl, did you read my post? I said that there are cement plants the world over that do not emit significant or appreciable amounts of dust. The technology exists and is being employed in the expansion of Carib Cement.

Where in Jamaica are you going to find the following materials in close proximity - limestone, gypsum, shale and pozzolan? What about harbour? Where in Jamaica are you going find a deep natural harbour that does not require building out into the sea like we did for Port Esquivel?
                  Nowhere in St. Thomas?
                  I thought even marble was in commercial quantities in St. Thomas.

...and, in any case I refuse to believe that anywhere in Jamaica is far from any other place in Jamacia unless we are speaking of getting injuried persons to treatment.

No need to! Just ensure that they do not pollute!
                  There will be polution.
                  There should be a tax to clean up the environment. They should all help to clean up the environs.

You do realise that the polution is as far as Gun Boat and Buccaneer? ...and, stretches as far as Windward Road-Outlook Road intersection and beyond? ...Harbour View and points further east are all covered under layers of the Cement Company's pollutants!

Karl, did you read my post? I said that there are cement plants the world over that do not emit significant or appreciable amounts of dust. The technology exists and is being employed in the expansion of Carib Cement.
                  I thought I had alluded to the very same thing in my original post!

Nowhere in St. Thomas?
                    I thought even marble was in commercial quantities in St. Thomas.

...and, in any case I refuse to believe that anywhere in Jamaica is far from any other place in Jamacia unless we are speaking of getting injuried persons to treatment.
                    I like how you throw in that piece about getting injured persons to treatment, lest you counter your argument against a Munro football academy.

But you are right Karl. Jamaica is a 2x4 country. Even our athletes at the academy would not need emergency specialised treatment for 99% of their ailments. The academy itself should have the wherewithal to handle broken bones and concussions, much less the towns of Junction, Santa Cruz and Mandeville.

I like how you throw in that piece about getting injured persons to treatment, lest you counter your argument against a Munro football academy.

But you are right Karl. Jamaica is a 2x4 country. Even our athletes at the academy would not need emergency specialised treatment for 99% of their ailments. The academy itself should have the wherewithal to handle broken bones and concussions, much less the towns of Junction, Santa Cruz and Mandeville.
                      One must strive to be consistent when it makes sense!

The 'so-called academy buildings' at Munro can be converted into teachers dorms!! ...and, the entire complex can be used for other purposes.

...I wonder if the JLP government would purchase it for a good money and or at the same time throw in suitable - 100 acres plot? Now a good negotiator could...????

mmmmm??? The JFF needs the cash and a suitable site???? ...a suitable political message for Bruce? ......cho, good PR people can drum dat up!