whey yuh deh?
Only one CC
Thursday, September 27, 2007
Dear Editor,
We the undersigned alumni of Cornwall College would like to correct your very grievous faux pas published in your September 25 edition, "CC take on Lennon at Chapleton". You see, Mr Editor, there can be only one CC in Jamaica and that is Cornwall College, the school on the hill beside the sea.
Far and wide, throughout Jamaica and the world, CC, when used for a Jamaican education institution, has traditionally referred to Cornwall College, and it was rather confusing to read your sports article to find that you were referring to some other school called Clarendon College.
For the record, Sir, it has long been established that in the daCosta cup circles, CC means Cornwall College and that other school must be called either "Clarendon" or Clarendon College. Cornwallians at home and in the diaspora adore your newspaper but we cannot overlook this huge slip, which is made the more astonishing when the byline in the article featured a great CC alumnus, Paul A Reid. On top of that, we do believe, Sir, that at the helm of the Observer editorial group is another great CC alumnus, Desmond Allen. Come now, Mr Editor, how on earth could the Observer sports editor commit such sacrilege? We are willing to forgive this one, but please, Sir, never let the name of Cornwall College, and its CC name be so misused and misapplied ever again. We respectfully ask that you so instruct your writers.
Jeff McCleod
Attorney-at-Law, Florida
Rev Mervin Stoddart, Florida
Garfield Whittaker,
CC Old Boys Association, California
USA
Only one CC
Thursday, September 27, 2007
Dear Editor,
We the undersigned alumni of Cornwall College would like to correct your very grievous faux pas published in your September 25 edition, "CC take on Lennon at Chapleton". You see, Mr Editor, there can be only one CC in Jamaica and that is Cornwall College, the school on the hill beside the sea.
Far and wide, throughout Jamaica and the world, CC, when used for a Jamaican education institution, has traditionally referred to Cornwall College, and it was rather confusing to read your sports article to find that you were referring to some other school called Clarendon College.
For the record, Sir, it has long been established that in the daCosta cup circles, CC means Cornwall College and that other school must be called either "Clarendon" or Clarendon College. Cornwallians at home and in the diaspora adore your newspaper but we cannot overlook this huge slip, which is made the more astonishing when the byline in the article featured a great CC alumnus, Paul A Reid. On top of that, we do believe, Sir, that at the helm of the Observer editorial group is another great CC alumnus, Desmond Allen. Come now, Mr Editor, how on earth could the Observer sports editor commit such sacrilege? We are willing to forgive this one, but please, Sir, never let the name of Cornwall College, and its CC name be so misused and misapplied ever again. We respectfully ask that you so instruct your writers.
Jeff McCleod
Attorney-at-Law, Florida
Rev Mervin Stoddart, Florida
Garfield Whittaker,
CC Old Boys Association, California
USA