Golding a Socialist?
Originally posted by Gamma View Postjust goes to show....is not issues in ja yet...is still which "p" yuh "support"!!
Golding is now saying the nice sounding things that addresses the charge of Norman Manley and the moves of Michael Manley laid the basis for us...the entire "us" - being now 'poised for take off'!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
what point am i missing? with respect, NWM and MM are no longer with us...who is trying to carry on their work?
mark you, for all his well meaning intentions i still submit that michael made serious errors in implementation, errors which he acknowledged when he wheeled and came again in 1989.
sometimes i wonder which era yuh think you are in.
like how you talk positive bout the Manleys,any aspiring jamaican leader will always follow the manleys because they champion not only Jamaica but the Third world.
Economic independence can be achieved if the JLP under Bruce Golding set certain priorities ,some of them are link to the Old west minister system which needs to be modified i.e term limits for PM's in there Political careers,independent BOJ,etc.Bruce a work pon it.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postwhat point am i missing? with respect, NWM and MM are no longer with us...who is trying to carry on their work?
mark you, for all his well meaning intentions i still submit that michael made serious errors in implementation, errors which he acknowledged when he wheeled and came again in 1989.
sometimes i wonder which era yuh think you are in."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
No question his intentions were well meaning, but I believe his errors were more than just in implementation. I think Manley and those close to him developed a demi-god complex during the period of thier overwhelming popularity in the early 70s.
They honestly believed that anyone who disagreed with thier socialist policies meant JA no good and the country was better off without them. Thats what I think led to the inevitable abuses of state power like Green Bay, the State of Emergency, and incidents like the "Five flights a day" speech, the "Next time, next time" Gleaner speech, etc, etc."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass