Golding a Socialist?

just goes to show....is not issues in ja yet...is still which "p" yuh "support"!!
    Yu nuh hear nuhtin yet,a di oil mash manley.If im den find di oil ,nothin could stop us and now with the blessings of the Aussies & Chinese it deyaa!

just goes to show....is not issues in ja yet...is still which "p" yuh "support"!!
      Your missing the point - It is the Manley's position on 'policy matters' that drove the nice sounds such as Norman's (not verbatim) "my generation has completed its task of gaining political independence, the following generations' is economic independence"...and, Michael Manley's sweet sounding sound-bites that dealt with social advancement...and, the plethora of laws passed to reinforce same and programs to aid that process) and access to capital and the corridors of power to move the entire country - no one left behind - onwards and upwards.

Golding is now saying the nice sounding things that addresses the charge of Norman Manley and the moves of Michael Manley laid the basis for us...the entire "us" - being now 'poised for take off'!

what point am i missing? with respect, NWM and MM are no longer with us...who is trying to carry on their work?

mark you, for all his well meaning intentions i still submit that michael made serious errors in implementation, errors which he acknowledged when he wheeled and came again in 1989.

sometimes i wonder which era yuh think you are in.

like how you talk positive bout the Manleys,any aspiring jamaican leader will always follow the manleys because they champion not only Jamaica but the Third world.

Economic independence can be achieved if the JLP under Bruce Golding set certain priorities ,some of them are link to the Old west minister system which needs to be modified i.e term limits for PM's in there Political careers,independent BOJ,etc.Bruce a work pon it.

what point am i missing? with respect, NWM and MM are no longer with us...who is trying to carry on their work?

mark you, for all his well meaning intentions i still submit that michael made serious errors in implementation, errors which he acknowledged when he wheeled and came again in 1989.

sometimes i wonder which era yuh think you are in.
            You do not throw away your party...you (work to) make it work as it should!

Originally posted by Pepsi View Post
              Yu nuh hear nuhtin yet,a di oil mash manley.If im den find di oil ,nothin could stop us and now with the blessings of the Aussies & Chinese it deyaa!
              How di Hile a go?????

Any update?

so the "core values" is not the point then is it?

True true true!

so the "core values" is not the point then is it?
                    ofcourse they are?
                    wah wrang wid yuh?

yuh just write don't it? go back and read this thread. don't know ow you get "of course" from all that you have said.

anyway is you suh......

No question his intentions were well meaning, but I believe his errors were more than just in implementation. I think Manley and those close to him developed a demi-god complex during the period of thier overwhelming popularity in the early 70s.

They honestly believed that anyone who disagreed with thier socialist policies meant JA no good and the country was better off without them. Thats what I think led to the inevitable abuses of state power like Green Bay, the State of Emergency, and incidents like the "Five flights a day" speech, the "Next time, next time" Gleaner speech, etc, etc.