Karl and Jawge

Well then be prepared for a perpetuation of what obtains today. Attitudes among the population will not change significantly and Jamaica will continue to wallow.

If you like the volatile state of affairs and polar divisions, then fine...dont complain.

There are certainly a lot of talented people in the dispora who have a lot to offer. They are by no means organized though and I think that is a big stumbling block.

As it is now the country is able to draw upon the very elite few like Lee-Chin who has enough money on his own to make a difference, but we are not really able to benefit from the average member of the diaspora who is doing "OK" and has some useful skills but is not willing or able to pull up stumps and come home and lets face it, a lot of our problems require feet on the ground.

I am sure there are thousands like me who help a few people in Jamaica on a personal level and would love to find a way to help in more general ways.

As a side but kind of related note, I have been researching a company/website named www.kiva.org for a while which is setup to provide micro loans to people in the developing world. I like the concept and wish there were a few partners in Jamaica that worked with this kind of organization. I have even emailed someone who does that kind of work in JA to check it out.

If anyone knows of any such programme that helps lower income self-employed Jamaicans let me know. In the meantime i am going to participate and help out a few people in some African countries and I'll see how it goes.

I dont give a DAMN who forms the GOJ, IF they can convince me that they can do the best possible job and position Jamaica higher on the relative scale of nations.

See, that is where we different. I dont have a set preference. I dont BELIEVE....like Grishom on CSI, I go where the evidence takes me.
        I also go where the evidence takes me. Perhaps, the reason we differ here is how we process some of the evidence.

Which party sets out the better clearly defined policy - core beliefs?
        My call - The PNP!

Right now, NOTHING in the PNP convinces me and the JLP SEEMS a better choice, but frankly, the jury is still out.

I need to give them 6 months to a year to start to form a solid opinion.

LOOK, I might as well come out and say it. Jamaica is up S@*t's creek and there is no gurantee that we will progress. It will take monumental effort from MOST of the population to dig us out of our hole. Values and attitudes are at an all-time low and the country has paltry social capital. The biggest thing in our favour is the vast, capable and interested diaspora.
        I do not know if the diaspora can be considered the best thing in our favour. What I do know is leaving the vast potential input from the diaspora out of the equation is not on.

I would think the best thing in our favour is in fact two things - the physical 'the country' (where it is situated, its physical structure and other physical constituent parts, its raw materials, and its potential for development ...poised to 'take-off') and its people - home and outside of the island.

As a people we are something else when it comes to individual pursuit of 'progress'. How to harness that individual drive into a collective unified effort for rapidly and efficiently advancing 'the welfare of the country' is the big task!

When I look at the politicians who are glorified in Jamaica (from all sides), I can say I am NOT impressed by more than 5 to 10 of them. In general the Jamaicans I know in the diaspora are far ahead of the rank and file politician educationally, experientially, spiritually, culturally and with a greater world view. Many will take offense to this, but as Bob seh, Truth is an offense.

Just how to call upon the talents of the diaspora without offending the resident Jakans and upsetting the mood of the country will be a challenging task...but it must be done...we have no choice if we are to totally turn things around. If we are to push Jam to where it needs to go, we have to come up with some really creative strategies and implement like hell.
        Agreed!

Hey! Hey Hey!
        At last I know where you stand! ...although I had a pretty good idea. That's good!

We are more in sync than out! Seems to me we are 99.99999999999+% in-sync!

Yuh on the right track.

Your problem is how you PROCESS the evidence.

It is a widespread problem actually. No serious country would tolerate 5 years of the PNP much less 18 based on their performance.

Serious people process evidence with a certain level of maturity and understanding.

Esoterics and idiosyncrasies poison proper processing. Until you shed those, you will forever be on the lunatic fringe.

Good points. What is the JLP'sposition on the diaspora? It was noted that no mention was made in inaguaration speech by Bruce Golding.

The people are POTENTIALLY the best thing, but as I said, they are hampered and need help to blossom (whether they know it or not). It is not easy to see outside the hologram when you are in it. Takes a very special skill. Easier for the diaspora who are our brothers and sisters anyway.

I am not a member, so not fair to ask me. i dont know, but I imagine they want the help.

I recall seeing a 2005 article with golding and Bartlett addressing the NY diaspora.

Many things can be feasibly done like long distance consulting on projects, providing references and contacts, being honorary consuls, being a conduit for investment infor from jam to interested foreigners, being an unofficial ambassador for tourism, finding markets for Jakan exports...the list goes on and on.

Look at Shatta trying to do his thing...

Question not directed at you Willi...just asking...I read a diaspora article (US) noting this...I think the have stayed clear of the issue so far.
                    While I think the diaspora has a lot to offer - and they do make contributions, not only remittances - I think Jamaica's problems have to be solved at HOME by those who think they have a larger stake in the claim. To often, we look to others to solve our own problems when the resources are often right there.
                    What is missing is a proper framework for resolving many of the issues that we face because of the politicising of everything. It works sometimes but often the energies are wasted in putting out fires rather than building bridges and to move forward.
                    UNLESS the whole issue of the kleptocracy that has permeated Jamaican life is dealt with at all levels, there will be no future.

A major conference showcasing the range of investment opportunities in Jamaica will be staged by the Northeast Region of the Jamaican Diaspora Trade and Investment Council in the United States on October 19, 2007.

"The programme will connect Jamaican and US businesses, policy-makers, investment bankers, large and small investors, key sector experts, and venture capital specialists to distinguish Jamaica as a prime investment destination," the organisers said.

Among the expert group being assembled for the conference are Jamaica's Aubyn Hill, chief executive officer of Corporate Strategies; Gary Peart, director and CEO of Mayberry Investments; Eric Light, president of The Strawberry Group and Patrick Casserly, president and CEO of e-Services Group International, the organisers said.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/..._OF_ISLAND.asp

It is important to change the Diaper.. the reasons should be obvious..

There are certainly a lot of talented people in the dispora who have a lot to offer. They are by no means organized though and I think that is a big stumbling block.

As it is now the country is able to draw upon the very elite few like Lee-Chin who has enough money on his own to make a difference, but we are not really able to benefit from the average member of the diaspora who is doing "OK" and has some useful skills but is not willing or able to pull up stumps and come home and lets face it, a lot of our problems require feet on the ground.

I am sure there are thousands like me who help a few people in Jamaica on a personal level and would love to find a way to help in more general ways.

As a side but kind of related note, I have been researching a company/website named www.kiva.org for a while which is setup to provide micro loans to people in the developing world. I like the concept and wish there were a few partners in Jamaica that worked with this kind of organization. I have even emailed someone who does that kind of work in JA to check it out.

If anyone knows of any such programme that helps lower income self-employed Jamaicans let me know. In the meantime i am going to participate and help out a few people in some African countries and I'll see how it goes.
                        Now of us would love to do even more than we do now, but is too much damn frustration. For starters, just ask around among Alumni Assns. and hear the frustration etc.

I'm committed to my former high school, but Massa it tek more than patience to deal with them people, and some days I don't have the patience and the faith like Job in the Bible.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                          Question not directed at you Willi...just asking...I read a diaspora article (US) noting this...I think the have stayed clear of the issue so far.
                          While I think the diaspora has a lot to offer - and they do make contributions, not only remittances - I think Jamaica's problems have to be solved at HOME by those who think they have a larger stake in the claim. To often, we look to others to solve our own problems when the resources are often right there.
                          What is missing is a proper framework for resolving many of the issues that we face because of the politicising of everything. It works sometimes but often the energies are wasted in putting out fires rather than building bridges and to move forward.
                          UNLESS the whole issue of the kleptocracy that has permeated Jamaican life is dealt with at all levels, there will be no future.
                          Great!
                          ...but, I am thinking that where our people ar concerned we should not even make the mistake so many others make of putting wedges between "us" - those who live at home - and, "them" those who live outside of the island.

The sentence "Too often we look to others to solve our problems when the resources are right there."...unless I am reading it wrong, states a "us" and "them" situation. I think there is only the collective "one people". It matters not where we reside we must come together, sooner rather than later, most efficiently and most rapidly move our country and ourselves forward and onwards.

Sass I know it's easy to stay on the
                            estate and enjoy a shank of pork. It's not going to be easy to be out there fighting for survival, learning self reliance and the will to use one's own mind. It's going to be hard and those who strive for freedom may not see the propserity today but their children and grandchildren will (look at the founding fathers of the USA, look at Mao that hid in the hills).

To decide one's own destiny is priceless. To take the path of least resistance and live off another man's mind and labour is slavery.

Tell the above to the real PM of JA, unnuh come fram di same place.
                            "As it was in the begining so shall it be in the end" Go read the history books and see if what's going on now is new.

Bless.

Great!
                              ...but, I am thinking that where our people ar concerned we should not even make the mistake so many others make of putting wedges between "us" - those who live at home - and, "them" those who live outside of the island.

The sentence "Too often we look to others to solve our problems when the resources are right there."...unless I am reading it wrong, states a "us" and "them" situation. I think there is only the collective "one people". It matters not where we reside we must come together, sooner rather than later, most efficiently and most rapidly move our country and ourselves forward and onwards.

Agreed, especially since in any family it sometimes fall on the one most capable to find solutions to a given problem.

Yeah and you think that you
                                are part of the family. Funny the slaves that worked in great house felt the same way.