• Jamaica an important player in the Caribbean, says China

Jamaica an important player in the Caribbean, says China

Friday, September 21, 2007

CHINA'S Ambassador to Jamaica, Chen Jinghua, on Wednesday said his country recognises Jamaica "as the important leader and player in the Caribbean region".
    "This is why China's investments in the country are increasing and we continue to explore areas of co-operation with our Jamaican friends," the ambassador said, during an official call on the new minister of water & housing, Dr Horace Chang, at the ministry's New Kingston offices.
    Minister of water and housing, Dr Horace Chang (right), listens to a point being made by Chinese Ambassador to Jamaica, Chen Jinghua, during an official call on Chang at the ministry's New Kingston offices.
    Citing China's recent donation and shipment of pipes to Jamaica to improve the island's water supply, Ambassador Jinghua said that other needs would be similarly addressed according to the priorities of the Jamaican Government.
    He also mentioned China's role in the recent construction of the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium for Cricket World Cup 2007, as well as its undertaking to build an international convention centre in St James.
    Welcoming Ambassador Jinghua, who is in the 10th month of his tour of duty, Dr Chang said that the Jamaican Government "will certainly be looking at expanding and deepening co-operation in all areas, but particularly the area of improved water supply, given our shortage of capital".
    "Jamaica also has a problem of severe shortage of housing at the lower and lower-middle income levels and I'm sure we can work on a structured development expansion programme in housing, looking at technology and materials," he added.
    The minister was joined in the meeting with Ambassador Jinghua by state minister, Everard Warmington; parmenent secretary, Genefe Hibbert; chief technical director, Desmond Munroe; director of the Water resources Authority, Dr Basil Fernandez; president of the National Water Commission, EG Hunter, and his director of communications, Charles Buchanan.

which one is horace chang?

Horace Chang to the ambassador, "please no toothpaste with engine coolant, no toys with lead paint, and no fake viagra".

Ambassador to Chang.

I wonder if you can give me some a di real roots drink that Shatta talk bout?

MdmeX to Ambassador

I need a 5 star apartment in Beijing, reasonable priced

Ambassador to MdmeX

Good Luck

The spaniards are currently #1 investors in Jamaica,but at the rate the chinese are going 2.5 billion euro is nothing for them to invest in Jamiaca.
              which will make the chinese # 1 investors in or around three years...They see alot of potential in Jamaica just like the spaniards and both countries are spending in all sector...

very good!.

So Pepsi wah happen to the Jamaicans who send home $1.5 Billion US a year?
                Word is that Cash Plus is trying to tap into that market and that is why the financial sector in Jamaica a fight them so.

They know that if Cash Plus gets their hands into that market its over for the banking system in Jamaica as who would put their money in Jamaican banks or US banks for that matter when they can get over 120% return a year.

This has major, major ramifications for the Jamaican financial sector a wonder who ago win? Lee Chin or Cash Plus?

who unnu a bet pon?

oh god shatta yu put mi inna di spot light,and my hands are tied....lee chin the banker,a wondah if im related to earl chin ....anyhow the diaspora of jamaica currently holds US$3 billion,if not more that is more than GOJ Gross International reserve....anyBank who can get the most customers will certainly have alot to cheer about.....

who mi ago bet pon...mi affi wait and see.

What??

You figget that the deputy Premier came in 2005, promising $10B in investemnts just around Kgn Harbour!!!

"Who would put their money in Jamaican banks or US banks for that matter when they can get over 120% return a year"

People who want some assurance that thier deposits are insured or at least regulated to some extent?

Of course if it crash they will all come running to the govt for a bailout so maybe they have that insurance to some extent with CashPlus.

Quote:

"I can calculate the motions of heavenly bodies, but not
                      the madness of people" -

Isaac Newton after he lost a ton of money in the South Sea Investment Bubble in the 1700s

Be still. Don't use that
                        to think you are in. What might appear to be the same to you is different unto others. Time memba mi tell yuh.

No Islandman no one knows where Cash Plus money is coming from and I am guessing here because I don't know Jamaica's financial set up but I think Cash Plus is exploiting a loop hole in the law that if the other players scream out on then it will come back to haunt them.

Here is how I see it.
                          take for example the Trafigura affair, Bruce made a big splash about it(as he should) however the underlying issue was skipped over(campaing funding reform) as neither the JLP and PNP could afford to open up their books to show who was giving them money.

Now when someone is manipulating you they do a pyschological evaluation and use that against you. Hence the term only the truth will set you free.

the PNP could not come out and ask the JLP where dem get all dem money from as they too were dirty so now thats the same way with our financial system as they can't go after Cash Plus because they are getting rich off paying our people 5% annual return while loaning to the government at these high rates.

Now if they don't go after Cash plus the only way to beat Cash plus is to raise their return on savings and lower that spread and at the same time start loaning more to small businesses instead of just investing in government papers.

Look and see how much money NCB have in government papers. Now who owns NCB Lee chin right and who are the chief investors in Lee Chin's equity firm?

Jamaicans see Cash Plus as dem owning a peice of Jamaica themselves so to touch it without a clear mandate from the Jamaican people is political suicide and I am loving it!

No not Cash Plus but the markets at work and the way how things even themselves out in time(Jawge is a damn genius and unnu disrespect the man so much)

Only when a man stand up will he be respected and right now us owning our own thing(pyramid scheme or not) has forced our financial system to revaluate how we do business.

They would have never done that without Cash Plus as they never believed in the local market even after Digicel came in and scooped $1 Billion US dollars in gross sales a year off the phone business and was able to buss from Jamaica and expand to the caribbean and now North America

Where were our investors? why wasn't that one of us?

Now Islandman you see why Cash plus can do what they do?
                          They are in shipping(garvey told us about that) and other areas that are big money makers with fast turnovers.

We don't save anymore in Jamaica and the informal economy is undervalued and understated for obvious reasons so now that Cash Plus is tapping into it as opposed to sitting down and waiting for some white guy to come rescue us we can believe it.

Wow we can make money besides off government paper uh?

those stiff upper lip wanna be white uptown and downtown sons of slaves and plantation owners needed a shake up.

Where were we headed before all this?

Hey I am reading the book of Daniel and one of the notes in this bible said that Daniel prophecied that 4 empires would rule the earth and they were Babylon Media, Greece and was it Persia or Cyrus?

Dem bwoy deh not even a hide, dem just bold face with dem dirty works but then again why try and hide when people are looking for what is hidden and not what is already right in front of their face.

Thats why people always a say the thing you are looking for is right under your nose.

Full time now the reggaeboyz supporters club get a vonage account(I will pay for it and I will damn well get it ) so that we can interview our coaches and players while on the road and have our players do call in interviews so that we can talk with them.

Is the era of new technology so why are we still talking about people instead of talking TO THEM! Bruce and dem introduced youtube to the people so then guess what. Shatta ago tek it and just RUN WITH IT!

Dem deh pon youtube then guess who ago go pon youtube. Stop playing with dem now, playtime is over!

If you can give $500,000,000US to Air Jamaica then you can damn well build a $6,000,000 garment factory that could help make our own Brand Jamaica clothing and jerseys.

Mi nah tarry a pass mi a pass through and through mi ago tek weh miself shortly(to the hills for 40 days and night) Mi a mek a quick trod through and some quick posts but talking time done so a work over words now.

It was fun warring and it helped to laugh more times in a dem stressful days yah(the economy a hurt mi and the stores dem mi supply)

Talking to so many people on a weekly basis from the rich white investor from Orange County or the Asian factory owner who laments the rise of sweatshops taking away work from him as he isn't willing to go below a certain price as most of his latino workforce has been with him for up to 15 years.

Now he is concerned about the price of hemp fabric, organic cotton and the bamboo cotton blend that is comanding up to 8 times the price of a regular cotton.

I talk to people at trade shows that tell me that they can't keep up with the demand for Organic Cotton and they won't even know if its organic as no one gives out trade secret so all that is by a honor system.
                          By the way soo to is nuff of the food industry.

I run across the butcher from south carolina who works in the butcher shop and he breaks down for me the processing plant how it works and how you don't have to have a factory nowadays to do things

You just come up with the idea and almost everything is outsourced. so now I know that I don't need to go around from store to store with boxes. I just have to get a SAMPLE made and take orders where ever I go.

So now the factory ships only what is ordered as you need only a small warehouse and so the large warehouses are going out of business and are being left vacant or subject to redevelopment in most major cities.

I put it together because its what I do on a daily basis so whenever I talk I mostly know of what I speak as thats my JOB.

the I dem tek care

respect

BTW before I leave I must say this
                          This bible that the Empress got for me "New International Version" The Archaeological Study Bible with the interactive CD-Rom in it is a must have! Number 1 before any other of the books I recommeneded before
                          Last edited by Shatta; September 23, 2007, 01:17 AM.

just say "no" jawge!

Okay, NO.