• New JLP administration seen as 'pro-growth, market-friendly'

New JLP administration seen as 'pro-growth, market-friendly'
    published: Friday | September 21, 2007

Keith Collister, Business Writer

Dr. Carl Ross, senior managing director and head of emerging markets and fixed income research at New York-based Bear Stearns and Co. - File

Bear Stearns upgraded its recommendation on Jamaican bonds from underperform to market perform September 5, reaffirming the position less than two weeks later in a signal of confidence in the new political administration.

The recommendation was mainly on technical grounds: that Jamaica's repayment of the US$225 million eurobond on September 1 and the additional repayment of a US$125 million local U.S. dollar-denominated index bond over the same period would provide strong institutional support for Jamaican eurobonds.

This was despite what Bear Stearns described in the same report as poor economic fundamentals inherited from the previous administration.

"The JLP inherits a difficult economic situation, with a fiscal deficit supposed to be 4.5 per cent of GDP, real GDP growing at 2.0 per cent of GDP, a current account deficit approaching 10.0 per cent of GDP, and a large debt burden," said the investment bank.

Bear also noted that the Bank of Jamaica had been selling dollars as capital flows had slowed, with inflation the only apparent bright spot at 5.6 per cent to June.

Inflation worsened

In its emerging markets sovereign weekly report issued September 14, however, Bear noted that inflation had considerably worsened and was now projected at around 8-10 per cent due to high oil prices and damage to the agricultural sector.

Its expected growth rate for Jamaica had also been lowered and was now projected to be "closer to the PIOJ's estimate of 1.1 per cent GDP this year."

"Amid all these challenges, the new JLP government was confronted with a new one this week - they faced an immediate fiscal deficit of J$15 billion (some 2.0 per cent of GDP)."

Dr. Carl Ross, the author of both reports, was asked by the Financial Gleaner what level of fiscal overrun had been expected by him and the international capital market.

"Unfortunately, Jamaica's record on keeping to its fiscal targets has been poor," said Ross.

"I think the market had some confidence that the government would at least come close this year, since the deficit target itself was relatively high, even excluding the accounting for previous expenditures. A 2.5 per cent of GDP deviation from this year's 4.5 per cent target is a huge deviation. Very unexpected."

J$ Weakness

In the same sovereign weekly report, Bear cited the repayment of the eurobond and index bond as largely responsible for Jamaica's dollar weakness.

"We attribute much of the recent depreciation to institutions that were holding this instrument (and other recently - amortising locally issued U.S. dollar-indexed bonds) positioning themselves for the amortisations by buying other U.S. dollar-denominated assets.

Local sources also attribute this depreciation to election uncertainty and the repatriation of month-end dividends."

Nevertheless, Bear appeared positive on Jamaica's long term economic outlook.

"We view Mr. Golding's policy as pro-growth and market - friendly," the bank said.

It expects the JLP to focus on job creation and improvements in human and physical capital, and to follow through on constitutional limits on public debt and fiscal deficits as contained in its manifesto.

Asked what type of specific measures the Bruce Golding administration should take to deal with this fiscal problem, Dr. Ross cited the recent example of Costa Rica.

"Historically, Costa Rica has never been able to balance its budget. Deficits never really got out of control, but they were chronic. A few years ago the government attempted to adopt a tax reform, which was essentially a tax increase designed to balance the budget while preserving Costa Rica's generous social programmes," said Ross.

"A small, pro-market liberal party basically prevented the tax increase from getting passed. As a result, spending was cut, the economy grew, tax revenues are flying even with no tax rates increases, local debt interest rates are falling as a result, and the budget is balanced."

Asked whether the new government should do a full budget house cleaning immediately, com-municating the full extent of Jamaica's fiscal problems, and whether the international capital market will punish Jamaica for being honest, Ross said from a market perspective 'transparency is king'.

"The previous government, to its credit, made huge strides in fiscal transparency, but it would seem that more needs to be done," he said.

"I believe that a 'coming clean' is the best strategy, both politically and economically. The deviations from target can be legitimately blamed on the 'other guys'.

"For the coming clean to be effective, however, it has to be accompanied by a plan from the 'new guys' on the way forward. No one expects all the answers, but the more specific the better."

In its latest report, Bear also appeared positive on the Cabinet, particularly the picks for the Ministry of Finance - Audley Shaw as Minister of Finance prominent businessman from GraceKennedy Don Wehby and trade union leader Dwight Nelson.

"These appointments, in our view, significantly bolster the Ministry of Finance and increase the likelihood of meaningful public-sector reform.

The FG also asked Ross his opinion on whether Jamaica had now regained international capital market access in the light of the much more positive tone to emerging markets after Tuesday's bigger than expected interest rate cut by the Federal Reserve.

Said the emerging markets specialist: "The EM market has improved dramatically over the past few days since the Fed surprisingly cut interest rates by 50 basis points. We still have not seen a flurry of emerging market bond deals getting priced, but I expect it to happen in the coming weeks. I believe that in the current market, yes, Jamaica would have access to the international markets."

Ahh heeemm.

How the forum so quiet? I can hear a pin drop on this one.

I hope Bruce Golding run with this and nuh bodda waste the little that he has gotten.

New JLP administration seen as 'pro-growth, market-friendly'

published: Friday | September 21, 2007

Keith Collister, Business Writer

Dr. Carl Ross, senior managing director and head of emerging markets and fixed income research at New York-based Bear Stearns and Co. - File

Bear Stearns upgraded its recommendation on Jamaican from underperform to market perform September 5, reaffirming the position less than two weeks later in a signal of confidence in the new political administration.

The recommendation was mainly on technical grounds: that Jamaica's repayment of the US$225 million eurobond on September 1 and the additional repayment of a US$125 million local U.S. dollar-denominated index bond over the same period would provide strong institutional support for Jamaican eurobonds.

This was despite what Bear Stearns described in the same report as poor economic fundamentals inherited from the previous administration.

"The JLP inherits a difficult economic situation, with a fiscal deficit supposed to be 4.5 per cent of GDP, real GDP growing at 2.0 per cent of GDP, a current account deficit approaching 10.0 per cent of GDP, and a large debt burden," said the Bear also noted that the Bank of Jamaica had been selling dollars as capital flows had slowed, with inflation the only apparent bright spot at 5.6 per cent to June.

Inflation worsened
      In its emerging markets sovereign weekly report issued September 14, however, Bear noted that inflation had considerably worsened and was now projected at around 8-10 per cent due to high oil prices and damage to the agricultural sector.

Its expected growth rate for Jamaica had also been lowered and was now projected to be "closer to the PIOJ's estimate of 1.1 per cent GDP this year."

"Amid all these challenges, the new JLP government was confronted with a new one this week - they faced an immediate fiscal deficit of J$15 billion (some 2.0 per cent of GDP)."

Dr. Carl Ross, the author of both reports, was asked by the Financial Gleaner what level of fiscal overrun had been expected by him and the international capital market.
      "Unfortunately, Jamaica's record on keeping to its fiscal targets has been poor," said Ross.

"I think the market had some confidence that the government would at least come close this year, since the deficit target itself was relatively high, even excluding the accounting for previous expenditures. A 2.5 per cent of GDP deviation from this year's 4.5 per cent target is a huge deviation. Very unexpected."

J$ Weakness
      In the same sovereign weekly report, Bear cited the repayment of the eurobond and index bond as largely responsible for Jamaica's dollar weakness.

"We attribute much of the recent depreciation to institutions that were holding this instrument (and other recently - amortising locally issued U.S. dollar-positioning themselves for the amortisations by buying other U.S. dollar-denominated assets.
      Local sources also attribute this depreciation to election uncertainty and the repatriation of month-end dividends."

Nevertheless, Bear appeared positive on Jamaica's long term economic outlook.
      "We view Mr. Golding's policy as pro-growth and market - friendly," the bank said.
      It expects the JLP to focus on job creation and improvements in human and physical capital, and to follow through on constitutional limits on public and fiscal deficits as contained in its manifesto.

Asked what type of specific measures the Bruce Golding administration should take to deal with this fiscal problem, Dr. Ross cited the recent example of
      "Historically, Costa Rica has never been able to balance its budget. Deficits never really got out of control, but they were chronic. A few years ago the government attempted to adopt a tax reform, which was essentially a tax increase designed to balance the budget while preserving Costa Rica's generous social programmes," said Ross.

"A small, pro-market liberal party basically prevented the tax increase from getting passed. As a result, spending was cut, the economy grew, tax revenues are flying even with no tax rates increases, local debt interest rates are falling as a result, and the budget is balanced."

Asked whether the new government should do a full budget house cleaning immediately, com-municating the full extent of Jamaica's fiscal problems, and whether the international capital market will punish Jamaica for being honest, Ross said from a market perspective 'transparency is king'.

"The previous government, to its credit, made huge strides in fiscal transparency, but it would seem that more needs to be done," he said.
      "I believe that a 'coming clean' is the best strategy, both politically and economically. The deviations from target can be legitimately blamed on the 'other guys'.
      "For the coming clean to be effective, however, it has to be accompanied by a plan from the 'new guys' on the way forward. No one expects all the answers, but the more specific the better."

In its latest report, Bear also appeared positive on the Cabinet, particularly the picks for the Ministry of Finance - Audley Shaw as Minister of Finance prominent businessman from GraceKennedy Don Wehby and trade union leader Dwight Nelson.
      "These appointments, in our view, significantly bolster the Ministry of Finance and increase the likelihood of meaningful public-sector reform.

The FG also asked Ross his opinion on whether Jamaica had now regained international capital market access in the light of the much more positive tone to emerging markets after Tuesday's bigger than expected interest rate cut by the Federal Reserve.

Said the emerging markets specialist: "The EM market has improved dramatically over the past few days since the Fed surprisingly cut interest rates by 50 basis points. We still have not seen a flurry of emerging market bond deals getting priced, but I expect it to happen in the coming weeks. I believe that in the current market, yes, Jamaica would have access to the international markets."

keithcollister@cwjamaica.com
      Last edited by Karl; September 22, 2007, 05:29 PM.

Assasin, Bear Sterns is trying to impose unsolicited influence on Govt with the ' Kuchie,I got your back if you have mine" report. With the few ambitious, progressive programs Bruce has, he will be forced to take a closer look at debt payments.

Blessed

No it is all about ratings and the fact that they saw no change in Omar's fiscal policies. Portia should have made the necessary changes when she came aboard but ah well she didn't.

That is why I say the approach and the way you negociate goes a long way in getting better results but I hope Bruce make the best of the goodwill. Many other countries like Brazil, and Argentina made the best use of this similar situation we are in now.

They are waging a major psychological war on us in Jamaica and its no easing up no wonder the USA had to get out the PNP government and so they brought in their voter scam that worked so well in Ohio, Florida and Mexico and if that didn't work they had us flooded with AK-47's as a pretext to invasion.

However despite all dem distractions they NEED US more than we need them. The Bible tell us that in the final days these guys will be coming to us with tributes as a we have the word.

The USA dare not **************** off Jamaica and do anything to have us start using the WORD(music) Pon dem as I am sure they remember the last time what Marley and Marcus did to them in Africa and they need the commodities so what we have to do is sit and play China against the USA(the Art of War is a good book to read)

The USA is a paper tiger and its full time we tell dem so called Jews in dem financial system fi come off a we back now! Enough is enough dem bwoy deh a no nobody and dem inna we back like a ticks when the man cross so want to wipe dem off the face of the earth.

Bruce needs to calm his ass down and look to AFrica for funding along with the diaspora first and foremost.

Slavery over long time so why we still stuck in the past ways of running to the slave master? a wah wrong with us and our mental inferior ways

Leggo off dem bwoy deh and start practice self reliance like our hero Garvey taught us.

If we want good then our nose have fi run.

BTW what was that USA navy Ship doing in Portland? dem think say the warriors dem frighten by dem? Mek dem try and run up inna Jamaica and see if a no deh so dem Empire pop dung?

Its like some a we turn weak heart and no longer have faith in the bible as Ezekiel and Isiaih done prophecy the downfall of dem empire. So a hope duppy know who fi frighten

Run weh Bear Stearns and start raising our own money from AFrica, China and the diaspora after dem no frighten we a who dem?

Only the weakheart bout yah frighten by dem

The US don't have anything to do with our Trillion $$$ deficit which Omar and company ran up. We put ourselves in that position.

Where was the Africa movement when a black man time and Nanni P time? Them make Trafigura nam out the little oil bargin we get from Nigera.

These Navy ships do come to Jamaica pretty often. They came to Mobay while I was living there and have been to Portland several times over the years, it is nothing new.

As long as they have trillion $$$ debt over our head then they have a say as to what goes on.

We as Jamaicans need to look within ourselves as everybody else including the Trinis, the Indians, the chinese and yes the Africans are coming and owning our stuff while we stand aside and look for job.

Remember under a PNP government cockpit country was almost given away. Bruce and Audley raise the possibilty of diaspora fund in case you don't know. Give the man a chance fi dig his own grave before you bury him.

"Bruce needs to calm his ass down and look to AFrica for funding "

funding from which African country Shatta? Can you give an example? Cause according to the data that I've seen, provided by you know who, Algeria is the only African state in a better position than us .... or dem not considered African?

"Algeria is the only African state in a better position than us"

Not true Lazie. There are some and Botswana leads the pack.

"Algeria is the only African state in a better position than us"

Not true Lazie. There are some and Botswana leads the pack.
                    Botswana is ranked behind us. However, I did make a mistake, Tunisia is ahead of Algeria.

Look to Angola, South Africa, Ghana Nigeria and the list goes on
                      We should forge alliances with our brothers in east because at the end of the day thats where our home is and no man is an island.

The African without a strong home is nothing.... We are all trading with the slavemaster and not with each other.

Its like what they used to do with us in the earlier round of slavery(because we still under it) they would build roads and railways to the ports for export but nothing to develop the infrastructure

That is why dem fear the chinese so much
                      all this was already written go read revelations.

Assasin PNP messed up the government FACT
                      They deserved to be out of office FACT
                      The election was stolen FACT
                      Trafigura being exposed was good for Jamaica HELL YEAH

We can agree to disagree but FACTS are FACTS

Navy Ship calling in Portland is all about the guns coming in from Haiti and the fact that the USA is training a whole wing of the JDF in San Diego
                      They know the uprising is coming but they want to control Jamaica and the WORD.

I have no problem with the election being stolen as thats all part of prophecy and what was written.

I stand by my views that a full time we look pass the USA and start tapping into our own. WE can do it for ourselves just like how we did it at Heart and all other local institutions.

http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/03/...ess/angola.php

read the above article and understand why everyone is courting Jamaica
                      A full time we remove the blinkers dem and start THINKING.

Where is our MUSIC? Thats what got us the goodwill in Africa so lets get back to it!

respect

"The election was stolen FACT"

Really? Yuh gonna explain that for the rest of us?

rank behind us in what?

While you maybe right on some fronts, Jamaica now need every help it can get from everywhere, Africa, China, Venezula, USA and Europe.

But the first help have to come from Jamaicans, we have to try and understand economics and move fast. The US ship normally stop for one day or two at caribbean ports and the only thing usually do is buy sex and drink, it is usually nothing more them want but if you know more then I will let you hold onto it. I have seen a few while I was at Titchfield.

Did you realise the Chinese are bailing out nuff African countries without the usual Western strings?

S Africa's Mbeki defends China-Africa relations

(Xinhua)
                              Updated: 2006-11-12 13:59

CAPE TOWN -- Africa's recognition that the Chinese economy is one of the biggest in the world does not mean the continent's countries should define themselves as recipients of charity, President Thabo Mbeki said on Friday.
                              Writing in his weekly newsletter on the ANC website on Friday, Mbeki attributed the growing relations between China and Africa to China's booming economy.
                              The South African president made the statement shortly after his recent visit to China for the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation in Beijing, where leaders from China and 48 African countries mapped out strategic plan to enhance the continent's bilateral relations with that country.
                              "The World Bank says that the Chinese economy is the 4th biggest in the World, with the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 5th and 12th positions occupied by the United States, Japan, Germany, the United Kingdom and India," Mbeki said.
                              "This emphasizes the need for us as Africans to correctly respond to the realities of the world economy, but without defining ourselves as helpless and pitiful victims of globalization, whom the rest of the world must treat as mere recipients of charity, described as humanitarian assistance," he added.
                              He said while China's growth means that it has to export some of its goods to Africa, it also means the country will have to import its raw materials, including oil and gas, from Africa.
                              "To pay for the import of all these products from Africa and others from the rest of the world, China will have to sustain its export drive," he said.
                              However, some critics were skeptical of the close ties, arguing China could have selfish motives, and might only be interested in expanding markets.
                              South Africa recently imposed restrictions on the import of certain categories of Chinese textile products after trade unions blamed textile factory closures and massive job losses on cheap Chinese imports.
                              "There are some in the world who fear this message of hope and the possibility it presents to define the process of globalization in a manner that benefits the poor of the world," Mbeki wrote. "They see the developments exemplified by the China-Africa Partnership as a threat to their selfish interests."
                              Taking a swipe at both domestic and international critics of the China-Africa Partnership, Mbeki accused them of seeing evil in everything good. "Each of these... within the context of their circumstances, will, with regard to the China-Africa Partnership, do everything possible to project what is manifestly good as inherently evil, so that we, who have dire need of 'close friends, reliable partners and good brothers' become frightened of those who come to us genuinely extending a hand of friendship, partnership, brotherhood and sisterhood," he said.