• No more post-Cabinet press briefings

No more post-Cabinet press briefings
    published: Tuesday | September 18, 2007

POST-CABINET press briefings are now a thing of the past.
    Yesterday's first post-Cabinet press briefing for the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) administration was the last.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding told journalists that in strengthening Parliament, he believes the House of Representatives should be privy to decisions of Cabinet before they reach the media.

"I don't want anybody to get the impression that we are seeking to delude the press, but I do feel that there is something wrong with Parliament reading about Cabinet decisions in the press," Mr. Golding said.

Criticised government
    Mr. Golding, who as opposition leader had criticised government for placing a door in a section of the Parliament behind the Prime Minister, said that Jamaicans can learn about Cabinet decisions after they have been put in the form of ministry papers and presented to Parliament.

He has instructed his ministers to be accessible to the press. Post-Cabinet press briefings were a regular feature of successive People's National Party governments over the past 18 years.
    Last edited by Karl; September 18, 2007, 12:32 PM.

As a journalists, give us yuh feedback nuh?

You dont need to be a journalist to see how wrong this move is. The othger day Bruice told us he is 'chief servant' but this is not how a servant operate at all.

WE also heard about more transparency on the campaign trail but this is the second promise broken in very quick time.

Well, I expected those in the media to be upset about it. I guess unuh need to reach out to the gov't then.
        Last edited by Lazie; September 18, 2007, 08:56 AM.

The media need to reach out to the government? How so lazie. Seems you have this one backwards.

Don't you have a Press Association of Jamaica? Since unuh have a problem with it, contact the Information Minister and mek har aware of unuh issues with this. Have what backward?

Better yet ... block the road.

and I guess you as a well thinking person who wants the best for the country, dont see a problem with this line of thinking by the new government?

Why is there for anything to happen there must be confrontation?

This should never have been in the first place and once again the new PM or the Minister have not given any reason or even explanation for their decision...will be very interesting to see how the Observer spins this one.

You dont need to be a journalist to see how wrong this move is. The othger day Bruice told us he is 'chief servant' but this is not how a servant operate at all.

WE also heard about more transparency on the campaign trail but this is the second promise broken in very quick time.
                How is this a promise broken? Can you see the logic in his reasoning and proposed methodology? Did he not promise a more inclusive government with opposition? Can you not see, as he rightly asserts that cabinet decisions require the light and scrutiny of the country’s parliament before they are communicated to the press? Or are you so disingenuous that you seek to promote controversy where there is none?

and I guess you as a well thinking person who wants the best for the country, dont see a problem with this line of thinking by the new government?

Why is there for anything to happen there must be confrontation?

This should never have been in the first place and once again the new PM or the Minister have not given any reason or even explanation for their decision...will be very interesting to see how the Observer spins this one.
                  Why the sarcasm? I fully well understand the position of the media. But then, unlike Cabinet, Parliament isn't closed to the press. The man did give a reason Sickko. And yes, I can also understand his position. Thats why I said the PAJ need to take their grouses to the gov't.

You are so stuck! And then you accuse others! Amazing!

Lazie, do you agree or disagree with this decision taken by Orette?

The only question I have about it is what happens if there is no meeting of the Parliament on the Tuesday. As I said in a previous post, I can understand the position taken by the gov't, afterall doesn't the reason make sense? However, I can also see why the press is upset .... but then. Isn't Parliament open to the press?

The PAJ need fi contact Babsy.

You have a question for my question?

Nope Mosiah,

Parliament is Supreme. They are the duly elected rep. of the people and the prime vanguard of democracy.

George Bush forgot this.
                            Last edited by Willi; September 18, 2007, 11:11 AM.

So, does that mean that Comment is not a cultist?