'Remove Wehby, Grace conflict'

i don't defend one party blindly. can you say the same?
    Yes!

apparently you can!!! huh...imagine that!

...not blind! Know exactly why I support the PNP!

thanks for the caveat!

Karl the half has never
            been told.

thanks for the caveat!
              I was surprised you did not get it - immediately! Ty-ad? ..aftah lunch?

no...i exercised some patience...and you came through for me!

Good one, boss! Good one!

'Change Course' Cabinet
                    published: Tuesday | September 18, 2007

Devon Dick
                    Selection of a Cabinet is the first real test of the character, vision and policies of an administration. It sets the tone for five years. Therefore, this 18-member Bruce Golding Cabinet is of importance.

There are two master-strokes in this Cabinet. The first is the Prime Minister, the Honourable Bruce Golding placing planning in the Office of the PM, instead of with finance. The Prime Minister should lead in planning and vision casting. In addition, planning and development should go together.
                    The other master-stroke was making Dr. Christopher Tufton the Minister of Agriculture. This intellectual, who is media savvy, has the ability to give agriculture a higher profile.

There were other good things, including some sure and good picks such as Derrick Smith, Horace Chang, Clive Mullings, Ed Bartlett, Karl Samuda, etc. They have the potential to do well.

One of the two major concerns with the Cabinet is the inclusion of three senior persons from the BITU. This will weaken the trade union movement and has the potential to affect workers' rights. It would be better if only one was in the Cabinet so that the trade union voice would still be heard in the Cabinet and then Delroy Chuck would be able to get one of those responsibilities. It is unthinkable that the largest Cabinet in recent times could not find a space for Chuck. Ernest Smith could do a capable job as Speaker of the House.

The other problem concerns the Ministry of Finance. I respectfully suggest that the Ministry of Finance and Public Service needs to change course. There should be one Cabinet minister for each ministry. This trinity of persons is a recipe for disaster.

In addition, perception plays an important role in finance and it is unfortunate that a political analyst said the reason for this trinity is "because there are doubts about Mr. Shaw" (Gleaner, September 13). This is an untenable view, which is frequently repeated and was fuelled by Golding's selections.

The other 'worsa' problem with the arrangement is that, according to my interpretation of the constitution, this arrangement is not allowed. The Constitution prevents anyone who was not elected by the people, as an MP, to be a Minister of Finance. So Golding has tried to circumvent the constitution by naming two unelected members to the MOF by calling them Ministers without Portfolio. A rose by any other name is still a rose. Adding the public service to the MOF does not affect the spirit of the Constitution. All Cabinet ministers in the MOF must be answerable to the people!

In addition, Wehby has a conflict of interest. He is being part-paid by GraceKennedy which has financial interest in Jamaica. This is also a very bad and ugly arrangement which sets a dangerous precedent. Jamaica should not tolerate any private sector company paying a Cabinet minister.

Disingenuous
                    Would we allow the Bank of Nova Scotia to second someone to be the Governor of the Bank of Jamaica and pay part of his salary and then return to BNS? No way! Golding needs to assert himself and state the terms under which people will work in his Cabinet.

In addition, it is disingenuous to call them Ministers without Portfolio when they have a portfolio. Therefore, Senator Dwight Nelson should be called the Minister of Public Service.

And if Wehby insists on working for two years in the Ministry of Finance and to be part-paid by GraceKennedy, then he should be employed as a special senior advisor to the Minister of Finance. This 'change course' Cabinet needs to change course quickly.

Rev. Devon Dick is pastor of Boulevard Baptist Church and author of 'Rebellion to Riot' the Church in nation building.

All now Cheney a get money from his stock options in Halliburton!

Rumsfeld still had his options in Gilead, who were getting contracts for military vaccines.

All now Cheney a get money from his stock options in Halliburton!

Rumsfeld still had his options in Gilead, who were getting contracts for military vaccines.
                        Thought Cheney had cut all ties!
                        mmmmmmmmm????

Mr Socialist.

Stop call up mi name.

I have posted my opinion, so DONT DRAW my tongue!

Memba mi Toll yuh.

A whey youh deh.

Dem man know how fi strucha tings.

Still, by now them vested, but him get at least a 5 year run outta dem.

man in orange...get it straight...get it right!!!!

We do use the word "intellectual" a little too liberally in this country.