• Falmouth residents sceptical about plans of shipping termina

Falmouth residents sceptical about plans of shipping terminal
    published: Monday | September 17, 2007

Mark Titus, Freelance Writer

WESTERN BUREAU:
    It was not all-smooth sailing, when developers tried to sell the idea of a cruise ship terminal development to stakeholders of Falmouth during a presentation of the Environment Impact Assessment (EIA) at a public meeting in the town on the weekend.

While the majority of the residents in attendance beamed in anticipation of the possibilities of what such a massive development could bring to the usually sleepy town, environmental and other interest groups were adamant that a more detailed assessment was necessary.

"A lot of what we are talking about in regards to the development of Falmouth, the preservation of its heritage and the tourism prospects can be achieved without a huge cruise ship terminal being placed in the town with very severe environment impact." said Wendy Lee of the Northern Jamaica Conservation Association (NJCA).

"If this is the complete EIA, it means the terms of reference have not been met because there is no adequate archaeological assessment of the town which is the heritage gem of the north coast," she stated.

Natural resources
    'While you are going to reclaim such a huge area of the coast, you must keep in mind that what is buried under it might be the very thing we should be seeking to learn about or preserve."

Ms. Lee was making queries during the public presentation of the EIA report on the proposed development at the Falmouth Anglican Church Hall.
    Falmouth, considered by many as one of the Caribbean's finest example of a colonial Georgian town, was granted the status of a tourist resort in September 2005, which is seen as a strategic move in light of major development plans, including that of a Cruise Ship Terminal Development.

First phase of project
    According to the president of the Port Authority of Jamaica, Noel Hylton the first phase of the project is to cost approximately $17.3 billion, of which J$10.6 billion will be used for undertaking the marine aspect of the development by the authority.

International Design & Entertainment Associates (IDEA) will do the infrastructural aspect of the project at a cost of $7.1 billion.
    The project envisions the development of berthing facilities, including dredging of the existing channel through offshore reefs, and the development of land side facilities required to handle the volume of cruise ship passengers disembarking during the vessels stay in the town.

The proposed cruise terminal is to be developed on the Falmouth foreshore within the confines of the existing natural harbour, while the terminal's marine works will encompass construction of a finger pier capable of accommodating two 'mega liner' cruise ships simultaneously. The design vessel is the 'Genesis' class cruise ship, which is currently under development and scheduled for delivery in late 2009.

Main concerns raised
    Some of the main concerns raised at the public forum were the destruction of the world famous luminous lagoon and coral reef, the lack of a comprehensive disaster plan, the credibility of Royal Caribbean Lines (RCCL) in terms of waste disposal laws, the relocation of the infamous 'bend down' market as well as the uncertainties of the future of the town's fisherfolk.

Hugh Darley, president and executive producer of IDEA, told the gathering that the design of the terminal would be in keeping with the current Georgian theme of Falmouth and with a transportation system likened to that of San Fransico.
    He said as a town rivalling that of Williamsburg in Virginia U.S.A., Falmouth is expected to be the envy of the entire region.
    Locals are expected to benefit tremendously through the creation of some 600 employment opportunities during the construction phase, while another 1000 will be available when the project is completed.

Another of 'the nothings' initiated under the PNP! ...joins so many more 'the nothings'!

oooh well???

Another of 'the nothings' initiated under the PNP! ...joins so many more 'the nothings'!

oooh well???
      If yuh in power for 18 years tings gwine initiate under yuh..

Cell-Phone, Internet, cyar..

Measuring of the net effect on the country, implementation, long term substainability, import/export balance.. those are the elements that determine success or failure...

Why did the Govt not allow ZIM and the Chinese to revolutionize the ports ?

It is not a trick question and if you know what the PNP priority has been over the last 18 years the answer will come very quickly..

Hint: What has the PNP Govt been very good at since 1989 ?

Jamaica has to be careful that all enviromental studies are done as Tourists nowadays are getting more "green"

With information only a click away on the internet it won't take much for us to lose our "global brand" that Rasta work so hard to give us.

let us not lose sight that it wasn't our politicians but Rasta who put Jamaica on the world map.

So far all our pompous posturing post election let us remember that it was the "sufferers" from the ghetto who allowed us to make so much money off our tourism and now a dem same one whose face we are spitting in as we would rather run to the Slavemaster to help us with development than turn to our own at home and in the diaspora.

Wait till mi get a chance fi tek the "WORD" to dem.

Right now we can improve the Mobay port and have the tourists drive to falmouth as that would make more sense. That way more attractions can be seen along the way and it doesn't just become a get on and get off type terminal.

Thats what the cruise ship wants as that is more money for them as more money gets spent onboard. We need to be like the Virgin Islands where dem come off and go pon one of those funny looking Taxis and tour the island.

Jamaica is large so we should seek to improve rail service for inland and heritage tours and if the ships don't want to work with our schedule then buss our own tour line.

Get smaller ships, let the passengers fly to Jamaica and have the ship tour from Mobay to Falmouth to Ochi to Port Antonio to the South Coast(250 to 500 guest maximum) Kinda like those Rhine River cruises and then go back to their hotel or reside on the ship(smaller etc.)

We have to build our own and force these mega ships and liners to come to the table.

Without us owning anything then we are at the mercy of their "benevolence"

We have to stop thinking like Slaves and start behaving like "Men"

No one will respect us until we first respect ourselves.
        We could get one of those mississipi river boat and move pon a "irie" cruise level. Now we control ALL the money.

Their Cash Plus there you have it yet another FREE idea fi run with much like unnu did with the Ocho Rios Hilton property fi sports tourism

Assassin how are you doing today boss?

BTW the reason the railroads weren't developed is because the bauxite interest wanted it free to pull ore from the cockpit country expansion(oh it isn't over yet) Our railroad makes a lot of money for the owners and for those whose palm are greased to keep it that way.

The story soon come out but it shows the corruption and shortsightedness of our people in lining their pockets at the expense of national development

That is why you have to lick them with the work and tek it to dem wicked as thats the only way dem back up.

Just think most of them always a say they are sent from God and dem want to use God name without his WORD or WORKS(mawning Gamma) so thats why when you remind them of GOD words them run go hide as dem know say dem motives and intentions are wicked.

No argue with them just remind them of the words
        Revelations 22:7, Revelations 22:12

Weh mi other Prophet brethrin Phinn deh? anybody see him bout the place?
        Unnu think say it easy fi a prophecy to a bunch of people who want to see you pop dung so dem can laugh after you?

You can't be no punk inna this prophecy thing as people will fly up and disrespect you in a minute. Dem have fi know say your WORDS cut like knife and you won't hesitate fi RISE IT at the slightest provocation.

You think a little time Jesus warn the man dem fi no bring no "set table" inna the church and all the prophet a talk the man dem wouldn't listen is only when him get fed up and "'tek it to dem wicked" dem say rhatid him serious.

Now look how all the quotes prior to Jesus going on the warpath never make the bible and look wah make it? The part weh him tun dem over and a dat a brethrin point out to me and say since you a try move Christlike do remember say christ had to be a badman as no punk coulda just go turn over people gambling table just so.

Mi say it make sense, dem teach we the part bout love each other and suffer silently and a dat a christlike but when the Preachers dem pon the plantations read the other part of the bible thats why dem get so vile and start up so much revolts.(Paul Bogle was a preacher)

and thats why dem never used to play as dem read the bible and see it seh wait deh other parts in yah where mi no supposed to a let no guy be more dan me?

Thats why now mi no longer argue with people, mi just dig up mi bible and run out pon dem! What took me so long to figure this out?
        Islandman you couldn't tell me all along say the Bible a the best book out there.

I have the new international version of the Archealogical Study Bible and it gives you an illustrated walk through biblical history and culture complete with pictures and even a DVD.

It brings the bible to life and puts all the places mentioned in real context

respect