Caribbean Broilers unveils massive poultry processing plant

• Caribbean Broilers unveils massive poultry processing plant

IN a moment that sparked applause, Matthew Lyn, group CEO of Caribbean Broilers, used the platform at the unveiling of the Caribbean’s first air-chill poultry processing plant — regarded as the single-largest agricultural investment in Jamaica — to spotlight the long-standing state of the road network in Hill Run, St Catherine.

Directing his appeal to Prime Minister Andrew Holness, Lyn described the deteriorating infrastructure as more than an inconvenience — it’s a chokehold on growth in a blossoming agricultural hub.

“Prime Minister, I apologise for having to put you on the spot here, Sir, but I think you’re the only one that can help me with this one,” Lyn said passionately. “Let’s change the minds of future generations, attract serious investment capital, and transform the relationship between industry, the environment, and agriculture. Prime Minister, I’m begging for a road.”

The Hill Run road network, which serves a growing agricultural hub, has long been plagued by neglect, but the issue is not unique to the area. Across Jamaica, citizens and business leaders alike have pressed the Government to address the country’s deteriorating roads, many of which were further damaged during the passage of Hurricane Beryl last year July.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/2025...cessing-plant/
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We still headed for recession?
    Interest rate cut 4 times
    1000 hotel room added
    This chicken farm
    45 Million for road work
    Recovered from Hurricane
    Are we still headed for recession?

CB Group’s $15-b plant sets Jamaica on path to poultry export status

Caribbean Broilers (CB) Group’s newly opened air chill poultry processing plant marks a key step in Jamaica’s efforts to reduce reliance on imported poultry and strengthen its position in regional food security.

Located at the company’s expansive 1,000-acre eco-industrial park in Hill Run, St Catherine, The Nest, as it is called, is central to CB Group’s goal of making Jamaica a net exporter of poultry by 2035.

In an exclusive interview with the Jamaica Observer after the launch of its $15-billion facility on Wednesday, CEO Matthew Lyn outlined CB Group’s strategy to achieve food self-sufficiency. Highlighting the current state of the industry, he noted that while Jamaica produces 80 per cent of its poultry needs, imports still fill part of the market. Lyn emphasised that the expanded capacity at the new plant is not only a response to local demand but also a step toward positioning Jamaica as a regional supplier.

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

First job I got fresh out of college was with Caribbean Broilers. I was their Hatchery Manager at their Old Harbor facility..............

This appears to be an excellent initiative.

Caribbean Broilers (CB) Group’s newly opened air chill poultry processing plant marks a key step in Jamaica’s efforts to reduce reliance on imported poultry and strengthen its position in regional food security.

Located at the company’s expansive 1,000-acre eco-industrial park in Hill Run, St Catherine, The Nest, as it is called, is central to CB Group’s goal of making Jamaica a net exporter of poultry by 2035.

In an exclusive interview with the Jamaica Observer after the launch of its $15-billion facility on Wednesday, CEO Matthew Lyn outlined CB Group’s strategy to achieve food self-sufficiency. Highlighting the current state of the industry, he noted that while Jamaica produces 80 per cent of its poultry needs, imports still fill part of the market. Lyn emphasised that the expanded capacity at the new plant is not only a response to local demand but also a step toward positioning Jamaica as a regional supplier.

“While we’re nearing self-sufficiency, the challenge has been scaling up to meet demand,” Lyn said. “With the new plant, we’re in a better position not just to meet local demand but to supply the wider Caribbean market, where countries still rely on imports.”

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/2025...export-status/

"First job I got fresh out of college was with Caribbean Broilers. I was their Hatchery Manager at their Old Harbor facility..............

This appears to be an excellent initiative."

They may need you again. Work on those skills. LOL!!!
            Last edited by Assasin; Yesterday, 09:49 AM.