New House Speaker Juliet Holness
Originally posted by Sir X View PostWho said anything about the masses , I said appaer unbiased, I guess that part tripped you up to spew nonsense.
In the U.K
1. MPs elect the speaker from amongst their own ranks. The House must elect a Speaker at the beginning of each new parliamentary term after a general election, or after the death or resignation of the incumbent.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speake...he%20incumbent.
2. Canada
Election. While the Constitution requires that the speaker be elected by the House of Commons, traditionally this amounted to the rubber-stamp approval of an MP nominated by the prime minister. However, in 1986 this was changed and they are now selected by secret ballot.
https://www.google.com/search?q=Cana...t=gws-wiz-serp
3. Australia
The Speaker is elected by the House of Representatives in a secret ballot, with an election held whenever the Office of the Speaker is vacant, as set out in Chapter 3 of the House of Representatives Standing and Sessional Orders.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speake...epresentatives
Acting leader of Government business Delroy Chuck nominated Holness for the job as parliamentary referee and it was seconded by Phillip Paulwell, the leader of Opposition business in the house.
Seemed bipartisan don't you think?
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Sir X View PostWho said anything about the masses , I said appaer unbiased, I guess that part tripped you up to spew nonsense.
In the U.K
1. MPs elect the speaker from amongst their own ranks. The House must elect a Speaker at the beginning of each new parliamentary term after a general election, or after the death or resignation of the incumbent.
2. Canada
Election. While the Constitution requires that the speaker be elected by the House of Commons, traditionally this amounted to the rubber-stamp approval of an MP nominated by the prime minister. However, in 1986 this was changed and they are now selected by secret ballot.
3. Australia
The Speaker is elected by the House of Representatives in a secret ballot, with an election held whenever the Office of the Speaker is vacant, as set out in Chapter 3 of the House of Representatives Standing and Sessional Orders.
Leave a comment:
If the U.K looked at our parliamentary system they would deny ever being a party to such antiquated, nepotistic,tribal governance. Yet this same JLP party wants to rush through constitutional reform, I wonder why .
Leave a comment:
You conveniently missed the point that all countries on the list are Parliamentary democracies on the UK model as is Jamaica where the Speaker performs the same function. The US is a Republic where the Speaker is chosen from the majority party with no input from the opposition.
You conveniently left out the country where you reside, the Great USA, from your list.
Leave a comment:
Who said anything about the masses , I said appaer unbiased, I guess that part tripped you up to spew nonsense.
In the U.K
2. Canada
3. Australia
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Sir X View PostIts not a knock against Holness or the JLP , but moreso our constitution that some hug up as perfect. Shouldnt the speaker of the house appear to be be a unbiased position, where by ballots are cast for the position ?.
Leave a comment:
Its not a knock against Holness or the JLP , but moreso our constitution that some hug up as perfect. Shouldnt the speaker of the house appear to be be a unbiased position, where by ballots are cast for the position ?.
Leave a comment:
..don't laff then. She has been deputy speaker all along, so what is the issue?
Leave a comment:
New House Speaker Juliet Holness
If a laff, a drop down dead. Yuh caaan mek this **** up.
https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...ith-open-arms/Tags: None
Leave a comment: