• JA : Must Join the BRICS .

https://oilprice.com/Energy/Energy-G...-Alliance.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

De-dollarization as it is:Let’s call the hypothetical currency the ‘bric’

https://moderndiplomacy.eu/2023/05/0...ency-the-bric/

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica to go nuclear

Gov't exploring nuclear energy as part of National Energy Policy

Prime Minister Andrew Holness has signalled the intentions of the Government to integrate nuclear energy in the country's energy mix.

Speaking at the opening ceremony of Expo Jamaica 2023 last week Thursday, April 28, 2023, the prime minster revealed that already he had spoken to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) — the world's central intergovernmental forum for scientific and technical co-operation in the nuclear field — about using nuclear energy to generate electricity.

The move will form part of the Government of Jamaica's National Energy Policy which, in part, aims to generate 50 per cent of electric energy from renewable sources by 2030. This, Holness said, will make the supply of electricity "more reliable, more available, and more affordable".

"Jamaica has to explore new technology in [the form of] nuclear energy — small nuclear plants to generate in Jamaica — which is cheaper, more stable and more affordable," he explained further.

Still vice-president of JREA Jason Robinson is of a completely different opinion to his colleague Hill, explaining that Jamaica is not ready "or will ever be ready" for such energy source. "Jamaica is located in a hurricane and earthquake zone which puts us in extreme danger with out having to worry about a nuclear meltdown. Also Jamaica's brand is a natural vibe not a one that fits well with nuclear energy. I think it would take a lot away from Brand Jamaica in terms of tourism as well," he contended.

While Robinson notes the comments of Lee-Chin, and the backing he has received from Government, the JREA vice-president told Business Observer that there needs to be a much heavier debate before there is a push towards a nuclear facility in Jamaica.

"We all can remember Fukushima and Jamaica and the Caribbean cannot withstand that type of meltdown," he added.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busi...to-go-nuclear/
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Seems like he is trying hard to lose the next election

Too small for brics,,,Caricom too
          Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
          United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
          happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
          Probably forthcoming...

Beware of CHINA

Agree.A Brics intl currency with ja is good.
              Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
              United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
              happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
              Probably forthcoming...

Naminirt beware of the west.

Putin's dollar problem is on clear display at the BRICS summit, starting with the moment guests land at the airport

Russian President Vladimir Putin is hosting a major summit with more than 20 world leaders whom he's trying to convince to ditch the dollar.

De-dollarization is one of Putin's priorities because trading in local currencies would mean that a heavily sanctioned Russia wouldn't be beholden to the Western US-dollar-dominated global financial order.

But it's not easy to move away from the greenback. The organizers of the BRICS summit have advised foreign attendees to bring cash — specifically US dollars and euros — to the event in the Russian city of Kazan.

Most Russian banks will only take US dollars or euros — which Moscow has deemed "toxic currencies" — to exchange for rubles, according to a guide on the summit's website.

Going cashless isn't an option since it's not possible to use Mastercard or Visa cards issued outside Russia in the country. The two card issuers halted local operations days after Russia invaded Ukraine in 2022.

China's Union Pay cards may be used — "but with restrictions," the guide says.

Attendees may apply for Russia's Mir payment card, and there's a bank at Kazan's international airport to get a card, exchange currency, and withdraw cash.

These issues with payments not only undermine the bluster of the BRICS group's call to de-dollarize, but they also underscore the immense challenge BRICS would have to unseat King Dollar, which is firmly entrenched in the global financial order.

The group of emerging nations anchored by Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa is not giving up.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/putins-do...090809178.html
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

A wonder if BRICS can help out Cuba anytime soon? It is sad to see what Cuba has become. Jamaica has to continue look out for its own interest to empower themselves and along the way work and help others. It make no sense we take other people problem and burden ourselves while we fight their wars, knowing they don't even have our interest at heart.

What is JA interest , yes I agree the P.M should have never found his ass in Israel , supporting genocide against the palestinians.

Can BRICS offer a counterbalance to the existing world order? | Inside Story

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28CKHemVJr0

Are BRICS countries already challenging the US-led world order? | The Bottom Line

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FwOXoLlq0l8

Can you answer the Cuba question? Cuba as a small country has given a lot to southern causes and some real good world causes as well but neither Russia, China, or any of these countries stand up and assist them. To some extent as a country you have to act in your own interest as all these bigger countries are. Jamaica must know Jamaica's interest. I remember when Petrojam was been bought back from Venuzuela, you and your friends said it was the wrong move, only to show it was the right move. Jamaica have to see if BRICS is more beneficial to them, instead of leading the people down a ideological path that have no benefit than pleasing Russia and China.

Why do you persists with ignorance ?. They all have assisted Cuba to the cuban governments interest!. The question is it to the people interest , given the standard of living . Why was endig the petrojam iniitiative a good move , isnt cost of living higher , i e inflation , isnt the cost to produce goods higher , isnt that linked to oil prices. So how can oil at bargain rates not be a good thing . Its one of the reasons the JLP is on its way out.

You labarites are so dumb and dense , that you live in the west ass, not knowing the feces isnt good for you, you think its a sanitized swimming pool. No wonder the P.M found himself supporting a genocide . One of the few friends Israel can count on its one hand.

As for the Brics , the gulf states have joined it , nuff said.

How dumb are you? Cuba is imploding and infrastructure crumbling. The only thing that matter is the people's interest. Whose else interest matter?
                            Again blind your eyes and stick to the none progressive line. Inflation, what has been the inflation rate in Venuzula over the past two years if you are talking about inflation. You are talking about a 10 percent inflation in Jamaica cause mainly because of the war in Ukraine and Covid. How much is it in Venuzula? LOL!!! Talk sense.

Ok so the cheap oil from petro caribe wouldnt have helped stave off JA inflation . Cubas interest is being subsidized by its Friends. One of them invest in infrastructure in JA , and you guessed it, its in our interest to partner with them, they also invest in cuban ports..