• Long Mountain development a disgrace, says Mayor McKenzie

Long Mountain development a disgrace, says Mayor McKenzie

Promises no further construction in area under his mayorship

PATRICK FOSTER, Observer writer fosterp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Saturday, September 15, 2007

Mayor of Kingston Desmond McKenzie (right) in discussion with Errol Salkey, chairman of the Hardware Merchants Association at the launch of the Hardware Merchants Association 2007 Expo to be held at the National Arena starting September 28. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

MAYOR of Kingston Desmond McKenzie has chided authorities for allowing the construction of the Long Mountain housing scheme almost seven years ago, saying that the development was detrimental to the environment.

"Long Mountain development is a disgrace," said Mayor McKenzie, adding that no other developments will be approved in the area under his administration.

He was speaking Tuesday at the launch of the Hardware Merchants Association (HMA) biennial expo held at the Hilton Hotel in Kingston.
    "As long as I am mayor no further development will take place in that area," McKenzie told the gathering.

Long Mountain Country Club, a gated complex with scores of townhouses, was constructed by housing developers Selective Homes in early 2000 on hills overlooking the eastern end of Kingston.

The development at the time drew the wrath of environmentalists and the National Water Commission which argued that the area was a watershed and construction could seriously damage the ecosystem.

McKenzie was speaking against the background of a degradation of the environment as well as unplanned developments and the effects during hurricanes.

He argued that development in the island has, for years, gone uncontrolled and unmonitored without the appropriate legislation in place.

"You might be surprised to know that no building code exists in Jamaica that controls how you build and where you build," said McKenzie.

This is a serious situation, he added, given the fact that Jamaica is prone to almost all forms of natural disaster. "The laws in the country are not sufficient to stop what is taking place."

For instance, said McKenzie, in the corporate area seven out of every 10 developments are done illegally.

With the more frequent occurrences of hurricanes, the mayor also charged that too few preventative measures were taken to alleviate the effects of natural disasters.

Using Caribbean Terrace as an example, the mayor said a relocation of the residents in disaster-prone areas should be considered.

Caribbean Terrace was devastated in 2004 during Hurricane Ivan and again this year when Hurricane Dean traversed the island's southern shores.

"It doesn't make sense for people to continue living in that sort of situation.relocation has to be the way out," he said.
    Last edited by Karl; September 15, 2007, 05:32 PM.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
    Long Mountain Country Club, a gated complex with scores of townhouses, was constructed by housing developers Selective Homes in early 2000 on hills overlooking the eastern end of Kingston.
    The development at the time drew the wrath of environmentalists and the National Water Commission which argued that the area was a watershed and construction could seriously damage the ecosystem.
    With all that and the development was allowed to go through.

Mosiah can you comment on the building codes.

Too late, too late shall be the cry....where was he all this time? That development was ill-conceived at best..does have a breathtaking view though. Expect more of these environmental insensitive projects to go up - in the name of 'development'.

you have to remember that many people lick out against building up there. I am not sure if Mckenzie was one but it was to no avail as the government and the then mayor decided it was ok.

If people without power block road and oppose we say them destructive, how does one without power and local people be heard? without been labelled as labourite or PNP?

It is clear that political parties will do what is expedient for their survival and not necessarily what is good for the country. That is why we need strong INSTITUTIONS in Jamaica which are devoid of the political baggage. It's often difficult, especially in a small country BUT unless the NGO's get organized and the communities get united and do what's best for them, they'll always be crying foul when they are taken advantage of.
          Blocking of roads has been the default last resort - a pity, since it often causes discomfort even to the perpetrators - but at least it gets national attention and often some action.
          Last edited by Exile; September 15, 2007, 03:31 PM. Reason: typo

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            Too late, too late shall be the cry....where was he all this time? That development was ill-conceived at best..does have a breathtaking view though. Expect more of these environmental insensitive projects to go up - in the name of 'development'.
            Him wasn't the mayor or Local Govt. Minister.

Plans must have been approved by the KSAC (Town Planning Committee) or whatever name them was calling it in 2000.

Mosiah no post pon Saturday..him haffi go a market...

I support everything you just said but the problem is when groups like JFJ make a stand(granted they may not always be right) they are labelled as political groups and discredited by people who know better. If a group is progressive them count how many PNP or JLP in it.

The people of Jamaica better step up and realise that parties do not always have their interest at heart, and support when it is in their interest and oppose when it is not.

heh, heh.. yuh might want to check Atkins, when the joke PNP was in control of the Parish Councils.

But is alright... the doo-doo has been cleared out of local and central.. Jamaica can get back on track.. at least until you and the rest get a chance to put in unnuh peeps again.. please, please, please.. learn from your mistakes of '72 and '89.. try and have some people with sense and some sort of repsonsible agenda in yuh party by then.. tyad of di build up and mash down ting..

It is clear that political parties will do what is expedient for their survival and not necessarily what is good for the country. That is why we need strong INSTITUTIONS in Jamaica which are devoid of the political baggage. It's often difficult, especially in a small country BUT unless the NGO's get organized and the communities get united and do what's best for them, they'll always be crying foul when they are taken advantage of.
                    Blocking of roads has been the default last resort - a pity, since it often causes discomfort even to the perpetrators - but at least it gets national attention and often some action.
                    Beg yuh nuh lump the JLP and PNP into the same category.. PNP stand in then own category of populism and expediency.. how yuh believe yuh win 4 terms ?

Not into the politicking today Ben.

I guess Jamaica is too divided to have bi-partisan groups...that is why Jamaica needs Carnival...the men take themselves too seriously...can't relax....no wonder...mek mi stop yes...

Not into the politicking today Ben.
                          Just separating your fiction from fact.

you can say that again if me a PNP and a next man a labourite why can't we work togather in the best interest of our community without invoking outside interest?

Mi have very good brethrens who a PNP and labourite and some a just fifth columnist and it nuh come nuh way we just enjoy wi self.

Correction: "your fact"