How can you have the number 1 industry in Jamaica and high school in St.Ann, St.James, Hanover, St. Mary, Westmoreland, Kingston, and Portland doesn't even offer a certification course in tourism? Now people talking about shortage of qualified people to work in the industry?
As I said "Tourism should be taught in school"
Not just tourism, but if I had a say every kid who graduate H..S would have the opportunity to have a certification in AWS, GPC , Azure or Cisco. Or a certificate in hospitality, or Advance Agriculture. I think our education system is still stuck in the 1960 which was to suit the plantation masters.
yes or basic IT security, healthcare, call center. These are where the jobs are. This would make an underlining difference in reducing poverty in Jamaica. From there they can step up or choose their career field if they save or perform.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
JHTA president bats for apprenticeship programme
MONTEGO BAY, St James — As the tourism ministry moves ahead with a review of labour market arrangements within the sector, president of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA) Clifton Reader is hoping an apprenticeship programme will be a part of the way forward.
According to Minister of Tourism Edmund Bartlett, one of the major tasks given to a special task force set up in April is “to look at the employment situation as it relates to the recovery, and particularly the economic impact of the recovery”.
The task force is chaired by Professor Lloyd Waller, executive director of the Global Tourism Resilience and Crisis Management Centre (GTRCMC). Housed at The University of the West Indies, Mona Campus, the GTRCMC emerged as a direct response to the novel coronavirus that disrupted global economies, particularly the tourism sector.
“They’re now having their first set of meetings. It is important to know that so that the workers and everybody can have a sense that there is attention that is being paid to their situation,” Bartlett said of the task force. He was speaking with journalists, on June 4, on the sidelines of a welcome ceremony for an inaugural American Airlines flight from Austin, Texas.
“We are working now with the Ministry of Labour to see if I can meet with the minister to see how we can bring in people… on an apprentice programme. My hotel, in particular, is prepared right now to sponsor up to 50 of those people from Ocho Rios High and from Marcus Garvey [High] to… put them on a three-month training programme. I will pay them and, under the proper working conditions, just carry them through the system. So when I want line employees they are there already,” he told the Jamaica Observer on Wednesday.
https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/jhta-president-bats-for-apprenticeship-programme/Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015