Both sides ordered to make full disclosure at dual ...

We do need to be shackled by the law. If it's no longer relevant than change it, but dont try to ignore it before we do.

The people were not misled, as Dabdoub handed out flyers left right and centre in the constituency alleging that Vaz was a farrinah.

I dont think the EOJ was ever charged with verifying this, as the provision seems to be a long forgotten one. The thing to do is to update the procedures for next time and start work on it now. What is happening now is pure politicking.

Vaz is one of a few candidates I DONT like, and this is outside of politics. However, his legal advice must have told him that he was not in violation as he inherited the status as a minor. Dabdoub was clever in filing the motion before the vote, so as to try to inherit the seat by default. However, even if successful, the judge would have seen the results of the poll and likely rule a rerun, as clearly Dabdoub does not command a majority of the voting public there.

As to the election legitimacy, what do you think is gonna happen next week when the JLP takes full controls of the reins of State? They will have access to all unshredded documents and they will see who had contracts with the Govt and did not declare them 40 days BEFORE the Sept 3 vote. All such successful candidates are in violation of another section of the Constitution and will face losing the seat and a ban against ever running again if the ruling upholds the violation.
    Last edited by Willi; September 15, 2007, 04:54 PM.

So be it! Let the chips fall regardless of party affiliation..if the 'elected' officials don't obey the law, what do we expect the 'man in the street' (and I use the term advisedly) to do? A lot of our lawlessness and anarchy stem for the examples set by our so-called 'exemplars' - not talking PNP/JLP...I was glad to hear Bruce say "it's too easy to be corrupt in Jamaica" or smthing to that effect. they are just too many gray areas in Jamaican society....too many.
      Last edited by Exile; September 15, 2007, 04:40 PM. Reason: typo

was that the only thing him was saying about Vaz?

I bet even if there is a rerun he won't win

Agreed mi bredda.

Vaz is one of a few candidates I DONT like, and this is outside of politics. However, his legal advice must have told him that he was not in violation as he inherited the status as a minor.
            So technically the man never swore allegiance to any other nation!

Dabdouby (what kinda a name dat anyway?) need to chill - we nuh want him eena West Portland!

Lost by 900+ votes out of 16K+ (I believe).

I wonder if he got the Vaz info from being his lawyer in the past. I hope its not priviliged info, as he could be disbarred.
              If he violated lawyer/client privilage and was disbarred I would have no pity for him...
              ...but, even if he was not disbarred which client could trust him on knowing that he would betray that trust? So if he was not disbarred I hope his practise would die!

...even business associates could not then trust him...and, neither could political parties and the voters!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                Here we are arguing about the character of a man who challenged the legality and validity of his opponents candidacy. it's either right or wrong - black or white. If Vaz' candidacy was illegal in the first place then he should resign forthwith - what's so difficult in that?
                After that, we can discuss whether it's a re-run, if in fact Dabdoub would have won by default - since he was the only legitimate candidate.
                Let's just deal with the issue at hand, leave the speculation for later.
                If the basis for the present government is false..then in fact we have a problem.
                I blame the EOJ and the political leadership screen process who should never have allowed these things to fall through the cracks. Embarassing at best.
                You are correct. The matter of Vaz' being legally deserving of nomination is one thing....but, as Willi said, it would be another wrong done if Dabdoub betrayed a past client's confidence.
                Last edited by Karl; September 15, 2007, 05:22 PM.

As to the election legitimacy, what do you think is gonna happen next week when the JLP takes full controls of the reins of State? They will have access to all unshredded documents and they will see who had contracts with the Govt and did not declare them 40 days BEFORE the Sept 3 vote. All such successful candidates are in violation of another section of the Constitution and will face losing the seat and a ban against ever running again if the ruling upholds the violation.
                  The problem with that is - in Jamaica there is "one degree of separation" and JLP candidates may also be found to be in violation as some have interest in businesses owned by PNP supporters and even family members.

Sooooooo the big thing would be; are there any JLP MPs who have interest in entities doing or have recently done business with the government who would be found in violation?

Yup! - Jamaica? - One degree of separation!

No badmind thing Karl..that's not you....
                    All is fair in love and war....and politics.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                      No badmind thing Karl..that's not you....
                      All is fair in love and war....and politics.
                      All is fair?
                      ...Exile I know you too well not to know that you have a line you would not cross!
                      Respek, boss!

True,

But it is likely that far more PNP people are exposed.

It's the spirit of the law here really. Technicality won't work...

Actually, its the letter of the law that counts here. You have to have actually formally sworn allegiance of your own volition as an adult.

Dabdoub is trying to claim that renewing a US passport as an adult is the same thing. The courts will decide.

Hmmm....subject to interpretation...the courts will have to decide then. Willi, can't accept that they actually meant swearing as an adult....well...this one out of area...where's Gamma..oh watching the tide come in from yesterday...
                              Willi, yu ever notice how nuff posters missing on w/ends...dem haffi stop use them work computer!

Abe reported it before election day and I believe that he said that we filed a suit to remove Vaz from the ballot box. However the law does not prevent Vaz or anybody with a US passport from been nominated, it only prevent them from been elected. Voting for Vaz knowing that he could be elected was like spoiling a ballot and that was ok.