• Brigadier Jerry "Modern Deejays Would Not Last 30 Minutes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BMqDur54AH4

Briggy genorus , not even 1 minute .Say it long time , none a dem , cant ride a riddim period, they are studio artist.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Definitely true. You think these DJ could hold the mic from 8:30 to 3:00 in the morning having selector play any riddim and they would ride it? The thing is just not set this way. Many of the old DJ would write lyrics and perfect it in dance with the crowd reaction and see what beat it is best on. Now it is just right a lyrics and straight to studio. Most of the current DJs except Bounty, Beenie, Sean Paul and Shaggy (if you call them current)can't hold a stage for 1 hour as they have no catalog.

The current state of affairs in the Dancehall world is atrocious. These young'uns can't even freestyle. I see videos with Shenseea freestyling. She has so much potential to make it really big.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Shen should be bigger than she is , wasted years DJ slackness, if she buss one song like " toast" she would be on her way to international stardom.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

To reinforce the point , even Shen clueless. They need to bring back the sound system culture . Man use to shark the mike and chant till morning.

https://www.dancehallmag.com/2022/03...s-a-night.html

To reinforce the point , even Shen clueless. They need to bring back the sound system culture . Man use to shark the mike and chant till morning.

https://www.dancehallmag.com/2022/03...s-a-night.html

..... but is there a market for that type of entertainment anymore? Times have changes X ... what worked back then might not work today.

Good question , how much so, I see and hear rappers freestyling on beats , can't believe Jamaicans have stopped sharking down mics to chant . I think it's more so the government clamping down on that form of the culture.

The government has absolutely nothing to do with the deterioration of the music.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

What's your take , when did we lose the ability to shark down a mic and chant it ,non stop. Hell even I thought I was the next best thing in high school , all we needed was our hands to beat on the school desk .

What's this obsession with sharking mic? The thing changed X. Structured stage shows became popular. What you are looking for is something that is old fashion. Beat on school desk? Are you for real dude?

Diss mi a talk Lazie, the day this dun , is when dance hall done. Its on life support now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ph2-UpYHZ1s

Rappers do it too ( battle rap) , you need to hone your craft before you get on stage shows. The thing is before the stage , youths use to DJ on local community sound systems to develop their craft, now its , studio to stage shows, hence the poor quality of music. The time it takes to hone that craft , the fryers or rejects would be rooted out on sound systems before they make it to the studio.

Diss mi a talk bout Lazie

https://youtu.be/zis30KkrjBg

Rush Dem inna studio pan some Yankee beat ,Dem nuh use to and Dem flop on a stage show . It not even have to be a Yankee beat. Point is to DJ clash in class or between friends is different than a sound system clash with unfriendly types, yuh have to be prepared to be boeed,chase off the mic , or bottleld off the mike. The riddim gets changed in a sec, you don't have no control over it , it calls for quick feet or thinking to buss yuh lyrics.

That said some DJs can be good in clashing and poor on stage shows, it takes them years to master both.

That I believe is why the music is on life support. These are studio DJs , they control the nonsense that's coming out , the cultural pressure of sound system DJ clashing is dead. They are clueless in how to hone their craft.

There’s nothing wrong with being a studio DJ. Sean Paul and Shaggy can be considered two studio DJ’s and look where they are. The denigration of the music is not because of the lack of clashes. It’s all about the content and good music behind the lyrics.

Not saying there is anything wrong with being a studio artist. I am saying it plays a huge factor in the quality of todays artist and the music. Not that it is the sole factor or something is wrong with it, as I said some DJs back in the days were clash DJs , cant perform on stage shows, today some are studio DJS cant perform on a stage show. Correction most are studio DJS and most cant perform on a stage show, classic example is Alkaline. Being a clash/sound DJ back then forced them to develop content and quality, that you cant deny, the fryers would be weeded out with shandy bottles.

Supercat at one time was regarded as a clash/sound DJ. Took him years to learn the craft of being a stage show performer and even now ,some woud say he struggles
                            Last edited by Sir X; March 13, 2022, 03:14 PM.

Shaggy is not plainly a studio artist as he practice his craft on sound systems in the early days. Sean Paul they also had a little sound. However it is not just the music as some of the artists nowadays have no delivery, and stage craft is lacking. Most can't build a catalog as they don't spend the time needed to deliver and research what the crowd like. Many of the DJs were not class DJs. Tiger was not Briggie wasn't Josie and Charlie were not, Yellow man wasn't, Chakademus, Nicodimus, Admiral Bailey to name a few.