Spotify releases data for Jamaican artistes, songs

• Spotify releases data for Jamaican artistes, songs

Streaming platform Spotify is celebrating its one-year anniversary in the Caribbean and has released some interesting data for the last 12 months.

Dancehall is well represented in the findings, which also reveal that Jamaicans are enjoying reggae fusion, lovers’ rock and old-school dancehall. Veterans and globally renowned recording artistes are also notably present on the lists, including Grammy-winning performer Sean Paul, critically acclaimed Masicka, reggae legend Bob Marley, eclectic live performer Spice and reggae revival artiste Chronixx.

Most played Jamaican artistes outside of Jamaica

1. Bob Marley & The Wailers

2. Sean Paul

3. Rvssian

4. Popcaan

5. OMI

6. Vybz Kartel

7. Damian Marley

8. Beenie Man

9. Charly Black

10. Chronixx

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...artistes-songs
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Zachary Harding To Dancehall Artists: “Get Yourself A Catalog, You Can’t Just Be Singing Gunman Songs Alone”

“Get yourself a catalog of songs, so that an overseas promoter can say ‘yes’…. 5000 people will come to my show, cause he has this song that they want to hear. You can’t just be singing gunman songs alone. So when you get booked to go to a dance, is just a bag a tuff face man stan up in di dance? No, you have to have some flavor and variety.”

“Work on your image and your brand and what it stands for. You must stand for suppm. You can’t just stand for: ‘I’m a tuff face guy wid a bag a tattoos in my garrison, wid a bunch a man behind me with cutlass and long gun’. Great. Ten other people are like dat.”

https://www.dancehallmag.com/2022/03...ngs-alone.html
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sorry Jangle, I just post the same thing up above in its own thread.

Zachary Harding Considers Massive Investment In Dancehall

Dancehall music could get a massive capital injection, coupled with a blueprint for a proper business structure, based on a revelation by Investment Management expert and music producer Zachary Harding, who was also Dancehall superstar Sean Paul’s first-ever manager.

Harding, who is also a trained drummer, trumpeter, steel pan player and vocalist, revealed on a recent edition of Television Jamaica’s The Entertainment Report, that he is on the verge of making massive investments in the development of quality authentic Dancehall music, to put the genre—which experts say is the world’s most-sampled music—back in its rightful place on the global stage.

https://www.dancehallmag.com/2022/03...dancehall.html