We stop write songs
Dancehall is a P.R gimmick , there is no culture in todays dancehall, what spice is selling is ***** riders and pum pum shorts or RAW SEX , america and the UK has moved past that. In fact Jamaicans in the states have moved past that. This trap dancehall is another flop, no one wants to hear Jamaicans rapping over rap beats in the states and to see them perform it is worse.
What you have is a culture that has sold its soul in trying to sexualise/americanize itself and it does well at home or in Jamaica. I said it years ago, these clowns cant sell out a stage show.
Shenseea with all her talent is struggling to break through, same thing or messaging from her sex, sex, sex , sex. I gaurantee you the next 5 albums from these two will be sexualized repetitive B.S.
If you cant break out now after so many years of this P.R B.S, watch the next Koffi fly by them. Hey they are comfortable with that niche, so who am I to blast them.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
When I first saw this post I thought it was the shensea Megan the stallion foolishness. I see where I gel Staffi’s argument but I disagree to a certain extent. Spice album is actually a well produced album but for some reason it did not translate into sales. The question is which reggae dancehall album has lately. I do agree though that it is not VPs lack of spending..
i would love love to hear Nigel’s POV on the Shanese mis opportunity in her main stream collab.
What he is saying is that there is a proven template. All the hit songs have a catchy singy chorus. Most have a strong beat that can stand on their own and some melody. Most of the current songs just have a lot of words and you can't tell the chorus from the verses. The beats are missing strong keyboard, and horns section etc. I am not down on spice but basically a lot of these songs can have a little more that make it easier on the ears.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Thats the question, why a well produced album flopped, you have to asses the afro youth culture in north america and europe ?. The afro youth in New York is more afro conscious, look at the BLM movement , the youth vote in this last election , the focus on education and building business or activism in the commuity and the enviroment. Thats different from the 80s,90s and early 2 k culture of sex, drugs and violence. Dont let the media hype fool you with this messaging of how and what afro americans talk,walk,like with the sex and drugs messaging to get ahead in life.
The reality is these youth talk about college and a future of conscious change, they frown on selling drugs, scammers or bandolloo hustlers or sex to get ahead in life . Jamaica is stuck in the 80,90s and early 2k ***** rider/pum pum shorts culture with a americanized accent. Literrally , the irony is that messaging sells more to white kids that buy that sterotype through songs on streaming service!THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
The problem with today's dancehall music is the same problem with today's Hip Hop. Garbage. Everybody is singing about the same thing and on the same beats. The difference though, is that Hip Hop has its established audience whereas, today's dancehall doesn't. The players in the dancehall industry are lazy. The essence of dancehall, and reggae music is the drum and the heavy bassline. These young artistes are looking at the number of YouTube views as a measure of their success or popularity which doesn't translate into money, with their 10 & 20 million views. While Reggaeton and Afrobeats are doing the numbers to make record companies invest.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Assasin View PostWhat he is saying is that there is a proven template. All the hit songs have a catchy singy chorus. Most have a strong beat that can stand on their own and some melody. Most of the current songs just have a lot of words and you can't tell the chorus from the verses. The beats are missing strong keyboard, and horns section etc. I am not down on spice but basically a lot of these songs can have a little more that make it easier on the ears.
Wine and guh dung song is all of that.. that's why I am saying the bredrin thought process is flawed. The alblum is not bad.
Originally posted by Sir X View PostThats the question, why a well produced album flopped, you have to asses the afro youth culture in north america and europe ?. The afro youth in New York is more afro conscious, look at the BLM movement , the youth vote in this last election , the focus on education and building business or activism in the commuity and the enviroment. Thats different from the 80s,90s and early 2 k culture of sex, drugs and violence. Dont let the media hype fool you with this messaging of how and what afro americans talk,walk,like with the sex and drugs messaging to get ahead in life.
The reality is these youth talk about college and a future of conscious change, they frown on selling drugs, scammers or bandolloo hustlers or sex to get ahead in life . Jamaica is stuck in the 80,90s and early 2k ***** rider/pum pum shorts culture with a americanized accent. Literrally , the irony is that messaging sells more to white kids that buy that sterotype through songs on streaming service!
Goodpoint X.. there is something to your POV.
"Wine and guh dung song is all of that.. "
Don't think it is all of that, just average but it coulda sell a little more. In general though the man is right, nuff a the new song lack the stuff. I really like Gramps Morgan album though as it is well produced.
Sass listen the complete album. Wine and guh donwn deh to me is one of the few dancehall sounding songs that has come out in a good while. But the overall alblum is good. This is what is getting people. The issue is not the alblum is the visual that sells.
To reinforce the point of culture , in the 90s NY had over 2000 gun related deaths , today it's below 500.,back then both cultures could relate to each other. Jamaica pushes over a 1000 deaths since the late 90s . The majority of the Afro youth in NY can't relate to the gangsterism or the girls who denigrate themselves today
White youth are the number one consumers of rap, the black American market use to be consumers of dancehall, hence the numerous crossovers in the 90s.
If we want to start selling dancehall records that crossover , they have to be positive with. a message that's political, afrocentric, love or uplifting and yes with a authentic dancehall beat.
The niche market they cater to , won't translate in healthy sales , for the simple fact that they don't spend money to download music, they would rather listen to it on the radio or YouTube ,free streaming platforms.
In other words know your market. Spice and Shanessa have been struggling to buss for a while ( crossover) , if it hasn't happen now , I don't expect it anytime soon with all the P.R gimmicks in the world.Last edited by Sir X; January 24, 2022, 07:03 PM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
I think Shensea had / has an opportunity, but she shot an air ball when she could have had a dunk. That lick song is what Megan the S does,, she had to crossover with something different. When you listen to a Afrobeat like Jerusemla or whatever it was it pulled you in because it was something outside of your lane.. I just think they are too many yes people around these artist and they don't understand the business of music.
Originally posted by Assasin View Post"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by OJ View PostI think Shensea had / has an opportunity, but she shot an air ball when she could have had a dunk. That lick song is what Megan the S does,, she had to crossover with something different. When you listen to a Afrobeat like Jerusemla or whatever it was it pulled you in because it was something outside of your lane.. I just think they are too many yes people around these artist and they don't understand the business of music.