• Jamaica Completes CBDC Pilot

Amitoj Singh
    Mon, January 3, 2022, 6:45 AM
    The Jamaican central bank, Bank of Jamaica (BOJ), announced that it has successfully completed the trial of its central bank digital currency (CBDC).
    • The eight-month pilot was initially delayed for unspecified reasons, according to a report from CoinDesk. The announcement does not mention anything about the delay, only stating that the pilot began in May and ended on Dec. 31, 2021.
    • Jamaica is set to roll out the CBDC in the first quarter of 2022.
    • The BOJ had been working with Ireland-based technology firm eCurrency Mint on the sandbox project. The scope of the pilot was limited to digital wallet providers who indicated readiness to participate within the time frame.
    https://www.yahoo.com/finance/news/j...114503698.html
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

and nobody is going to use it...i'm convinced that 85% of jamaicans are a hardheaded backward lot

tells you all you need to know...land of the coconuts

meanwhile down here in coconut land...where 70% of the population is unbanked/underbanked...every mobile money concept has failed to gain any traction...why are we so dark & backward?