Medical tourism and health technology

• Medical tourism and health technology

Jamaica and the rest of the Caribbean have a virtually untapped resource in medical tourism. Of course, there are places that offer this, but the extent to which we could be benefitting from such an industry is massive and not truly being exploited.

We have focused a lot on health and wellness tourism. According to dobusinessjamaica.com in their ‘Health and Wellness Tourism’ report: “The Global Spa and Wellness Summit estimates the size of the health and wellness market to be a US$438.6 billion global market within the wider US$3.2 trillion tourism market. It further estimated that the wellness tourism market will grow by 9.1 per cent per year ... which is at a higher rate than traditional tourism is projected to grow.”

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/...lth-technology
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

‘JA scratching the surface of health tourism’

JHTA head touts underutilised super potential natural resources

As the potential for Jamaica’s indigenous herbal wonders and natural resources continue to remain largely untapped, president of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA) Robin Russell believes that as a country we’re just barely scratching the surface as it relates to health tourism.

Already a global leader in the recreational tourism space, Russell, speaking with the Jamaica Observer recently, said there is lots more value that can be extracted from the lucrative sector if we can seriously exploit more of our rich natural and cultural assets.

“Health and wellness tourism through its vast offerings presents a very good opportunity for us to further diversify the tourism product. Tourists are also now looking for different experiences, hence, the more we can offer, the better our chances to further grow the sector each year,” he further told the Business Observer.

“I believe with the completion of Cornwall Regional and all our other medical facilities we will be able to add more strength to our local health sector. On the therapeutic side, we’ve been doing a lot of retreats in terms of medicinal mushrooms and other forms of therapy such as yoga, which have all helped to present better opportunities for us as a country.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/2025...ealth-tourism/
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015