• Observer readers choose a cabinet

Observer readers choose a cabinet

Sunday, September 09, 2007

ON Thursday, Observer senior editors gave their own suggestions for a new Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) cabinet which is the prerogative of Bruce Golding to name. We also invited readers to make their own suggestions. Here are your selections:

. Courtney Brown picks Bobby Montague for a local gov't and community development ministry, saying water and community development should stay together. He says Montague, as mayor, worked work closely with community groups.

. Clinton Boyd wants Hyacinth Bennett as minister of education instead of Andrew Holness, saying that Bennett has a track record in education. Holness should be made a junior minister, he says.

. Courtland Reid selects Olivia 'Babsy' Grange as minister of local government, saying Shahine Robinson is "too young" to handle this tough portfolio.

. Wayne, a police officer, believes Col Trevor MacMillan should be made a senator again and named as minister of national security. He believes Derrick Smith is not suitable for security.

. A North Western Clarendon reader who does not wish to be identified says Michael Stern should be made minister of industry and commerce.

. A Portmore caller picks Mike Henry for local government ministry, "due to impending court action for Shahine Robinson on dual citizenship".

. Wayne G wants Pearnel Charles as minister of transport, water, housing and works.

. Ann Marie Brown agrees with the Observer's picks.

. Daniel T says Delroy Chuck would do better at a Ministry of Investments and Mike Henry should go to the Ministry of Finance.

. Jason L selects Mike Henry as minister of transport, saying he does not believe that the local government ministry will still be in place as there are talks about revamping it.

. Gladys M wants Mike Henry at Labour and Social Security, noting that "Mike Henry is a hard-working MP and has the potential to be a good labour minister".

. Joy Hall tips Olivia 'Babsy' Grange for minister of culture, suggesting that tourism goes to Edmund Bartlett.

. M Johnson thinks the Observer's choices were good.

. Chuck Dillon argues for Delroy Chuck as justice and local government minister.

. Pamella S touts Olivia 'Babsy' Grange to go to Youth and Development.

. A Portmore caller names Mike Henry as local government minister.

. John A wants Bobby Montague at Local Government; Olivia 'Babsy' Grange at the Ministry of Information; Andrew Holness at Education, Youth and Sports, and Shahine Robinson at Housing, Environment and Works. He also thinks Chris Tufton should be dropped from the Observer's list.

. Anthony Hugar agrees with the Observer's picks and hopes that we will continue to have a say in the country's business.

. An unidentified caller thinks that Mike Henry should be in the Cabinet.

. Eldon Forest suggests that Mike Henry replaces Karl Samuda as minister of foreign affairs and foreign trade in the Observer's list; he also wants Olivia 'Babsy' Grange to replace Shanine Robinson as local government minister and to bring in an outsider as attorney-general while Delroy Chuck concentrates on the Ministry of Justice.

. John from Kingston says Mike Henry should replace Pearnel Charles at Transport, Housing, Water, adding: "Pearnel Charles too cantankerous."

. Tyrone Reid asks: "How come you omitted Mike Henry from the Cabinet? I think he is a better choice (over Pearnel Charles) for Transport, Housing, Water and Works. But maybe that's just me."

. Nicola K Nicholson is in agreement with the Observer's picks and suggests Mike Henry as Speaker of the House. Also, "the JLP should have a balanced person for attorney-general. Chuck is cool, but we need to get a person who is not in campaign politics for that post".

. Yasmin Powell would put Olivia 'Babsy' Grange as minister of culture & entertainment. "Ed Bartlett could be just tourism... Karl Samuda as minister of foreign affairs? That one I have a question sign against... I agree and support your other choices but we shouldn't leave out 'Babsy'.

She has worked long and hard and stayed the course. surely that must represent something. Put Information under Education again with Andrew Holness... bright young man."

. Steve Prince says: "My list is just about the same as the Observer's. The only difference I had was the splitting up of that super ministry "Industry, Technology, Energy and Commerce" into two as I felt that Mr Golding would want to include Daryl Vaz.

Therefore, I had Mining & Energy going to Clive Mullings and Industry, Commerce & Technology going to Daryl Vaz. I am sure Daryl will get some pointers from his dad. I guess there will also be a long list of junior ministers to support some of these ministries."

babsy grange!?...

as a mp is one thing... as a cabinet minister pon de mere fact dat she deh deh long time is laughable... nuh wonder jamaica cant mek rapid improvement...