• 'Struggle' to protect Negril's beaches continues

'Struggle' to protect Negril's beaches continues

Negril Green Island Local Planning Authority stepping up education campaign

BY TYRONE S REID Sunday Observer staff reporter reidt@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, September 09, 2007

IT comes as no surprise that in the face of the country's growing environmental problems, particularly the ongoing struggle to save and protect our beaches, the Negril Green Island Local Planning Authority is stepping up its campaign to protect the delicate beach environment for which Negril, Westmoreland is a world-famous resort.

So far, the team, led by acting secretary manager Cliff Reynolds, has been kept busy monitoring and minimising the number of informal structures and squatter settlements in the area that could suffer serious physical damage, especially with the advent of a natural disaster. At the same time, these illegal structures threaten the safety of the environment in which they have been erected.

Planning technologist at the Negril Green Island Local Planning Authority, Donovan Loney, points to damage caused by beach erosion at the Negril Marine Park in Westmoreland. (Photos: Lionel Rookwood)

"Though it's often a struggle to get people to cooperate with us, we have been successful in recent times. What we have to do is talk to the residents to get them to understand the dangers that illegal construction can cause. But when the talking does not work, we have to take action to enforce the rules and regulations," Reynolds told the Sunday Observer in an interview at the Negril Marine Park last week.

"We believe in balance, so while enforcing the law, we try to educate the residents and business owners at the same time," he added, pointing out that the body acts on behalf of the National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA) in the area.

Ever since Negril's infrastructure was expanded several years ago in anticipation of the growth in the number of small resorts (catering mostly to North American tourists) and the human population, locals have been itching to construct more hotels and shops along the coastline to cater directly to guests, but the delicacy of the environment does not readily provide for such developments.

As a result, the local planning authority was set up by the government in 1983 to monitor development in the area. Today, all development plans must meet the standard set by the local authority, as set out in the Town and Country Planning Negril Green Island Development Order. According to the list of standards and regulations that must be adhered to, all construction must take place at least 150 feet (46 metres) from the high water mark and the building area must not exceed more than a quarter of the total site area.

"Prior to the inception of the body and the drafting of standards, many of the buildings were in breach. We have managed to relocate a lot of persons because several informal settlements were a part of the problem," explained Reynolds, who has been living in the Negril area for over 40 years.

In 2005, approximately 150 temporary advertising signs were removed from the Negril Development Order Area, 21 buildings housing squatters were demolished from the South Negril River Bank, which is located close to the town centre and two hotels were asked to make adjustments to their high boundary walls to the required standards specified. In 2006, the authority successfully removed 12 buildings occupied by squatters (small business structures) from the Non-Pareil Road (adjacent to the Negril bus park) and demolished two illegal buildings in the same vicinity.
    For 2007, the authority hopes to continue on a path of success.

"What we have been having is a lot of rapid beach erosion, particularly within the last seven to eight years. But we have been able to claim more of the beach. What we want to ensure is that the orderly development of the town is conducive to environmental standards. We do not want a situation of over-development," said Reynolds.

Donovan Loney, a planning technologist with the authority, told the Sunday Observer, that so far this year several more illegal buildings have been demolished.
    "We have had to remove several illegal structures that were built in areas that they are not supposed to erect and several illegal signs.

It is challenging job for the officers who go out in the field because we do get threats from time to time because people believe we are fighting and preventing them from making a living. But they have to understand that they cannot just get up and build without permission," explained Loney, who has been working with the authority for seven years.

He noted, too, that squatting is an ever-present problem that the body is trying to bring under control. "Squatting is one of the most significant problems, particularly at the entrance of the town. There are about 200 persons at the site and about 120 structures. We are currently in the process of getting those persons removed," he pointed. "We are also working closely with numerous other government agencies including the National Solid Waste Management Authority (NSWMA) and the parish council."

In the meantime, the authority is imploring residents and business operators to play their part in helping to protect the Negril area, renown for its seven miles of white sand splendour, which is free to all visitors.
    "Keeping the beach clean is very important. It is the responsibility of shop owners to clean in front of their business areas," Loney told the Sunday Observer.

"We are also stepping up our work through public education. We want to get the people to realise the importance of complying with the rules and regulations. In the old days, people usually build without thinking. Now, with stricter rules and regulations, they have to send in their plans and have discussions with us."

Reynolds pointed out that they also attend community meetings and other events to talk to residents about safety. "I believe people are becoming more conscious of their environment. The more we educate people, the better. Also, visitors have high expectations of Negril as the water is of high quality and they are able to enjoy themselves whenever they visit.

Through our work, we want to keep it that way," the secretary manager said.
    "We are happy that for the most part, people are beginning to understand why the guidelines are important because that will make the Negril area more lasting and bring better business for them."
    Last edited by Karl; September 9, 2007, 11:58 AM.

Beaches? LOL If yuh cyaan
    afford yuh own beach down di road, ah juss river yuh haffi go deal wid. Memba mi tell yuh dat.

Rivers are probably in more danger and more polluted...soon all you can do is take a shower...maybe.

Agree

Funni im a pint pan mangrove stump...fram mi used-tuh guh a Negril wen mi a bwoy innah di '50s an so-suh sand road and dut road mi did a si mangrove tree stump pan di beach???

mussa did a erode-shan fram lang time???/

Doesn't 'look' like mangrove to me...Karl, yu good!