Assasin: I put this before Willi years ago...and, then you -
What do we produce?
Where are the markets that our private sector target...and, get products into?
What standard of living do our people aspire to?
What is the size of our population?
-------
If we do not dramatically increase quantity and quality of the goods and services we can sell outside of the island...
...and, 'export' our people (sell our skills)...
...we will be going nowhere!
The market on the island is too small...the Caricom market is too small...to provide the sort of earnigs we aspire to bring home!
As I said, yeeeeeeeeears ago - the local mantra must be to the rest of the world - "mek wi tek weh yuh money"! ...i.e. provide goods and services such that the World will shop/buy from us.
Wah mi di seh...an ave been sayin bout Robert Lightbourne and his
screw-driver industries policy...value added export aimed ...and also for local consumption? Dat dere man ave sense!
Wah mi did seh bout Michael Manley - 'tun yuh hand mek fashion' produce as much as can be substituted instead of importing... Dat deh man ave sense!
...by the way, not long ago I mentioned our tourism product was in fact - EXPORT MARKET based i.e. just another product we sell to the World....sell in the World's marketplace. It all comes down to 'looking outwards' for money to take home.
...ooooh! In all of this I said our private sector is just 'bunch of failures'...constantly begging for Government handout - lower taxes, low interest funds, moratoriums, etc. - what the hell has that sector ever produced in quantities that we can look towards foreign exhange surpluses/strong foreign exchange inflows? Failures and beggers! ...excellent at papering over inefficiences by merely adding %age increases in margins!
Yuh memba earing mi seh dat...all of the above...before?
...an a dat sector Bruce a guh luk tuh fi 'drive' di economy?
Well we'll see!
What do we produce?
Where are the markets that our private sector target...and, get products into?
What standard of living do our people aspire to?
What is the size of our population?
-------
If we do not dramatically increase quantity and quality of the goods and services we can sell outside of the island...
...and, 'export' our people (sell our skills)...
...we will be going nowhere!
The market on the island is too small...the Caricom market is too small...to provide the sort of earnigs we aspire to bring home!
As I said, yeeeeeeeeears ago - the local mantra must be to the rest of the world - "mek wi tek weh yuh money"! ...i.e. provide goods and services such that the World will shop/buy from us.
Wah mi di seh...an ave been sayin bout Robert Lightbourne and his
screw-driver industries policy...value added export aimed ...and also for local consumption? Dat dere man ave sense!
Wah mi did seh bout Michael Manley - 'tun yuh hand mek fashion' produce as much as can be substituted instead of importing... Dat deh man ave sense!
...by the way, not long ago I mentioned our tourism product was in fact - EXPORT MARKET based i.e. just another product we sell to the World....sell in the World's marketplace. It all comes down to 'looking outwards' for money to take home.
...ooooh! In all of this I said our private sector is just 'bunch of failures'...constantly begging for Government handout - lower taxes, low interest funds, moratoriums, etc. - what the hell has that sector ever produced in quantities that we can look towards foreign exhange surpluses/strong foreign exchange inflows? Failures and beggers! ...excellent at papering over inefficiences by merely adding %age increases in margins!
Yuh memba earing mi seh dat...all of the above...before?
...an a dat sector Bruce a guh luk tuh fi 'drive' di economy?
Well we'll see!