• US Congress Passes Caribbean Educational Exchange Bill

US Congress Passes Caribbean Educational Exchange Bill

info by

Leo Chambers

WASHINGTON (CMC) – The United States’ House of Representatives has passed a bill that seeks to fortify educational exchanges between the Caribbean and the United States. The bill, known as the Shirley A. Chisholm US-Caribbean Educational Exchange Act of 2007, was passed on July 31, by a margin of 371 to 55 votes.

Introduced by California Democratic Representative Barbara Lee, the bill would create “a system” for Caribbean Community (CARICOM) students to study in the United States.

It would also implement a plan for, among other things, the enhancement of teacher training and primary and secondary education development in CARICOM-member states.

“This bill will establish a mutually beneficial educational exchange between the United States and the Caribbean,” Lee said after its passage. “And, it is an important step towards strengthening our relationship with our neighbors,” she added.

The bill’s passage comes on the heels of last month’s agreement between US President George W. Bush and CARICOM leaders, during their summit, in Washington, on increased cooperation in education and workplace training.

“We commit to strengthen teacher training by expanding the Caribbean Centers of Excellence,” they said in the joint communiqué. “We also commit to strengthen human capacity in the Caribbean to meet the demands of a 21st century employment environment, through partnering with academic institutions and non-governmental groups, as well as through skills training for youth via the Entra-21 program,” it added.

The late Shirley Chisholm, the daughter of Barbadian and Guyanese parents, was the first Caribbean American to be elected to the United States Congress. She became the first representative for the predominantly Caribbean, 11th Congressional District in Brooklyn, when she was elected in the late 1960s. That seat is now held by another Caribbean American Congresswoman, Yvette D. Clarke, whose parents are Jamaican immigrants.

Lee, considered a “champion of Caribbean issues,” worked on Chisholm’s futile US presidential campaign in 1972. She was also instrumental in getting Congress to declare the month of June “Caribbean American Heritage Month”, which was celebrated in the United States for the second time this year.

--------------------------------------------
    Damian Williams top-class achiever at Harvard, Yale

Damian Williams

It's refreshing to hear of persons with Jamaican heritage doing well in other parts of the world. Andre Damian Williams is one of those persons.
    His academic achievements are outstanding and now he is all set to pursue clerkships with the highest courts in the United States.
    Jamaican-born parents Hailing from Decatur, Atlanta, Williams is the son of Jamaican-born parents Andre Williams Sr. and Monica Williams (née Smith). His father is a well-known obstetrician and gynecologist; his mother is the owner and director of Decatur's Alpha Academy Day Care. Both of them are high achievers themselves, a trait they evidently passed down to their son.

Well this is good ; The US did it
    for Asia and we now see the fruits. Finally they are going to teach us how to fish. I am happy because as far as I'm concerned Uwi, CAST and NCU nedd to be closed. These teritry institutions serve no purpose in JA (picking parents pockets). I will say more on this in another post. The events leading up to Spet.3 2007 is true testament to my argument. All students that need tertary education should come to the US to study.

good to see you and Mutty Perkins can agree on something. Lazie and Ben would be proud.

You really think I'm joking?
        I am very serious.

Well this is good ; The US did it
          I am happy because as far as I'm concerned Uwi, CAST and NCU nedd to be closed. These teritry institutions serve no purpose in JA (picking parents pockets).
          Totally agreed, schools like the american healhcare system are about profits!
          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Yup nature of this world: Our students
            will now know that nothing is free and time is money. They will start to think creatively. Hey the US did it for Asia. Now they will teach us how to fish. Once your mind is free, you will be able to create your own wealth.

no, there were some typos in my original post, I'm agreeing that UWI, UTECH, and NCU should be shut down as they are only in education for profits and nothing else.....mi know to much man wid degree from UWI whe only have dem as wallpappah!
              Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
              Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Well the US is going to help and
                fifteen years from now; when the new minds start to lead JA to prosperity, you can say a guy name Jawge told you of it. It may cut our
                100 years curse short, time alone will tell. Yuh nuh haffi tell mi bout dem schools, as I said events leading up to Sept.3 tell that these schools are wasting time.

Jawge we don't need to rush into anyone of those guys arms(China or the USA) they both have their agenda and there is something that they want from JA. Lets play both of them against each other and see how far they will both go to get what it is that they want.

The USA and Europe has Underdeveloped us for X amount of years and they kicked us to the side only to run back when China and Venezuela came bearing gifts. I say take the gifts from both sides and play one against the other so that they can both give more to win us.

Why show our hands Jawge and pick when we can get the fruits of them both? The US is not in a position to come down heavy on Jamaica when Venezuela and China are waiting to strike.

People saying Jamaica should thread carefully and walk on egg shells don't really know who we are.

We are the children of the Rastaman... Bob Marley
                  Okay big and serious we are the children of israel who possess the WORD and that word is so powerful they need to control it.

Memba say a the WORD free Africa. It was the WORD coming from Garvey and through Tosh, Marley and them that gave the people dem the will to get up stand up and fight after Christianity had them turning the other cheek.

why unnu think dem have to fight reggae so hard? Reggae is nothing but psalm put to music so unnu see why Garnett Silk was so powerful now.

All a dem want to control the WORD but the WORD is with him and the WORD is him(a wah do some people man?)

Big and serious unnu see mi fellow Prophet bout the place? Mi brethrin Phinn from when mi a look fi him and can't find him

sevens mi deh yah a work offa trust mi

respect

Originally posted by Shatta View Post
                    Jawge we don't need to rush into anyone of those guys arms(China or the USA) they both have their agenda and there is something that they want from JA. Lets play both of them against each other and see how far they will both go to get what it is that they want.

The USA and Europe has Underdeveloped us for X amount of years and they kicked us to the side only to run back when China and Venezuela came bearing gifts. I say take the gifts from both sides and play one against the other so that they can both give more to win us.

Why show our hands Jawge and pick when we can get the fruits of them both? The US is not in a position to come down heavy on Jamaica when Venezuela and China are waiting to strike.

People saying Jamaica should thread carefully and walk on egg shells don't really know who we are.

We are the children of the Rastaman... Bob Marley
                    Okay big and serious we are the children of israel who possess the WORD and that word is so powerful they need to control it.

Memba say a the WORD free Africa. It was the WORD coming from Garvey and through Tosh, Marley and them that gave the people dem the will to get up stand up and fight after Christianity had them turning the other cheek.

why unnu think dem have to fight reggae so hard? Reggae is nothing but psalm put to music so unnu see why Garnett Silk was so powerful now.

All a dem want to control the WORD but the WORD is with him and the WORD is him(a wah do some people man?)

Big and serious unnu see mi fellow Prophet bout the place? Mi brethrin Phinn from when mi a look fi him and can't find him

sevens mi deh yah a work offa trust mi

respect

Bredrrin, when Yuh start chat like this,....how can I disagree!

The playing off argument is one that I have subscribed to since 1993. A Welshman who LOVES the Cariibean once told me to play them all off against each other so we would benefit. He said even England we must play off like they played us.His heart was West Indian!!!

Trust me, we have some unlikely friends out there.

You can't be serious.

How long now you been reading Jawges posts?

Trust me, him serious, and him think him educating us in the process too!!

I am happy because as far as I'm concerned Uwi, CAST and NCU nedd to be closed.
                          A comment like this is a demonstration of the utter ignorance of the writer. How can you make such a statement and keep a straight face Jawge?

I have known some very good professionals turned out by both the UWI, and UTECH (formerly CAST). I have not known anyone from NCU as it became a university after I left Jamaica. I would not undermine these institutions however for not providing the type of training our country needs. My only problem is that they may not be creating enough opportunities for young people.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

nonsense. i don't need to say more.

Where were you educated, Jawge?