• China pumping money into jamaica...

Ja, China to forge new financial pact

Wednesday, September 05, 2007

Top executives from the Development Bank of Jamaica (DBJ) has set off for China today to sign a deal that is expected to provide funding from the China Development Bank (CDB).

DBJ managing director, Milverton Reynolds, who is making the trip with the firm's company secretary, Wayne Whittingham, said the agreement held "huge benefits, not only for the Development Bank of Jamaica as an institution but also for Jamaica as a whole".

The development financial agreement, as it is called, with CDB, will allow co-operation on issues such as direct lending, project financing, staff exchange and training, information sharing, lines of credit management and other business cooperation.

The CDB was established in March 1994 to provide development oriented finance for government projects of national priority in areas such as infrastructure, basic industries, energy and transportation.

Its main objective as a state financial institution is to support the macroeconomic policies of the central government and to support national economic development and strategic structural changes in the economy.

In 2006, the CDB had an asset base of US$306 billion and a loan portfolio of US$267 billion. With net profits of US$3.7 billion, it is the most profitable bank in China, and the second most profitable in Asia.

While there, the senior officers of the state-owned financing institution will also participate in the China-Caribbean Economic and Trade Co-operation Forum 2007 from September 6-15 in Xiamen, on the south-eastern coast of China.

There, the DBJ team will hold talks with Chinese business persons and other Caribbean and Caricom leaders taking part in the forum.

Originally posted by Pepsi View Post
    Ja, China to forge new financial pact

Wednesday, September 05, 2007

Top executives from the Development Bank of Jamaica (DBJ) has set off for China today to sign a deal that is expected to provide funding from the China Development Bank (CDB).

DBJ managing director, Milverton Reynolds, who is making the trip with the firm's company secretary, Wayne Whittingham, said the agreement held "huge benefits, not only for the Development Bank of Jamaica as an institution but also for Jamaica as a whole".

The development financial agreement, as it is called, with CDB, will allow co-operation on issues such as direct lending, project financing, staff exchange and training, information sharing, lines of credit management and other business cooperation.

The CDB was established in March 1994 to provide development oriented finance for government projects of national priority in areas such as infrastructure, basic industries, energy and transportation.

Its main objective as a state financial institution is to support the macroeconomic policies of the central government and to support national economic development and strategic structural changes in the economy.

In 2006, the CDB had an asset base of US$306 billion and a loan portfolio of US$267 billion. With net profits of US$3.7 billion, it is the most profitable bank in China, and the second most profitable in Asia.

While there, the senior officers of the state-owned financing institution will also participate in the China-Caribbean Economic and Trade Co-operation Forum 2007 from September 6-15 in Xiamen, on the south-eastern coast of China.

There, the DBJ team will hold talks with Chinese business persons and other Caribbean and Caricom leaders taking part in the forum.
    republic of Ireland got some support from the United States,is the a sign of things to come.

i think that the expression was "by the power of GREY skull"

yea yu right,a long time stil.

Well I always wonedred why the JLP
          was silent on the cockpit country issue, well now I know. We are far behind on the education curve: we have no experts in history nor political science, hence we seem destined to a life of instability. Let's see how the Empire to our north looks on us selling strategic material to a rising power in Asia. Ah well only the general populace will suffer anyway.

Well I always wonedred why the JLP
            was silent on the cockpit country issue, well now I know. We are far behind on the education curve: we have no experts in history nor political science, hence we seem destined to a life of instability. Let's see how the Empire to our north looks on us selling strategic material to a rising power in Asia. Ah well only the general populace will suffer anyway.
            well the empire to the North have done very little for us lately,Spain is now the # 1 investor in jamaica,and the chinese see potential in Jamaica,this is not the cold war era,so jamaica is on its own.Africa is selling raw material to China what can the empire to the north do? ,heard that alot of chinese are in Jamaica now,they are observing everything and within the next three yrs they will have a foothold(investment)in Ja.Who knows maybe spain lilli money is just a quarter to dem..weh me seh ...HUB!

I hope the US stop selling bonds to China, as well as pull investments out of China.....by your logics
              Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
              Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
                I hope the US stop selling bonds to China, as well as pull investments out of China.....by your logics
                they cannot do that,it's all about globalization.

notice the "by your logics" part....it was a sarcastic post
                  Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                  Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
                    notice the "by your logics" part....it was a sarcastic post
                    ok yuttie,thanks to highlight.

I asked a question a few posts ago, I'm assuming yo missed it

Are you Haitian?

My apologies; I now come to know that
                        the US is weak and China is strong (because they hold most US bonds). Research and see who gave China the technology they now have and who made them wealthy (to a point). It's okay China can now take over seeing that they were already in position; Spain's money is ckicken feed (when yuh young yuh juss young. ah same way nuff man ketch young girls)

Quick question: Are the African nations living a life of stability? The sooner the senate pass the bill (and Prez sign off on it) the better for this region.

why yuh seh dat?

occasional you type with a foreign tongue

Jawge(?) I think you know the answer to that.No,they are not stable.