Director of Elections receives death threats

Needless to say, Walker should not be threatened for doing his job, no matter how bad we think he did it.

That being said, if some people believe he made errors or stepped beyond his constitutional bounds in the way he carried out his duties, citizens must feel free to say so. Critics like me will always condemn death threats, but that will not deter me from making what I consider to be reasonable criticisms of Walker or anyone else.

Yu a callman hog now? Nice.

talk about almshouse.....all i did was repeat a well known jamaican saying....since you want to go down that very literal route...were any stones thrown?

Well said.

But Mo a nuh now Walker not doing a great job but the PNP stomach him.

Walker is a signal of the last government, have mediocre performer in jobs and keeping them for long time.

Can you tell me when did Walker do a great job? The PNP wouldn't do anything when the JLP complained about him even when some of the complains were valid, but not the incompetence come to bite them in the arse. Walker job over the years have been there to see, half finished jobs right through.

Sass, why did Seaga have a problem with Walker and wanted him removed? I can't remember the issue so please remind me.

I have two issues with Walker, one somewhat unsubstantiated. When he maintained that all the candidates were properly nominated, I think he may have erred. Maybe according to his book of "things to do on nomination day", then everything went well, but certainly, if it is true that some candidates are illegal, then he messed up. He has been in charge of the elections for donkey years now and there should be some mechanism in place to ensure that citizens of other countries are barred from nomination.

Then his choice of words on election night that "we have waited long enuff for the election" - he passed his place on that one. It's not for him to opine whether the PM took too long to call the election or not. His job is to sit there until it's called and then go to work. Simple!

Are these things unforgiveable? Of course they are, but his Knightlike arrogance does not help.

And, not connected to his job as chief election officer, he seemed to have messed up big in the reconstruction of homes for people wiped out by Ivan.

Well, if Walker as you say is a PNP relic, a non-performer who has stuck around for too long, and someone Seaga wanted removed from long time, then Bruce should have no problem giving him the pink slip. Then we'll all be happy!

Yay!

Just cool no Gamma..how yu so bringle this morning? Since yui a deal with Jamaican sayings, check this one:
                "Rock stone a river bottom, no know hot sun!"

Add - not getting appropriate security in political hotspots DESPITE insisting there would be.

awright sah...a dat mi a look fah...

don't forget "betta fowl seh him come si dawg dead dan dawg seh him come si fowl dead"

If I remember correctly it had to do with the promised electronic voting and the fact that is wasn't delivered.

Every election I hear story of so many people left off voters list etc. I don't know which party or what he stands for but if you look at all the complaint over the years I don't think he did a good job.

There is no reason why all this foul up when I hear so many people called in months before the election talking about people been left off the voters list and both parties confirmed this.

Seaga blasts Walker - For decision to postpone demonstration of voting equipment

Seaga and Walker
                        </B>
                        LEADER OF the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), Edward Seaga yesterday blasted Director of Elections, Danville Walker for his decision to postpone the demonstration of the electronic voting equipment, scheduled for September 7.
                        Mr. Seaga charged that Mr. Walker had acted without authority as no member of the Electoral Advisory Committee (EAC) had instructed him to put off the demonstration.
                        He said Mr. Walker had been given "joint instructions by Ryan Peralto, the JLP's representative and Maxine Henry Wilson, the PNP's representative on the EAC to invite the overseas parties to the September 7 demonstration.
                        The Opposition Leader said that Mr. Walker, by acting unilaterally, was doing so without the authority of the EAC which employs him to carry out its instructions.
                        "My member on the EAC said he had no discussions with prior to the decision being taken and if he has acted on the basis of discussions with Mrs Henry Wilson only, the situation would be even worse," Mr. Seaga told The Gleaner.
                        Mrs. Henry Wilson could not be reached for comment but Mr. Walker last night defended his decision to postpone the demonstration. He said the EAC currently has no independent members and therefore cannot form a quorum. "So if you have no EAC, then it is academic that the demonstrations have to be cancelled," he said.
                        Yesterday The Gleaner reported that the planned demonstration was put off because of the controversy surrounding the composition of the EAC. The last set of independent members -- attorney-at-law William Chin See, Q.C., chairman; company director Corinne McLarty, and Professor Gerald Lalor, scientist, and a former Pro Vice Chancellor of the UWI, Mona have not been reappointed because of a disagreement between the JLP and the People's National Party (PNP).
                        The PNP wants to retain the three persons, while the JLP wants a new slate of representatives. The matter has been referred to Governor General Sir Howrad Cooke who will appoint the independent members after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.
                        In the meantime, the three vendors who are from the United States and France have been asked to delay their trip while the issue is sorted out.
                        Mr. Walker, last night, also dismissed suggestions by Mr. Seaga that he has an obligation to carry out the instructions of the EAC. "I am not employed by the EAC. I am appointed by the Governor-General. Also, I do not take instructions, from the EAC...the legislation clearly states that."
                        The Representation of the Peoples Act. Section 5 notes that the EAC shall be responsible for advising the Director on the performance of his functions. Its adds that "where the Director refuses to follow any advice or recommendation of the Committee (EAC), he shall report the matter to Parliament within 14 days of such refusal."
                        But Mr. Seaga also used the occasion to launch an assault on the performance of Mr. Walker's on the job.
                        "It has long been our complaint on the EAC that Mr. Walker does not readily take instructions and this has been one of the main causes of the breakdown in the electoral system," the JLP leader said.
                        He said that in 1997 Mr. Walker failed to carry out instructions to include everybody on the voters list despite the state of their fingerprint data. This failure to follow instructions, he said, resulted in many JLP voters being left off the voters list, thereby causing the party to lose a number of marginal seats. "Mr. Walker's tendency to run wild with the electoral system is one of the reasons why a stronger team of selected members must now be named to ensure and insist on the instruction of the EAC being implemented at all times," he said.

okay, yuh mekking up 5#it now!

si god deh....that is a jamaican saying!

The Opposition Leader said that Mr. Walker, by acting unilaterally, was doing so without the authority of the EAC which employs him to carry out its instructions.

Mr. Walker, last night, also dismissed suggestions by Mr. Seaga that he has an obligation to carry out the instructions of the EAC. "I am not employed by the EAC. I am appointed by the Governor-General. Also, I do not take instructions, from the EAC...the legislation clearly states that."
                              The Representation of the Peoples Act. Section 5 notes that the EAC shall be responsible for advising the Director on the performance of his functions. Its adds that "where the Director refuses to follow any advice or recommendation of the Committee (EAC), he shall report the matter to Parliament within 14 days of such refusal."
                              But Mr. Seaga also used the occasion to launch an assault on the performance of Mr. Walker's on the job.
                              "It has long been our complaint on the EAC that Mr. Walker does not readily take instructions and this has been one of the main causes of the breakdown in the electoral system," the JLP leader said.
                              He said that in 1997 Mr. Walker failed to carry out instructions to include everybody on the voters list despite the state of their fingerprint data. This failure to follow instructions, he said, resulted in many JLP voters being left off the voters list, thereby causing the party to lose a number of marginal seats. "Mr. Walker's tendency to run wild with the electoral system is one of the reasons why a stronger team of selected members must now be named to ensure and insist on the instruction of the EAC being implemented at all times," he said.
                              Seems to me like Seaga had a point. I was not aware of this. And the point that "he doesn't readily take instruction" (read boasy), seems to have some validity.

RJR News has been informed that the Police High Command has thrown a security net around Director of Elections, Danville Walker following reports of threats on his life.

At the same time, venomous characterizations of Mr. Walker are being e-mailed to news rooms, by persons who are angry at developments in the tight South St. James race.

A police source confirmed Thursday afternoon that extra security has been placed around Mr. Walker following reports that he has been accused of bias surrounding his role in the recent official count currently underway.
                                The source cited comments attributed this week to Mr. Walker specifically related to the seat count for South St. James.

It is understood that Mr. Walker was accused of being biased after news broke that the seat had been taken away from the PNP's Derrick Kellier and awarded to the JLP's Noel Donaldson.

Following Monday's General Election, the Electoral Office of Jamaica reported that Mr. Kellier had won the seat.

Within hours, news came that Mr. Donaldson had won the seat after it was reportedly found that one a box had not been counted.

However Mr. Donaldson's victory was short-lived as the official count reflected a win for Mr. Kellier.

In the meantime, RJR news has obtained an e-mail containing uncomplimentary statements about Mr. Walker.

Official sources believe that this is an orchestrated attack on the Director of Elections.
                                Orchestrated attack on the Dorector of Elections? ...by whom?
                                The inference here is...?

---

I remember when the Contractor-General Christie was in his ackee and KD Knight among others questioned him, I defended KD Knight, not on his method of attacks on Christie, but on his right to question Christie - Lazie and those opposed to the PNP 'murdered me'.

My point is the same I am going to use against the Director of Elections - These persons appointed to be watch-dogs on our behalf must be our servants and including in being our servants must be being answerable to questioning of there actions. If it were not so the possibility exsist that our watch-dogs could eventually become (king)dogs at our gates.

From which direction will checks and balance come? ...or, are we saying, if there ever arises one or a number of these watch-dogs either singly or in collusion favour one point of view or another because the role they were contracted to carry out is labeled 'watch-dog' - the open baises, thus corrupt use of the office or offices and corruption should be accepted?

man an man need to be consistent and fair!

Not one of our servants must be held as 'demi-god'...each and everyone must be answerable to the individual citizen.

Aside: It would be good if the JLP goes over all areas of government where there may have been corruption and or 'tiefin'....who must guh a jail, guh a jail.

The above actions would set in place the thought process that says - when the PNP comes into office next, similar probing shall occur. That should limit instances of corruption thereafter...act as handcuff for each succeeding set of our servants.