Director of Elections receives death threats

• Director of Elections receives death threats

RJR News has been informed that the Police High Command has thrown a security net around Director of Elections, Danville Walker following reports of threats on his life.

At the same time, venomous characterizations of Mr. Walker are being e-mailed to news rooms, by persons who are angry at developments in the tight South St. James race.

A police source confirmed Thursday afternoon that extra security has been placed around Mr. Walker following reports that he has been accused of bias surrounding his role in the recent official count currently underway.
    The source cited comments attributed this week to Mr. Walker specifically related to the seat count for South St. James.

It is understood that Mr. Walker was accused of being biased after news broke that the seat had been taken away from the PNP's Derrick Kellier and awarded to the JLP's Noel Donaldson.

Following Monday's General Election, the Electoral Office of Jamaica reported that Mr. Kellier had won the seat.

Within hours, news came that Mr. Donaldson had won the seat after it was reportedly found that one a box had not been counted.

However Mr. Donaldson's victory was short-lived as the official count reflected a win for Mr. Kellier.

In the meantime, RJR news has obtained an e-mail containing uncomplimentary statements about Mr. Walker.

Official sources believe that this is an orchestrated attack on the Director of Elections.

Surprise! Surprise! Just heard on the news here that boxes from a Manchester Constituency were transeferred to Kingston for recounting? Is this normal practice?
    Walker has been a joke. Nothing was done to protect voters in potentially dangerous constituencies. There were just not enough mobile EOJ officials to monitor the situation. The police were incapable or deliberately absent. Soldiers were few and far between. I must say some people did their home work well..they new exactly whcih PD's to suppress the vote (intimidation, threats), which PD's not to have police....

Originally posted by Exile View Post
      Surprise! Surprise! Just heard on the news here that boxes from a Manchester Constituency were transeferred to Kingston for recounting? Is this normal practice?
      Walker has been a joke. Nothing was done to protect voters in potentially dangerous constituencies. There were just not enough mobile EOJ officials to monitor the situation. The police were incapable or deliberately absent. Soldiers were few and far between. I must say some people did their home work well..they new exactly whcih PD's to suppress the vote (intimidation, threats), which PD's not to have police....

You people are amazing ... damn!!

You people????? No bother with the labelling ting mi yout....jus' deal with the issues.

The boxes from ALL the close constituencies (4 in all) were transferred to Kingston HQ for counting. Old news that.

it seems that all are agreed that he deserves to receive death threats. i'm sure he's getting it from both parties too!

You people????? No bother with the labelling ting mi yout....jus' deal with the issues.
              After reading the article what impression you think your response gives? Since yuh might miss it, its as if you're JUSTIFYING THE THREATS!

Amazingly, when PNP was winning unuh never have no problem with him, but because unuh party lose .... now everybody have wha fi complain bout. IS that issue enough for you?

Surprise? Surprise! Almost everybody in JA get death threats. It IS a violent society! Do you think I was justifying the theats? Done with this group thing and the unuh business. I speak of what I KNOW, what I SEE and what I EXPERIENCE. I don't talk off the top of my head. I am no blind party supporter, I an NOT a member of any party BUT I support what is right and fair and true. Put that in your green pipe and smoke it!

You still haven't answered the question Willi...regardless if it's 'old news'. Is that normal practice? Just asking.

Gamma...you know betta than that...don't bother with the almshouse. How do we know that this is true anyway? Anyhow, he should take them seriously(if he did get them) since most threats are carried out in Jamaica.

Surprise? Surprise! Almost everybody in JA get death threats. It IS a violent society! Do you think I was justifying the theats? Done with this group thing and the unuh business. I speak of what I KNOW, what I SEE and what I EXPERIENCE. I don't talk off the top of my head. I am no blind party supporter, I an NOT a member of any party BUT I support what is right and fair and true. Put that in your green pipe and smoke it!
                      Di you audition to be a member of the group called the Spinners? After an article about Danville getting death threats, what was your response? Wait ...

After the results came in who won the election, what was your reaction?

Half the story has not been told....Clarendon people deserve what they get...they will continue to live in poverty, rural degradation, 'Big-man' politics, migration, no development and wait for...

Gwaan audition Exile.

An what is WRONG with those reponses Lazie? These are MY views based on what I see going on.
                        Anyhow....you should be the lead singer!
                        Actually Spinners is one of my favourite groups....

perhaps it is almshouse but how is it different from the other almshouse taking place? THAT was the point of my post.....thanks for highlighting it...

it has been reported to the police....as per the article why should we not believe that it is true until proven to the contrary? as you say it is a serious something!!!

You people?!? Is who dat?

i suppose when smaddy fling stone inna hog pen any one whey bawl out is dem get lick?!!