...a well-known politician said election run by "...money, machine and man". That is so true..and he proved it by winning handsomely....all this talk about the 'voice of the people' is pure crap. All the machinations of the EOJ and others make Forbes Burnham look like a saint....
Shatta..you have your finger on the pulse...
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostA whey you feel like, Exile? You were only on the ground, living the experience. Lazie, on the other hand, is by his Internet. Clearly, he knows more than you!"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
I am sick of the hogwash that is passed off here as knowledge and know-how, psuedo-intellectual crap across continents and the region, "know-it-all' arm-chair critics and philosophers, brand-name economic experts and financial gurus who have no clue what desperation is - when there's no food, no shelter, no hope - except what can be scavenged from the political tribes, the so-called leaders who take young men with potential to do their dirty work, nastyness.
How do I feel Mosiah you ask? I feel the bile rise from my gut. I feel it for the hopeless, hapless youths and women who weep openly, many without a vote, without any clear opportunity or future, without anyone to help to pull them from their life of dependency full-time mendicants....
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostLazie soon get back to yuh. Him computer running slow."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Exile respect fi openly backing an exile like yours truly(Mosiah you proud of dah one deh a lie?) However I must say that my info comes from nuff of the ites dem off the site who link up offline with me from time to time and pass on bits and pieces of info and from there I piece it together.
Agree with you that the hopelesness of the youths and others who find themselves with limited or no opportunity to eeke out a living from the situation or better yet make a dollar out of 5 cents.
Boss what mi learn recently is that when people no have certain info then dem can't make "informed" decision and so when a one get certain blessings we have to use it as god intended us to use it or he will take it away.
People give to those who give to them and so you no really get from people if you heart badmind and I guess god intended it that way so that the good will rise. You have to spell it out for them exile and along the way be prepared to take insults and name calling(you back have fi broad) but in the end when you give them all the info then its up to them to make their decision on how they see things.
As mi granny used to say "who know better, do better"
I had a rude awakening to Jamaican politics this past April when after taking my time and money to fly to Jamaica on short order with a proposal that I know can work it seemed as if everyone who got it(and I sent it to EVERYONE) was more interested in who else got it.
No one and I mean none of them who were spouting off at the lip about the youths and the future of the country tried to make it happen.(well Seaga invited me to a meeting but it was too late and he said he would pass it on to Miss Babsy Grange who used to manage Shabba Ranks)
Either the proposal was wrong or no one cared so I kept talking to people like Sickko who would send on links and other people like Assasin who would give me more info on Jamaican politics and how things run(trust mi when I said I was beyond clueless) and based on the feedbacks I kept refining and refining my approach until it hit me that Assasin was right, I had to go and do it my damn self(self reliance)
I am saying all this to say that brethrin you know how head strong and tough head I was but in the end I learnt that one have to be open to LISTENING and learning from ANYONE and then and only then will a one see true growth.
It no really come from us it comes through us so we just have to let the light shine through. You really need humility first before true knowledge is received and nothing humbles you more than a child.(thats why dem say a child will lead them)
In fact it is true that you really aren't a man or woman until you have a child. Then and only then do you learn the meaning of the word patience as no matter what you a go through and who you want to tek it to wicked
When she wakes up crying at 4 am she doesn't care about your problems all she cares about is to be fed, changed and if she so desires played with no matter how you eye a shut down from lack of sleep.
So big man a the I dem grow mi and fi that mi ever grateful.
Exile what mi see right now is we need fi find a way fi have the politicians in a position where the info is presented to the populace about what can be done about their situation and the cost and so the politicians are then forced to answer why they aren't in support of such a measure.
I learnt from a friend of mine up here who have a diaspora group that nothing in Jamaica moves without the politicians and that for me to have any success in what I was proposing I had to be "presented" and taken in by someone or a group that was respected "Jamaican Awareness" diaspora group. I said oooh how foolish was I to run to Jamaica thinking I was going to get something done by going around the "order"
So now we need to establish our order and that order needs to be a higher one than theirs. We need to work offa GOD's order and that is "suffer the children to come onto me" as who can claim to love god and jesus and be seen as fighting youths? Thats why Jesus tell them that the children are the only way.
So now all we need is a few board members for the "cry fi the youths" foundation and instead of talking we will start working and the more we work the more we can draw attention to the plight of the youths in Jamaica.
Full time now we stop talk and start letting people "show their hand" as to where they truly stand when it comes to our future. We are at the crossroads and this is the time of decision....D Brown.
The formula I posted came from all of us and people I reason with offline so let me post it in a few. It needs some updating to take into consideration streaming content and youtube etc.(technology moves so fast these days that its already dated)
It is something that is already started all it needs is a few legalities here and there to get set up to start taking donations on the web.
Uncle Sam no play when it comes to him dollars so you have to come correct when you a deal with non profit entities.
respect
Puhhhlllleasssse. You are by no means alone. I was invited to Yard, on my own dime for a big meeting. Up to the mawning of the meeting they called me and told me to be ready. They were confirming. after somebody told the big man that I was green, the meeting was cancelled. But nobody told me. They told me to wait 15 minutes. After I called from across the street after waiting 3 hours, they said the big man was told by his doctor that he shouldnt have been working and should be on bed rest. So the man was going to be on bed rest for a long time. He had major heart trouble.
Anyway, later that night, my brethren, a bunch of lawyers, engineers, etc. took me out to a popular spot for middle aged business people. Nice music, good food, drinks, karaoke. a good time was being had, Suddenly a bredrin said, "no the big man that?" It was the big man at the bar with two of Ja's finest sisters. Imagine the heart problem he must have had to rahtid. My brethren laughed and said "that is a wicked bed rest him deh pon."
That story is told over and over by many people. It was not funny then but it surely is now. the man is a CC old boy. That grieved me even more. we have talked about him here, even recently. Funny, I had gone to meet with him about a lot of issues we have discussed here. Actually, I was invited, and eventually dissed.
So do not feel special. That is Ja for you."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"