I just watched the debate between Portia and Bruce

BT, I cam in late too and I agree with every word you said, except that she got cut off because she had the tendency to be like Karl( ), a lot of talk, saying nothing and taking forever to get to the point. Moreover, she tended either to deliberately evade or missed the salient parts of questions she was supposed to answer. For example, Bruce Golding had a chance to ask her a question and he asked her about the PNP being in power for almost two decades and they have less than 3% growth, murder rates more than triple, unemployment through the roof etc. How does she respond to the call for change considering she was a part of the PNP administration for the 18 years.

Portia only focused on what she has done since she has taken office as PM, mumbled some things about her manifesto and talked about her caring for people. She mentioned nothing in the important issues directed at her.

I left the debates thinking that it was obvious that Portia cannot think on her feet and whatever preparation she had for these debates were not adequate to allow her to deliver properly on the issues.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
      . The comparison was the pseudo elites of Haiti although to be fair this varandah crowd is nothing like that oh Haiti.
      haitian are treated better in montreal than jakans,because if you should look in the medical system up north,the nurses are mostly jamaicans while the Doctors if black,happen to be haitians.We do have some serious mental problem like what your canadian friend said .Thanx to our culture that's a little deragotary and can let anyone loose there cool head.

how yuh mean seh the debate was not sending out a resume?!!! it certainly was an interview to be watched by the jamaican people to see which canidate they want to run the country. if not what was it ? a hobby?

Karl, in all fairness, it was not just about looking good and talking pretty. Portia missed the boat on the delivery in a lot of situations. She tended to talk a mouthful, but not really saying anything important or addressing the issues at hand.

Karl, unlike you, I did not have a dog in the fight. I viewed the debate from a position of disinterest and arrived at my position based on her responses to questions.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Our resumes are much better written than our interviews.

Have you reread my post, then yours?

and?

portia looked better than bruce any day and twice as good on sundays...so "luks" was with portia...substance was with bruce!

ok then it wan't a resume...yuh right. it was an interview!

Karl, in all fairness, it was not just about looking good and talking pretty. Portia missed the boat on the delivery in a lot of situations. She tended to talk a mouthful, but not really saying anything important or addressing the issues at hand.

Karl, unlike you, I did not have a dog in the fight. I viewed the debate from a position of disinterest and arrived at my position based on her responses to questions.
                    Well I think I have always said, "Bruce won hands down"...so I have not a clue what you are talking about.

I spoke directly to Bricktop's post. ...and, alluded to Bricktop being taken with Bruce's use of the English Language as opposed to Portia's use of same. I think Bricktop said something about Portia could not "talk good" and being unable to pronounce a word or some words.

Hell...many of us make mispronunciations...maybe not as many as Portia...but, so what? As to English - hell I know I make a lot of mistakes and I know I see others here doing the exact same thing...so what? It is the content that is important.

One of our first writers - columns on this forum...constantly drew rave reviews from posters on content. What if we had thrown his well thought out and or extremely interesting articles in the trash? Good stuff would have gone to waste because of what --- silly being taken up with his use of English?

Hell I have seen some good articles written by persons in our Jamaica newspapers that leaves a lot to be desired where the use of the English Language is concerned. So what...? The thoughts expressed make for interesting reading and subsequent discourse.

I would like to see some of us in a building on fire and someone shouts FIYAH...and, those who have a problem with the language not being properly used...stand around debating same and speed up their departure from 'the now'? Am sure everyone here would say, what a fool-fool cl*&^%$t?!

Yes Karl. However Portia didn't have content either.

. Man bruce's flip flop answer was a classic it did come in like the audience did waan lick some finger shot inna di studio to rhattid.
                        Trus mi dat was a home run moment!

Yes Karl. However Portia didn't have content either.
                          Not sure on that!

Perhaps, now that you have had your 1st look and enjoyed. You could take a 2nd and a 3rd.

...and, you would see where she also had some good moments.

You can stop before the "mama is here..." or, whatever... My God, who told her to do that...and, or watched her practise that and did not say --- "Huh! What the hell you are trying to do, kill yourself"?

Karl come on you
                            know better. Nanny P should have nailed him right there; Bruce compared himself to Joshua. How on God's earth can Bruce walk even near Joshua in terms of Political leadership. Did Portia compare herself to any leader? No. Style mek fight and as I said Bruce was just more comfortable at the podium. Other than that talked a lot of nonsense. Bruce was stumped by the west Kgn question; his response was he had to join the gang culture to change it. Nanny P should hve killed there also. Karl do you really Think Joshua is a flip flop artist as how Bruce tried to portray him? The Jakan people deserves an apology. I will say it again Bruce is no debater.

Karl come on you
                              know better. Nanny P should have nailed him right there; Bruce compared himself to Joshua. How on God's earth can Bruce walk even near Joshua in terms of Political leadership. Did Portia compare herself to any leader? No. Style mek fight and as I said Bruce was just more comfortable at the podium. Other than that talked a lot of nonsense. Bruce was stumped by the west Kgn question; his response was he had to join the gang culture to change it. Nanny P should hve killed there also. Karl do you really Think Joshua is a flip flop artist as how Bruce tried to portray him? The Jakan people deserves an apology. I will say it again Bruce is no debater.

Jawge ... yuh acting like a ... as I said ...

I would like to see some of us in a building on fire and someone shouts FIYAH...and, those who have a problem with the language not being properly used...stand around debating same and speed up their departure from 'the now'? Am sure everyone here would say, what a fool-fool cl*&^%$t?!
                                Classic, Karl!! Bravo!