I just watched the debate between Portia and Bruce

• I just watched the debate between Portia and Bruce

Yeah I know I'm late but DAMN. How could they let Portia go out there and embarass the PNP like that? She looked like she was sedated. She did not get specific on anything unless you call "Mama P will balance the country and peoples lives at the same time" as getting specific. She mangled the english language dropping h's here and adding h's there. You mean to tell me she cannot prononunce the word "potable"? One ting though why IAN always a cut her off and nuh cut off Bruce . Man bruce's flip flop answer was a classic it did come in like the audience did waan lick some finger shot inna di studio to rhattid.

Was that the flip or the flop?

Cut off was due to the strict time limit for each response. She tended to take too long to make her point.

And how is "potable" pronounced?

This could get interesting!

She mangled the english language dropping h's here and adding h's there. You mean to tell me she cannot prononunce the word "potable"?

Bricktop: Do you really know what you have just said?

Cut off was due to the strict time limit for each response. She tended to take too long to make her point.
            In all fairness though him did have a quick trigger fi Portia cause Bruce did go over one time but him was so eloquent dat Ian was just a stare inna him face mesmerized at the answer and wasn't a look pon di watch. And Ian did all haffi gi portia some extra time after Bruce rebuttal after he admitted he cut her off before time. What a performance by Bruce. Clear, concise and he backed up his points well.

And how is "potable" pronounced?

This could get interesting!
              Well it's kinda hard to write a pronunciation but she said something to the effect of "poootable"

Hahahaha,

True, I recall the makeup time offered.

U are funny.

Bricktop: Do you really know what you have just said?
                  Yes Karl. She cannot speak. Call me whatever you want but in the really real world you are judged on appearance, grammar etc.

Pōtəbəl

ō as in bone, hollow
                    ə as in humbug, abut

From Webster's

The fact is many of our educated Jamaicans, even the verandah type, mispronounce a whole slew of words and spend their days making fun of those who they think are lesser then themselves. Only in Jamaica do I find people so ridiculously preoccupied. I have no problem recognising proper speech and enunciation, but I pity those who make a big deal about it and laud it over others. They need to get a life!

Be that as it may a resume with faulty grammar will be overlooked, bad speech in an interview will disqualify you etc. And this is not unique to Jamaica.

Agree 100%. A white Canadian friend of mine visited Jamaica and found these Jamaicans so obnoxious that after a while he just couldn't stomach them and to maintain his sanity he chose to par with the great unwashed. As a trained psychoanalyst he theorised that they have some serious mental problems. The comparison was the pseudo elites of Haiti although to be fair this varandah crowd is nothing like that oh Haiti.

Yes Karl. She cannot speak. Call me whatever you want but in the really real world you are judged on appearance, grammar etc.
                            Will call you by no name, boss.

...but, responding to your post on judgement above...

I'll say, more so by asses who overlook content in favour of hugging up 'luks'. Many a man and woman find self hooked to fine talking pretty trash - hooked on nice sound, but not so nice character and content!
                            Last edited by Karl; September 5, 2007, 02:00 PM.

Okay, but it helps none of us if we fail to try and look past those things every once in a while. Portia was not sending out a resume. If Bruce broke into Jamaican parlance we would not have a problem with it.

My problem with Portia is that she tried too hard to please the Out of Many One People people of Jamaica. To hell with them!