this might be just me....

• this might be just me....

but it seems that since the pnp lose...karl seems less prone to using ??????

Just have not been around for a while...and, when I am on I read and hold my piece.

Dun...made my comment that the PNP needs to regroup and begin immediately planning and working towards election 2012. In my mind, One term is too much for the JLP!

Start the campaign to remove them, NOW!

Bredren tek a deep breath... No one party should be in power for more than two consecutive terms, and the PNP had become like the republicans in the USA. They were out of touch, corrupt, wasteful, and did not have a clue about directing Jamaica's economy.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        Bredren tek a deep breath... No one party should be in power for more than two consecutive terms, and the PNP had become like the republicans in the USA. They were out of touch, corrupt, wasteful, and did not have a clue about directing Jamaica's economy.
        AMEN to that Hortikal. NO friggin PARTY deserve any 18 years in POWA!!

unless them can produce 10% growth and murder down by 80%.

So the central bank(Bank of Jamaica) will be privatised once the JLP gets in power. What does that mean for us? and is that significant?

Is the JLP manifesto available online?

wanted to see what the broohaa was about on the subject of education and what dem have in place for the youths and investments.

Weh di PNP manifesto deh

respect

it was.

Originally posted by Shatta View Post
                So the central bank(Bank of Jamaica) will be privatised once the JLP gets in power. What does that mean for us? and is that significant?

wanted to see what the broohaa was about on the subject of education and what dem have in place for the youths and investments.

Weh di PNP manifesto deh

respect
                JLP's manifesto and PNP's manifesto has gone missing from their site.

yuh a criticize BEFORE yuh read it?

Ah bwoy.

That betrays a pre-conceived notion.

Read BOTH if you want to see what they profess, even if you dont believe them.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                    The complete post when read shows contradictory statements. - No party should be in power for more than two consecutive terms do not sit well with the suggestion that corrupt, wasteful and did not have a clue about directing Jamaica's economy.

What would you say then if a party ...even this JLP party remains in power is not corrupt or wasteful and guides not just the economy but manages brilliantly for its next two terms? Vote it out of power?

...or, what if in its first term is takes corruption and wastefulness to heights never seen and leads the country down a ruinous path? Keep it for two terms?

I think whether in exuberance or in feeling of despair we need to keep our heads. Difficult...but, we need to remain rational.

Originally posted by Shatta View Post

Weh di PNP manifesto deh

respect
                      Back issues of the Jamaica newspapers will give you excerpts.

yuh a criticize BEFORE yuh read it?

Ah bwoy.

That betrays a pre-conceived notion.

Read BOTH if you want to see what they profess, even if you dont believe them.

Why don't you point out where I CRITICISE? I am sorry but Cornwall College isn't the best of schools on the Island so as a Georges man can you help me with my english as maybe my definition of Criticise and Pre-conceived are different from yours.

I humbly apologise for having pre-concevied notions before reading the manifestos and for criticizing

respect

Please accept my apologies

Karl,

He did say no MORE than 2 terms. Nothing in his post said it couldn't be less.

I must commend you on your mature responses Karl, even if we dont agree on everything. I guess I did not expect any less in any case.

Shatta,

The criticisms came in previous posts. In the one I responded to, I assumed you were continuing in the same vein. If not, then I am man enuff to apologise without hesitation.

As to schools, CC ah BIG school with a distinguished history and I would never seek to denigrate it any any fashion!!!

Anyway, read the darn things if you want to have a reference to judge these people by.

All I was doing was asking where it was? I try to stay abreast of the daily happenings in Jamaica and saw where both parties came out with Manifestos(the JLP came out with theirs first)

However I never got a chance to read them and I caught a letter or editoral in one of the online papers that made mention of the privatisation of the central bank.

Now anyone who have been on this site for any amount of time will know that the banking sector and money issues isn't my strong point as GaryD, BenJ and you Willi had(and still have) more knowledge than yours truly in that department and so thats why I ask questions.

The writer put forth a view that it will be detrimental to Jamaica and so before i get into debating that fact I need to know if in fact that is true.

I wouldn't want to be debating something that doesn't exists thats all.

Let me say that I don't know much about central bank policies to arrive at an informed decision about the effects of privatising or not on Jamaica's economy and money control

I read the Gleaner and have been trying to follow the clamp down on foreign exchange lending for some time now given our high cost of credit and also the whole Olint affair.(all of these were taking place under the PNP government so i want to understand more about how a private bank might operate in Jamaica etc. etc. Will it be like the Feds in the states who seems to have a lot of power over the economy unlike places like Jamaica)

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...business1.html

take for example this article, how will the privatisation of the bank affect all this? I don't want to get so caught up in the act of disagreeing about PNP or JLP to the detriment of not focusing on policies of both parties.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...business3.html

I respect Jawge views and don't agree with them all. I can respect his stance on Portia and you and Gamma's stance on change.

However I am still prone to the biasness of wanting to see something fresh and new and wanting to see Omar Davies finally go. I too feel like absolute power corrupts absolutely.

I want to see what plan Bruce have for foreign investment and if that means the diaspora will be overlooked for the Europeans or upper class Jamaicans in terms of investment tax breaks etc.

Jawge felt that Portia had something in store for us no matter how she handled the PNP and so I respect his views too

I see Bruce Goldings and Portia's connection to Tivoli and Portia's constituency and wonder when are we going to hold them to task on their family values and spiritual pronouncements?

The danger I see here is that unless we can agree to disagree then our nation will remain divided. We don't have to agree on all issues before we are able to debate.

That is a dangerous road to travel and so I know you all are debating the Shatta of old. I understand that as reputations die hard, however childbirth have a way of growing one up with the quickness. I see the traps from afar as you all are waiting for me to fall back on my old ways but like the Egyptian would say "Man know thyself" and you never really know yourself until like Garvey said "your back is against the wall"

I guess OJ wasn't the only one who thought I didn't have it in me to change, he was just the only one real enough to say so. OJ tell dem why you said that as dem no know say it no easy out there for a Black man in this system to have a child in a country that still owns you.

Such is life you live and learn