Anybody heard

• Anybody heard

That Portia Simpson Miller has dual citizenship with the US?

I was waiting to hear it here but no one brought it up..I heard this several weeks ago when the issue with the JLP candidates came up.

Apparently she aquired it as Errol is an American citizen so it comes thru marriage.

aaaahhhhhh aaaaaahhhhhhhh.

When you dig grave.....

I guess if the PNP win then Dr. Peter Phillips will be the new PM?

Not true.

You have to apply for US citizenship after living there for 5 years (in the case of Naturalization).

suh how shahine dem get it while living in JA?!! albeit allegedly get it. i think there may be exemptions and or exceptions.

You are correct Willi. You first need to a Green Card then you live permanently for 5 years (3 if you got the GC by marriage to a US Citiizen) then you become eligible for Citizenship.

Portia could have had her Green Card through her husband.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well,

I know from personal experience what the rules are, so....

Remember the movie GREEN CARD.

Also, I think people are mixing up Green cards with Naturalization.

If anyone wants to see the rules, just google any merican embassy site and you will see the regulations.

Thanks man.

I checked this out some years ago.

Not in every case.
                One case I know of personally if you acquired citizenship...your child under 18 can attain citizenship directly...no becoming a permanent resident and waiting 5 years before applying for citizenship.

...ofcourse the above, I think, would not apply to our 'grey back' politicians.

We were talking about marriage though....

Thanks for the info though.

What I know of that case, is that if the child is born abroad to just 1 US citizen, then that parent has to prove that they lived in the US for at least 4 years post 18 years old, whether born citizen or naturalized! This I know for sure.

Willi, ho yuh know summuch bout US residency and citizenship laws? Yuh planning to give up living in Switzerland and come home (to the US that is)?
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

No Baba.

Mi awright yasso. LoL

Yuh talking different suppen now Karl. If you had gotten married to your wife after becoming a citizen, she would first have to go through the GC, then period of residency (in that case 3 years) before they would give her citizenship. A minor child to a citizen is a different case.

That is true...and, that is why I added that our "grey back politicians" would not fall in what I stated.

well you would have to apply for it. Its not automatic..

Suh Portia have a GREEN CARD or not! Guess, if she lose she'll be taking one of Michael's famous "5 flights a day to Miami" Or them probably have more flights a day now.

Politics is a bitch!