Leadership in the wrong places

Education has gone backwards in the last 18 years.

It is the main reasons that I hear people giving for migrating.

Don’t even go there…are you trying to say that even with the record number of student now moving on tertiary level institution. With the advent of modern technology we have become duncer?

Wait a minute compare 10 out of 100 versus 150 out of 1000.

The PNP has rapidly increase access to education that there are more students in school that the school can accommodate. 17 New schools have been built in the pass 5 years alone and 18 more to come on-stream (currently being constructed).

Although HEART was started by the JLP...it has been significantly enhanced and develop...right now Had I not made it to University...I would have been in a HEART programme.

Any youth out there still complaining about lack of opportunity is what I would call LAZY. Stop whining and enroll in one of thse institutions then you will find that you can find opportuinies or creat your own.

Oh behave yourself. And don’t make wild comments. Lets us continue our discourse on the part that it was started. Don’t change course and get wild and make wild accusations.
    Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

Steeeupps.

I know what I see.

Look at the pass rates. Look at the crime in schools. Look at the discipline.
      If 5000 was in school last year and 5001 get in school next year, that is a record, but if the population growth is more.....

Stop playing games with numbers.

What Peter Phillips seh???

Steeeupps.

I know what I see.

Look at the pass rates. Look at the crime in schools. Look at the discipline.
        If 5000 was in school last year and 5001 get in school next year, that is a record, but if the population growth is more.....

Stop playing games with numbers.

What Peter Phillips seh???
        Have it ever occurred to you that our students perform poorly not because of the government, the school they attend, the teachers or the system but the students themselves. If some students would actually be focus, attend class and not be caught up in so many activities that plain and simply just don’t concern them, they would learn something. There are so many classic examples as to why students fail. The government is not the one telling a girl to chase after men rather than focus on school or the boy who is a chronic (no pun intended) loafer whose only focus is girls. It’s not the government fault why big men won’t stop chasing school girls promising them gifts and at the same time messing up their heads and their future. Certainly not the government telling a youth from the inner-city who have witness all of his friends or enemies who picked up the gun murdered, yet without recourse eagerly awaits his chance of dying via the same route. Don’t get me wrong, I lay some (operative word “some”) blame on the government but I am primarily against the way we think about what the government’s responsibilities are.
        Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

Too much corruption and tiefing a gwaan by people in auhtority. We are world class there too. LoL
          True but it does not require a change of political course or drastic de-stabilizing policy to remedy this...because make no mistake about it...the corruption in politics (society on a whole) is evenly distributed & cuts both ways.

There is no holier than thou party where this is concerned.

quantity does not equal quality...peter phillips himself seh dat wi graduating people who cannot even read and write....phillips seh suh!!!!

What a cop out.

What is the responsibility of Govt???

Big men having relationships with underage school girls??

Lock up dem backside for statutory rape and set an example.

But No, I forget the law is not a shackle!!!

Enforce the darn laws on the books.

Set example from the top and stop excusing "youthful exhuberance". Stop being "gangster for life".

Fish rots from the head.

What a cop out.

What is the responsibility of Govt???

Big men having relationships with underage school girls??

Lock up dem backside for statutory rape and set an example.

But No, I forget the law is not a shackle!!!

Enforce the darn laws on the books.

Set example from the top and stop excusing "youthful exhuberance". Stop being "gangster for life".

Fish rots from the head.
                I think I have mention somewhere earlier that base on both party's manifestos there is no substantial difference in their plans. In fact should the JLP win it will not be a change of course just changing political party. The topic of public sector reform has been addressed though not adequately. But if we should judge the current level of political reform we can see clear direction and intent by the current administration to improve on this...

For example:
                The passport office has improved on its efficiency, tremendously.
                Getting your drivers license is not as tedious as it once was.
                RGD has automated several processes (few kinks need to be ironed out). And you can pay online and don’t leave your home to collect.
                Filing tax can be done online.

Yes the level of bureaucracy still needs to improve blah blah blah etc. etc. Some of these are work in progress. So when if comes on to enforcing law and order which falls under public sector reform (they are public servants too). The process has started are you saying that should change… and if so change to what?

Damn right.

I worked in the financial sector in the late 1980s to early 1990s. The crash came from the loose mentary policy that started when Manley tried to get that US$400m debt forgiveness and acceded to the USAID conditions. In the end they only forgave $280m.

As I said before, dem people tek wi fi big head bud.

Dem fi try fool other people as my history and memory is long.
                  Like how you are now trying to fool people...stating one side of the story without admitting to the fact that this resulted in an effort to remedy the economic woes carried over from the 80's we were feeling the backlash in the mid 90's and have recovered...Now its full speed ahead.

Economic woes of the 1980s??

Hahahahahahahahahahah.

You are a real joker.

Read man!!! Late 1960s!!!!!!!

Who seh nutten bout 1960?

Steeeuuupppss.

Originally posted by Leunamme View Post
                        True but it does not require a change of political course or drastic de-stabilizing policy to remedy this...because make no mistake about it...the corruption in politics (society on a whole) is evenly distributed & cuts both ways.

There is no holier than thou party where this is concerned.
                        Cop out!

Only 1 party in power for the last 18 years.

I dont go on speculation, I go where the evidence takes me.

Nada, pero cuando se lo digo a mi primo, te vas a enterar!

You speak of the undeniability of the PNP's commitment to education (using historical references) and I merely showed you that Today's PNP is not the same as previous editions...for better or worse. Same for the JLP. Some of you are stuck in time! Same mistake Seaga made in 1989, thinking that the PNP was still marxist intentioned.

The PNP of Daddy Manley had vision and appplication. The PNP of the 1970s with its myriad of faults had visions but was a practical mess. PNP nowadays has no vision but at least is not a total practical mess. However, they dip in the coffers far more than in the 1970s. The PNP of the 1970s would never have been imposing all these health and Education fees while spending on cricket.

willi ...seems like you're having a battle of the wits with an unarmed man!

Originally posted by Leunamme View Post
                              I think I have mention somewhere earlier that base on both party's manifestos there is no substantial difference in their plans. In fact should the JLP win it will not be a change of course just changing political party. The topic of public sector reform has been addressed though not adequately. But if we should judge the current level of political reform we can see clear direction and intent by the current administration to improve on this...

For example:
                              The passport office has improved on its efficiency, tremendously.
                              Getting your drivers license is not as tedious as it once was.
                              RGD has automated several processes (few kinks need to be ironed out). And you can pay online and don’t leave your home to collect.
                              Filing tax can be done online.

Yes the level of bureaucracy still needs to improve blah blah blah etc. etc. Some of these are work in progress. So when if comes on to enforcing law and order which falls under public sector reform (they are public servants too). The process has started are you saying that should change… and if so change to what?
                              Change to better.

You confuse natural evolution with real substantial change. And what a price for the meagre changes we have seen!

I wonder why this gentleman believes as I do - Change of mindset? mi tired fi seh dat.

I would like to ask those who livve outside of Jamaica if they use such a mindset here? ...and if they do, why do so many hear not expect the same in Jamaica...or, should I say, for our own Jamaicans resident at home?