Leadership in the wrong places

First you need quality
    education to re-export with added value. From where I stand I just don't see art and craft doing the above. I could be wrong though.

you are right.....and after 18 years the quality education is where? what yuh seh...it's just 5 years away?

Education has gone backwards in the last 18 years.

It is the main reasons that I hear people giving for migrating.

So you are saying that education was at its
          best from 1980-89? Please explain, thanks.

is it at it's best now? thanks in advance.

Damn right.

I worked in the financial sector in the late 1980s to early 1990s. The crash came from the loose mentary policy that started when Manley tried to get that US$400m debt forgiveness and acceded to the USAID conditions. In the end they only forgave $280m.

As I said before, dem people tek wi fi big head bud.

Dem fi try fool other people as my history and memory is long.

Education was at its best from late 1960s to late 1980s.

Nothing to explain...look at the pass rates.

Well let willi answer the
                  question at hand then we will move to judging if we are a far cry from 53% illiteracy. Shall we?

The difference is that Japan RE-exports products that have added value which effectively means the value of their exports (I believe) outstrip the value of the imports. are we adding value? or just consuming what we import?

pr
                    We are consuming what we can produce...we just refuse to compete with how we produce them. Adding value or not I am not happy with the fact that the man in business doesn’t see it as important to improve on how they operate. Because of globalization it cannot be business as usual where you just a 'try a ting' and be satisfied with just making a profit. We need to build a thing.

About the net imports...maybe we should stop demanding cars and other stuff that we cannot add value to.

Point still remains while we may not be able to design and manufacture cars and compete globally...but guess what? Grace is competing, Cooyah is competing, Jamaica Broilers is competing, Jamaica Producers is competing, Lasco is competing, and even our athletes are competitive. Under the very same economic conditions these business are able to evolve and compete globally, others seem to fold their hands (or throw them up in the air), and complain. Like you are doing.

Point to the fact why we are not growing faster. What people chose to do with their business is entirely up to them. We are in a free economy. But I am sure had the other ordinary businesses taken the same approach to business like our fellow Jamaica counterparts you would have see the difference. My argument is Pro-Jamaica. Apart from my obvious political biases, I am looking beyond what the government has done (not done or fail to do) and focus more and what the people are not doing.

Listen to me the opportunity now exist for any business to become a world contender. Why can these other business in Jamaica do the same as a Grace or Lasco or Cooyah?

And if you tell me nothing about government policies that’s crap.
                    Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

Willi come on, I am going to
                      give you chance to come again. 1960 Willi? Please tell me you were typing too quickly. Thanks.

he has...over to you.

Jawge,

This present JLP is not the same as Busta's JLP as this present PNP is not Daddy Manley's party.

That is what you just dont seem to get.

Hell man, Seaga is supporting Portia!!!

and what does that have to
                            do with quality education may I ask?

Originally posted by leunamme View Post
                              We are consuming what we can produce...we just refuse to compete with how we produce them. Adding value or not I am not happy with the fact that the man in business doesn’t see it as important to improve on how they operate. Because of globalization it cannot be business as usual where you just a 'try a ting' and be satisfied with just making a profit. We need to build a thing.

About the net imports...maybe we should stop demanding cars and other stuff that we cannot add value to.

Point still remains while we may not be able to design and manufacture cars and compete globally...but guess what? Grace is competing, Cooyah is competing, Jamaica Broilers is competing, Jamaica Producers is competing, Lasco is competing, and even our athletes are competitive. Under the very same economic conditions these business are able to evolve and compete globally, others seem to fold their hands (or throw them up in the air), and complain. Like you are doing.

Point to the fact why we are not growing faster. What people chose to do with their business is entirely up to them. We are in a free economy. But I am sure had the other ordinary businesses taken the same approach to business like our fellow Jamaica counterparts you would have see the difference. My argument is Pro-Jamaica. Apart from my obvious political biases, I am looking beyond what the government has done (not done or fail to do) and focus more and what the people are not doing.

Listen to me the opportunity now exist for any business to become a world contender. Why can these other business in Jamaica do the same as a Grace or Lasco or Cooyah?

And if you tell me nothing about government policies that’s crap.
                              Too much corruption and tiefing a gwaan by people in auhtority. We are world class there too. LoL

so true.