Leadership in the wrong places

so who are Jamaica catching up with?

If you have 2% growth and you claim things booming, imagine what 6% growth in the Dominican Republic and Trinidad look like?

So let me ask you if the devaluation from 5-1 to 68 to 1 have had no effect on business? The high interest rate introduced by Omar Davis and the BOJ has no effect?

You are really pushing it to say these closures have had no real effect on the economy. Also the The huge debt have no effect on economy?

Who are these business who get 7%? The last time I went to the bank with a family member it was in the 20s and he has been doing business since the 1960s.
      Oh Please:
      5:1 was an inflated and fictitious figure base on a fictitious market (black market)...and remember your previous leader contributed to the conditions that led to a melt down in mid 90's. Or did you forget that famous "I did not remember about that loan" comment he made.

Plus we suffered greatly yes I personally suffered. But I was no fool to what it would have taken to get Stability in the economy the stability we are now experiencing. What you really think we would not have to suffer a bit to achieve this stability. And another thing about exchange rate that seem to elude everyone who complains. Exchange rate is equally good and bad, so there is no real harm. Japan exchange rate is 130:1. Yet Japan booms every time their currency devalues.

Let me see how well you can figure out why, and remember everything Japan produce, they have to import.
      Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

Japan is actually exporting so any devaluation help them. What are exporting? Importation don't help debt.

If policies were in place by the PNP, Seaga couldn't have borrowed without accountablitity. You still don't accept the fact that government policies have anything to do with this. How can you even start compare Japan with Ja? They have one of the most effective workforce and produce so many things for the world market, they don't have fiscal deficits and ofcourse they have free education.

How inflated was 5-1, certainly not 70-1. You trying to make a point that no figures can back you up and no international agency with any crediblity support what you are saying.

Originally posted by leunamme View Post
          Oh Please:
          5:. Japan exchange rate is 130:1. Yet Japan booms every time their currency devalues.

Let me see how well you can figure out why, and remember everything Japan produce, they have to import.
          not a expert when it comes to Japan,however japan currency was devalued after world war two,it took them yrs of dynamic economy growth for there Yen to be where it's at,and japan economy is at a all time low,thats not true what you said.My Friend stop defend government policies,r u sure u not Ms Gloudon ?.
          Last edited by Pepsi; September 3, 2007, 01:03 PM.

Japan is actually exporting so any devaluation help them. What are exporting? Importation don't help debt.

If policies were in place by the PNP, Seaga couldn't have borrowed without accountablitity. You still don't accept the fact that government policies have anything to do with this. How can you even start compare Japan with Ja? They have one of the most effective workforce and produce so many things for the world market, they don't have fiscal deficits and ofcourse they have free education.

How inflated was 5-1, certainly not 70-1. You trying to make a point that no figures can back you up and no international agency with any crediblity support what you are saying.
            You missed the point didn't you...tell me where I lost you...read it again...
            Everything Japan produces they have to import the components.

The point is Japan is able to export more than they import because it is cheaper to trade with Japan. The devalued exchange rates contribute greatly to this, although they have a high import bill.

Jamaicans on the other hand has this high demand for quality yet we do not try to produce quality that will be demanded. If we did then it would become cheaper to trade with other countries and as such making it naturally easier for us to compete on price globally.

When I go to the super market…better yet when I was shopping for back to school there was a clear distinction between the qualities of the bags imported versus the ones produce locally.

See the mentality of the people of Jamaica is the problem here. We just want to make money not knowing that they are actually competing with a firm all the way in Singapore who is focus on producing high quality. And further more we don’t focus on researching how to produce things better or cheaper. We only complain that the government policy should protect local producers and manufacturers not paying any attention to implication as it relates to the global market, and our multi-lateral and trade agreements.

We do not operate in a vacuum and you are the one who demand this higher quality. The things that are being demanded are not base on the fact that The PNP had decided to import them, instead we demand them.

We blame to government for our being intellectually lazy, and not wanting to think and grow rich. I can see you are you are still not yet weaned from the “handout” mentality.

Policies are designed yes but we have the free will and power to make it work for us. Grace Food has, a few other manufacturers have why everyone else can’t try that.
            Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

What handout mentality? Who have a bigger hand out than the PNP? Who have the largest public sector in the history of Ja?

There was time when we produce a lot if you don't know but because we didn't not choose to be competitive instead we wanted Socialism, we lost our competitive edge, now even the rest of the caribbean including Trinidad has a trade surpus with us so what are you talking about?

I missed your point as it is round as a ball point pen. Mi nuh nove no P a just ecomomic properity mi a deal with and government is the main force behind that with their policies or failure to come up with them.

Oh Please:
                [COLOR=black][FONT=Arial]..and remember your previous leader contributed to the conditions that led to a melt down in mid 90's.
                we do not need a expert to figure out your lies,the financial sector, stock market crash,and rapid devalution did not came from the previous Government,HIGH INTEREST RATE is what had cause it.Please explain why they lowered the interest rate when the USA hike theres?.

You missed the point didn't you...tell me where I lost you...read it again...
                  Everything Japan produces they have to import the components.

The point is Japan is able to export more than they import because it is cheaper to trade with Japan. The devalued exchange rates contribute greatly to this, although they have a high import bill.

Jamaicans on the other hand has this high demand for quality yet we do not try to produce quality that will be demanded. If we did then it would become cheaper to trade with other countries and as such making it naturally easier for us to compete on price globally.

When I go to the super market…better yet when I was shopping for back to school there was a clear distinction between the qualities of the bags imported versus the ones produce locally.

See the mentality of the people of Jamaica is the problem here. We just want to make money not knowing that they are actually competing with a firm all the way in Singapore who is focus on producing high quality. And further more we don’t focus on researching how to produce things better or cheaper. We only complain that the government policy should protect local producers and manufacturers not paying any attention to implication as it relates to the global market, and our multi-lateral and trade agreements.

We do not operate in a vacuum and you are the one who demand this higher quality. The things that are being demanded are not base on the fact that The PNP had decided to import them, instead we demand them.

We blame to government for our being intellectually lazy, and not wanting to think and grow rich. I can see you are you are still not yet weaned from the “handout” mentality.

Policies are designed yes but we have the free will and power to make it work for us. Grace Food has, a few other manufacturers have why everyone else can’t try that.
                  in addition to this guess what...we had free education till your previous leader mess it up...mess up the economy as well where it could not be undone by just wishing it away. Careful and structural planning had to be followed to recover and attain stability...to rush and free up education (tuition that is) might just contribute to another period of instability. It is not as easy as you think.

OHHH the tuition fee is not what is preventing anyone from learning, another misguided concept. Probably that’s the reason why statistics have shown that less that 1% place and emphasis the tuition promise as a factor to contend with in making their voting decision.

Better to spend that 1 billion and CONTINUE the education reform, in a few more years we maybe able to safely afford to free education aspiration. And remember this as stated in my other comments the Government pay for 4 subjects and students do not turn up. Who is to tell if they will even turn up for school now that their parents are not the ones paying. It was your previous leader who said "it takes cash to care."

now the US in for some bad times.sad!.

so exactly where did we get this handout mentality? over the last 18 years i have seen more beggarsthan at anytime prior (now most of them able bodied and can look work). not to mention crime...we are not all fools on here you know!

in addition to this guess what...we had free education till your previous leader mess it up...mess up the economy as well where it could not be undone by just wishing it away. Careful and structural planning had to be followed to recover and attain stability...to rush and free up education (tuition that is) might just contribute to another period of instability. It is not as easy as you think.

OHHH the tuition fee is not what is preventing anyone from learning, another misguided concept. Probably that’s the reason why statistics have shown that less that 1% place and emphasis the tuition promise as a factor to contend with in making their voting decision.

Better to spend that 1 billion and CONTINUE the education reform, in a few more years we maybe able to safely afford to free education aspiration. And remember this as stated in my other comments the Government pay for 4 subjects and students do not turn up. Who is to tell if they will even turn up for school now that their parents are not the ones paying. It was your previous leader who said "it takes cash to care."
                        well with the free PNP are'nt .is this country 100% literate?...

So careful planning gave away so much to Air Jamaica, JUTC and all that money Paulwell gave away? The housing and stuff like Sandals Whitehouse?

Those millions could be used for free education, it is no miracle. Seaga never touch high school so how can you blame him? If the PNP was so committed to free education it would be first priority but it is not, them use every excuse why it can't happen.

If the economy is not growing where you going to get the cash? IF you not getting raises then inflation is going to eat out your money and that is the trap the PNP get caught in.

Sass it's aworld known fact
                            that the PNP is committed to education. Check the records and compare it. Which party brought JA out of 53% illiteracy? Do better man.

So careful planning gave away so much to Air Jamaica, JUTC and all that money Paulwell gave away? The housing and stuff like Sandals Whitehouse?

Those millions could be used for free education, it is no miracle. Seaga never touch high school so how can you blame him? If the PNP was so committed to free education it would be first priority but it is not, them use every excuse why it can't happen.

If the economy is not growing where you going to get the cash? IF you not getting raises then inflation is going to eat out your money and that is the trap the PNP get caught in.

Remember this; Air Jamaica still employs people (still an investment)…JUTC still employs people (still an investment)...Sandals employs people (an Investment)...Just like the National Stadium.

My original arguments conceded to the fact that there were some things that I don’t approve or agree with, thanks for re-iterating them yet all these expenses (investments) are one off expenses not recurring, with the potential of generating income beyond you scope of imagination. If it was within your scope you would have seen it. Even if they were spent otherwise...what next when it is depleted.

Those monies have been spent already…but at the end of the day, Air Jamaica will be profitable and able to recover, JUTC will be a national asset…Sandals is an Economic asset.

The difference is that Japan RE-exports products that have added value which effectively means the value of their exports (I believe) outstrip the value of the imports. are we adding value? or just consuming what we import?

pr