Leadership in the wrong places

• Leadership in the wrong places

First of all let me say that I am writing this article with no political intent and of no political affiliation. In fact, I will avoid scoring any political points for either party. I have had the luxury of living in Jamaica for over 20+ years and have experience 2 change of government. But not only experience I have also read about previous changes of government. Now, with the changes or lack there of as it relates to economic development, there is only one change that is important. And that is the psyche of the people.

Ever since slavery our people (Africans - NOT “BLACKS” or “BLACK PEOPLE”) have always been looking for a saviour, a leader, a burden bearer to take us out of our oppression and tear down the walls of Babylon, yes to some extent we have found such saviour and leader in Heroes(in) like Sam Sharp, Paul Bogle, & Nanny of the Maroons to name a few. Some of us have even gone as far as Haile Selassie. But that’s not my point this is not about religion either.

We Jamaicans (and I can extend this to the wider Caribbean and African Continent) apparently have not thought about looking inwards for a leader. We depend entirely on politicians and the leadership of the day (backra) to take care of our needs. I personally believe that it is our responsibility to emancipate ourselves from the dependency on government and face up to facts. Fact is: that’s not how democratic economic leadership really works. If that was the case then we should operate more like Cuba and China, both these economies are communist and both are superior to Jamaica from an economic perspective. Unfortunately we expect that when our party wins an election we can ‘si dung and wait pon’ government/politicians to make everything better. But there are more things we can do for ourselves that has nothing to do with getting hand outs from politicians.

Let me not ignore the fact that Jamaica truly needs good governance in parliament. But total dependence on political leadership will never lift Jamaica to the first world status that we so desire. Almost every week TVJ’s “Your issues live” or other radio talk shows point to the government as the cause for all our economic discomfort and failure. We need to be our own leader, accept the responsibility of being economic citizens and not an economic burden. Taking charge of our life and head in the direction we want. If you are not willing to take charge then there is absolutely nothing the government can do for you. Believe me. It is not beyond our intellectual capability to envisage what I mean by being your own leader (BYOL). Point all 10 fingers the other direction.

For instance we complain that there are no jobs available, we want better education system, better health care, better roads, more money, more cars, more phones, more girls etc. We just want more because we know more is better. But can you believe me when I say we already have more. Think of our school system, each year the CXC’s result and the literacy statistic reveal an embarrassing position on our education system. And we blame government. Why not? We just want to blame someone else for our failure. After all, it wasn’t ME.

Have it ever occurred to you that our students perform poorly not because of the government, the school they attend, the teachers or the system but the students themselves. If some students would actually be focus, attend class and not be caught up in so many activities that plain and simply just don’t concern them, they would learn something. There are so many classic examples as to why students fail. The government is not the one telling a girl to chase after men rather than focus on school or the boy who is a chronic (no pun intended) loafer whose only focus is girls. It’s not the government fault why big men won’t stop chasing school girls promising them gifts and at the same time messing up their heads and their future. Certainly not the government telling a youth from the inner-city who have witness all of his friends or enemies who picked up the gun murdered, yet without recourse eagerly awaits his chance of dying via the same route. Don’t get me wrong, I lay some (operative word “some”) blame on the government but I am primarily against the way we think about what the government’s responsibilities are.

What about the University graduate with honours who have to accept a job befitting a less/none educated individual. Again I would blame the government. I would be wrong, dead wrong! No; think about it, we go to college get our nice degree and cannot get the job we need. Why not create it. We are more than educated and qualified to think and grow rich. Yes I know the banks would much rather dismiss your idea; offer you a credit card, than to lend you the funds to bring your business idea to fruition. Funny enough your very same idea will be handed to someone else and turns out to be very successful. Pity! It is unfortunate that there are No Venture Capitalists in Jamaica. So what do you do? I would take the Job and research ideas to satisfy my economic ambitions. Besides there are so many opportunities both in Jamaica and the world, we are so intellectually lazy that we cannot see beyond working for someone else or watch other people progress with their business for us to copy, rather than pioneer our own.

Recently I was observing some road repairs being done by the National Works Agency and when they were through I was fuming. I should be happy don’t you think. It would not take a Rocket Scientist to conclude that the repair was poorly done, because at a glance one would realize that the asphalt was loose. A leader (not necessarily the ‘boss’) should be able to point to the fact that it was not suitably done and ensure the asphalt is properly pressed which will prevent the rain from washing it away. All evil wants to take over is one good man to sit and do nothing. I am certain in the near future it will be eroded and the government will have to award another contract to repair/redo that same section of the road. Well maybe the government should have some qualified person to inspection work done. Seem inefficient don’t you think. To be paying two separate parties to have one task properly completed.

We don’t need to depend so heavily on the government we are Jamaicans and we are the most resourceful nation in the world (except in Jamaica). Yes, we need good governance, yes political reform is important. But none of that will change the mentality of our people. The economic landscape of Jamaica can not be changed by the government; it can only be changed by…(drum roll please)…the PEOPLE. We should personally focus on OUR well being. The more we can do for ourselves, the less impact poor governance will have on us. We are almost 100% responsible for what happens to us; remember God almighty himself gave us ALL free will to determine our destiny. Our choices will determine our circumstances, if nothing is done then nothing will happen to you. Get up and stop cursing government. It’s not what the government can do for you but what you can do for yourself.
    Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

mon ami,we had black leaders in Colin Powell,Pj Patterson,Kofi anan,and now Bruce Golding.Vote JLP.

We are being reduced to
      a nation of lazy beggars. Self reliance and upliftment of the mind is thrown out the window. Our destiny, we put in the hands of the few ; hoping the will give us welth and prosperity (interesting to note: that one leader that offers the populace wealth cannot break even with his business).

The piper having blown the flute; took our children from us.

We are being reduced to
        a nation of lazy beggars. Self reliance and upliftment of the mind is thrown out the window. Our destiny, we put in the hands of the few ; hoping the will give us welth and prosperity (interesting to note: that one leader that offers the populace wealth cannot break even with his business).

The piper having blown the flute; took our children from us.
        a glad yu mention dat,apart from the harsh business environment nuff people struggle in business,jawge did you know? mechanics drive the worst cars,preachers especially there sons commit the most sins,accountants kept personal wishy-washy records on there day-day journals,the point is,that about Bruce have nothin to do with running a country.

and this reduction has taken place over what period?

Originally posted by Pepsi View Post
            a glad yu mention dat,apart from the harsh business environment nuff people struggle in business,jawge did you know? mechanics drive the worst cars,preachers especially there sons commit the most sins,accountants kept personal wishy-washy records on there day-day journals,the point is,that about Bruce have nothin to do with running a country.
            You are comparing apples with oranges:
            When a pastor's son mess up who suffers...when an accountant keeps poor personal record...who does it hurt...but when a government mess up...we suffer, you most of all because your family/friends/etc will beat you down.

OHHH and the business environment is superb. you need to check the stats and see how many business are constantly booming, and the type of business too... for instance Retails stores (courts, superplus, Singer), Marketing and communication (RJR, TVJ, CVM, Gleaner), Financial (every financial institution is booming even small credit unions are providing competition and holding their own), Manufacturing (Carib Cement, Lasco, Grace Foods, Jamaica Broilers, CB chicken), Tourism (need no example), Service (Internet Cafe, Telephone services, cable) Need I say more.

Pepsi I have read some of your previous comments and you give me an impression that you are not that smart so let me tie it all together for you to understand. Look at the above companies and you can see that they are interconnected. Superplus, Courts and the other retailers islandwide are experience boom in the sale of the products they retail, which would justify their reason to be able to market more hence CVM TVJ RJR etc will make more money as a result…this bag a money has to be circulated via the financial institutions and as such every financial institution has a share of the pie. Almost every financial institution is full everyday. Need I say more. Fact is the business environment is superb the problem however is how some people manage their business.

In Jamaica you will find managers and business owners using profits to build the biggest house, buy the nicest car and priciest fandangles, all this at the expense of plugging back profits to build bigger businesses.

It is fools (I will apologize later but I had to use a strong word here) like you giving the populace the misguided idea that nutten nawn guaan. When a yu a cause nutting fi guaan fi yu.
            Last edited by Leunamme; September 3, 2007, 11:40 AM.
            Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

what is superb? 25% interest rate and imports raising whils so many manufacturing companies closing? What about all the businesses that has cclosed under the PNP? How is it export can't improve if business climate is so good?

How is the dollar still devaluing and the stock market drop like fly this year? Bear Sterns and others downgrade Jamaican stock.

If Business is booming so how it nuh show inna the GDP? You talk bout Pepsi not too smart but are you just brainwashed?

Originally posted by leunamme View Post
                When a pastor's son mess up who suffers...when an accountant keeps poor personal record...who does it hurt...but when a government mess up...we suffer, you most of all because your family/friends/etc will beat you down.

OHHH and the business environment is superb. you need to check the stats and see how many business are constantly booming, and the type of business too... for instance Retails stores (courts, superplus, Singer), Marketing and communication (RJR, TVJ, CVM, Gleaner), Financial (every financial institution is booming even small credit unions are providing competition and holding their own), Manufacturing (Carib Cement, Lasco, Grace Foods, Jamaica Broilers, CB chicken), Tourism (need no example), Service (Internet Cafe, Telephone services, cable) Need I say more.

Pepsi I have read some of your previous comments and you give me an impression that you are not that smart so let me tie it all together for you to understand. Look at the above companies and you can see that they are interconnected. Superplus, Courts and the other retailers islandwide are experience boom in the sale of the products they retail, which would justify their reason to be able to market more hence CVM TVJ RJR etc will make more money as a result…this bag a money has to be circulated via the financial institutions and as such every financial institution has a share of the pie. Almost every financial institution is full everyday. Need I say more. Fact is the business environment is superb the problem however is how some people manage their business.

In Jamaica you will find managers and business owners using profits to build the biggest house, buy the nicest car and priciest fandangles, all this at the expense of plugging back profits to build bigger businesses.

It is fools (I will apologize later but I had to use a strong word here) like you giving the populace the misguided idea that nutten nawn guaan. When a yu a cause nutting fi guaan fi yu.
                tres bien Mon ami,je repetre 'you said not that smart' well the pnp brainiacs only manage 2.5 % growth last year.Please, mon intelligence ami tell us?

As promised let me apologize to Pepsi, for calling him a fool...I only did that because that sentence needed a real strong word to express and emphasize the point I am portraying.

Remember I don’t know you Pepsi, so I am not qualified to call you a fool. Who to tell you may just be the smartest lawyer accountant or tradesman in your field. Don’t be perturbed by my comment about you I apologize for the momentary embarrassment.

tres bien Mon ami,je repetre 'you said not that smart' well the pnp brainiacs only manage 2.5 % growth last year.Please, mon intelligence ami tell us?
                    I do not understand,only Haiti is below jamaica now.do you realized that.

As promised let me apologize to Pepsi, for calling him a fool...I only did that because that sentence needed a real strong word to express and emphasize the point I am portraying.

Remember I don’t know you Pepsi, so I am not qualified to call you a fool. Who to tell you may just be the smartest lawyer accountant or tradesman in your field. Don’t be perturbed by my comment about you I apologize for the momentary embarrassment.
                      well even if am not qualified, what I am saying make sense and cruel for you to call anyone a fool.anyhow without further delay,apology accepted.

what is superb? 25% interest rate and imports raising whils so many manufacturing companies closing? What about all the businesses that has cclosed under the PNP? How is it export can't improve if business climate is so good?

How is the dollar still devaluing and the stock market drop like fly this year? Bear Sterns and others downgrade Jamaican stock.

If Business is booming so how it nuh show inna the GDP? You talk bout Pepsi not too smart but are you just brainwashed?
                        Those closure are result of poor management...the government can’t be blamed for how managers choose to operate, remember this is a free economy. Besides, make no mistake about it, the Free zones closure and the Goodyear factory is closure is not as devastating to Jamaica as would like to assume.

The pay condition that these entities were offering is like what they are now offering to the Cambodians and Vietnamese. Remember this we need Quality Jobs not just any jobs.
                        25% where are you getting 25%, don’t lie like Bruce and exaggerate, why you don’t go the Development Bank of Jamaica and get 10%. I will always say this people want things to be serve to them on a silver platter…imagine places are offering as low as 15.95% and government lending agencies as low as 7 %. Is it that you don’t read why you are not aware of this.

brilliant use of the prior, contemporaneous and subsequent apology! a master stroke!!!

So let me ask you if the devaluation from 5-1 to 68 to 1 have had no effect on business? The high interest rate introduced by Omar Davis and the BOJ has no effect?

You are really pushing it to say these closures have had no real effect on the economy. Also the The huge debt have no effect on economy?

Who are these business who get 7%? The last time I went to the bank with a family member it was in the 20s and he has been doing business since the 1960s.

Base on what measurement...when you compare growth within the Caribbean remember this, we are all on the same level. We are all poor developing countries and no one is above anyone...except for Cuba. In real terms many of these Caribbean economic data show an absolute value but did you know that many times a 10% or 7% growth in these economies are basically a leap to catch up with Jamaica. And remember this many of these economies in the Caribbean are fragile and not as open as Jamaica therefore their real economy performance are not being measure in similar circumstance. Besides Many businesses that come to the Caribbean set up in Jamaica first and base on success will then filter into other Caribbean country. Some of the investment that has filtered to the other countries is a direct result of the fact that Jamaica attracted these investments. Case in point, Digicel.

Trinidad for instance does not an open and develop financial sector like Jamaica...So does Dominica and Barbados...

These countries must Thank JMMB & DB&J for introducing Money market brokerage to their financial sector.

Another point to Note our economy is market driven. Barbados on the other hand is control. So underneath it all their economic performance is not reflecting the true picture...Oh and back to Trinidad, the per capita wealth is rising yet their crime rate is also rising.

Statistician categorically state that there is a correlation between poverty & crime but it does not prove causation.
                              Last edited by Leunamme; September 3, 2007, 12:33 PM.