Politically Skewed...with explanation

• Politically Skewed...with explanation

I am going to be deliberately politically bias (ruffle up some feathers – it’s my civic right) and my decision is based on my unwavering disgust at seeing unfair treatment being dished out. I am not a registered voter and fortunately/unfortunately most of you will not vote because frankly speaking both political parties are two sides of the same coin. So whoever wins on August 27, 2007 it will be life as per usual for us. But I am just tired of the politically motivated slurs being reflected by the media and other political commentators about Portia and the PNP administration. Painting a picture of the PNP being a complete failure to the Jamaican people.

My BIAS comments will be based on “ISSUES” and not political preference. If you are kind to your best friend (operative word “best”) 99 times and come the 100th time you hold back on your kindness. That would be the worse thing you could have ever done. You would even be rejected by your best friend, with a typical comment “yu neva du nothing fi mi yet.” It’s like the 99 things don’t even count or add up to the 100th issue that perhaps were simply not humanly possible at the time. Well Comrades, and non-comrades, this is what the JLP and other politically motivated commentators are doing in the media. The picture they are painting on the PNP is not an accurate or true reflection. Think about it, to be in power for 18 years in a democratic society is a sign that some one must be doing something right (and will continue) or some one else must be doing something wrong (and will continue).

But let’s talk issues, Economic issues. And I am not going to be using the typical economic confusing jargons like fiscal “this” or monetary “that” or GDP blah blah blah. The PNP administration has done both good and bad over the pass 18 years, suffice to say its not 99 good and 1 bad. More like 60:40 respectively. This coming elections will be tendered on issues but what kind of issues. If we are talking personal issues then the PNP must lose and should lose, but if we are talking economic issue the PNP must/should win.

Imagine, I have an ungrateful friend who base on socialization would be supporting the PNP and have decided not to vote nor will her husband (also PNP). I fail to see why. I mean: she has a Job; educated up to the University level (and don’t owe Student Loan thanks to the JAM VAT Programme); she owns her home thanks to NHT (reduction in interest rate and increases in loan threshold); has a car; water; electricity; telephone (3 I might add) and even high speed internet (laptop and Desktop). Yet she is dissatisfied with the PNP’s administration. Well her reason is simple “she nuh have no money.” She can’t afford to do “this,” she can’t afford to do “that.” Even the CEO’s of many companies though they are CEO’s also don’t have enough money.

Not having enough money is a common PERSONAL ISSUE (a “numerology” issue). The things she already has were possible because of the economic policies (big word) of the PNP administration over the last 18 years. The one thing she does not have is a problem faced by everyone. Fact is we do posses the qualities to earn what we are worth. God designed us that way anything else is brawta. We need to find it…Portia/Bruce cannot help you find your economic value (you can’t force the donkey to drink). We don’t have enough money not because of the government policies but because of how we budget. Personal Financial Planning is not a priority for Jamaicans as it is for people in develop countries. In the USA even the man on the street has an investment portfolio (or wants to have one).

Ask any Jamaican if they are happy with their life most will say no, some will give you a list. But are these issues economic or personal. That is yet to be deciphered, because while my friend has her 99 things except 1, true to form when the ban wagon (set in motion by the JLP) start rolling she will also start preaching, bad roads, poor education system, no jobs (and she have a job) health care etc. People of Jamaica it was the ban wagon cry for change by the electorates when they decided to boot Captain Horace Burrell and put Boxhill in his seat. Look at Jamaican Football today. It was the American people who felt that it was time for the Bill Clinton’s Administration (who was on the verge of bringing peace to the Middle East) to go. This desire for change saw the emergence of the Bush Administration and we all know what happen as a result (9/11). The change was made 18 years ago and I personally believe 18 years is not enough.

Don’t be coerced into thinking that “nutten naaw guaan” and that “yu well want a shower.” In fact, think of it this way it took centuries for the USA to grow to the dominance it has today. And if Jamaica had continued on a growth path from independence to now we still would have been lacking in many areas. Even the USA today being a 1st world country has more problems than Jamaica. Maybe if we did not have this series of conflicting change of government we would have seen the difference.

Listen to the music being played on the ban wagon: numerology/occult & change – people, even Christians uses numerology. What about the 3rd day (resurrection), 7th day, 12 tribes of Judah, 12 disciples. There is more than enough evidence in the bible supporting Mrs. Portia Simpson-Miller’s numerology strategy to naming the election date. Don’t be ungrateful look at what we have. More schools were upgraded from secondary to high schools; in time to come these schools will perform on par or better than traditional high schools. Bloom wherever you are planted, besides every child can learn; every child MUST. NHF - if there are no senior citizens (well just about anyone today) who are not benefiting from the NHF it’s their fault. Plus with the removal of fees for children under 18 at the public hospital has also balanced out the equation a bit.

Yes, some of our roads are bad, yes crime is escalating (which is a result of political sabotage), and water and electricity is not yet in every community. But none of these will happen over night. Ok, so the JLP will remove cost sharing come September. And when you ask HOW people start to stutter. Yes, that act is a promise out of DESPERATION on part of the JLP. It’s all good to remove school fees but at whose expense. The NHT, NHF, more taxes, more borrowing, begging? It would be smarter to use that money and pay teachers more and motivating them to produce better results. Look at the current situation, some CXC’s are now paid for and the result of it is that more students are not showing up for the exams (ater a nuh dem parents a pay fa). Who is to say the same won’t happen when you free up tuition. Right now there are more important issue to be dealt with in the education sector than free tuition. Because I can tell you the existing tuition is not preventing any child from attending school. Getting them to learn should be the focus.

Which civil servant (Police, Nurses, Teachers, etc) are willing to take a pay cut in the name of education. Ceteris paribus (go look it up it’s your homework) remember we have limited resources to satisfy an insatiable demand. The J$1 billion will not be a one time expense and will recur increasingly thereafter. Which means Bruce will have to wave his “magic stick” (no pun intended) every September unless he rescinds this decision or print more money (driving up inflation – the cycle will start all over). Plus this J$1 billion would have been better use to further improve the conditions of the schools. Don’t forget that after he removes tuition fees come September he also need to find money to improve the quality and condition of the schools and education system. So this J$ 1Billion now turns J$2 billion.

We had free education up to the 1980’s and many students still did not capitalize on that opportunity. Oh and if he is promising to personally refund fees, even if its from the JLP party funds, that is a sign of willingness to co-mingle state funds with political party funds. Reminder: when the government had decided to dip in the NHT pocket to help pay for the educational reform programme. The Bruce lead JLP opposition oppose, citing political breaches. Indicating their reluctance to reallocate funds that are in surplus in one sector to sponsor another sector where money is in short supply. Yes education it ONE of the most import things to focus on, but “it takes cash to care.”

Ok let us talk political reform and good governance; on that topic not even the former leader of the Opposition can agree with Bruce’s attempt at Political reform. As important as that may be it should not be a priority. Come to think about good governance, political stewardship is also lacking in the JLP, while the PNP had 4 quality prospects to take over the reigns of stewardship, the JLP on the other hand could scarcely find 1 good candidate. If Bruce had not CHANGED his mind AGAIN the JLP would not have apparently found a good replacement. Let us role play a bit. We can have Audley Shaw as the Minister of Finance (his hair is less grey than Dr. Omar Davies according to one writer), Olivia ‘Babsy’ Grange as Minister of Security (perfect match), Minister of tourism, Education, Health and the rest is a toss up as to who will fit those roles.

Think before you vote; are you voting for change base on the ban wagon; are you voting for personal issues; political or economical, what? I personally don’t like some of the things that transpired on part of the PNP. Phillip Paulwell has been making too many “mistakes,” youthful exuberance, if you will, but he is a political liability. The thing about being in representational politics is that your life is similar to that of a Hollywood celebrity and nothing misses the lime light (nothing should either). But that is the lesser of two evils. Make no mistake about it the JLP WILL plunder poor people’s money, especially in favour of those few who funded their election campaign.

Manifestos will be written and it is a fact that many of you will not read them. Go and vote for the country, not political party, not promises or failed promises, but economic policies based on what is humanly possible. The foundation has been set (infrastructure) why do you want to change that, we don’t need to reinvent the wheel. The JLP policy is flatly base on change. But here is my draw back to the change the G2K is promoting. They want Jamaica to go back to the stage where we are depending on Bruce Golding or the Labour party to make things better. That is exactly what we are running from.

We can no longer afford to be dependent on some one or a party to make things better (ceteris paribus – please look it up). Besides shuffling around resources from one end to another is not making things better, in fact can make things worst. Mugabe tried that with Zimbabwe thinking he could use his power as president to just CHANGE things. Right now we should be looking to steer/lead our own success, because so many opportunities are opening up in the economy. BUT no we are waiting on someone to come and serve these opportunities to us on a silver platter. If you say there are no opportunities available that’s because you not willing to seek them out, you are warp into the band “wagonist” thing as stated above. So you sit and wait for some one to come and make things better. Have it ever occurred to us that if we wanted, we could have already made things better without waiting on election to expect a change.

Yes Jamaica should change, Jamaica has to change. But change to WHAT?
    Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

mon ami,to preserve our democracy and drift from a one party State even for one term.vote JLP.

What I would now like : Is
      for Sass, Ben, Comment and other labourites (lazie can sit out this one)
      to counter the above arguments in a logical manner. If the Jakan people make the mistake of turning back years of what their parents (yes because the 20 year olds just don't know) tried to build, then we are doomed to failure.

Today we will see if it's a matter of slavery or self determination.

your labouring on the misconception that your statement is true....please prove that it is true,logically...mi nuh wa'an hear seh yuh "feel" seh....

A guess China and other countries should just strive for less growth than what their potential?

If the PNP had 18 years and can't get 5% in any one year they don't deserve to be in power.

can it be put any more simply?

A guess China and other countries should just strive for less growth than what their potential?

If the PNP had 18 years and can't get 5% in any one year they don't deserve to be in power.
              China is able to grow at their current rate because of their history...you must check that first.

Remember after the Hiroshima atomic bombing attack…the government made an appeal to people letting them know that in order for the country to survive and recover one generation had to sacrifice for the next. It took them over 40 years but they did. We have are just doing 18 years. Oh thee of very little patience and faith.

Our government made a mild attempt at that with the MOU. The entire nation should join in that sacrifice next time.
              Your choices determines your circumstances...if nothing is done nothing will happen

your labouring on the misconception that your statement is true....please prove that it is true,logically...mi nuh wa'an hear seh yuh "feel" seh....
                my proof is that your party wants to do the same thing that the Current party is doing. They just want the population to change to them thats all. The course will not be changed have you read and compared both manifestos. The only difference is words. Plan of action is the same.
                Opps except for one major flaw...how can you plan to spend more while at the same time collent less money (due to business incentives and reduce taxation - audley shaw said so).

my party?!!!! and exactly how did you come to that conclusion pray tell?

MOU by itself can grow nothing and it can be counterproductive if not implemented rightfully.

China just 18 years ago when the PNP took office was poor very poor and a pure communist state. What they realise is that business has a place to grow the economy. Even now there is still low wages in many places in China so what you are saying is just not true. We have had how many years since independence now? not just 18. The PNP has proven to be a failure by having 2.5% growth as their highest in the last 18 years. Is it also the history of Domican Republic made them grow too?
                    What about the current leadership of China and Domincan Repbulic do they play a role in their developement?

Since the 1970s many of us have been singing "better mus com" and tighening our belt, it is time to start sing something else, like I believe I can fly or as Shinehead say "Strive".

ok so its not your party (my condolences)...satisfied!

but my point still stand

ok so its not your party (my condolences)...satisfied!
                        my point still stands

and i say give someone else a chance to mash up the country! it's that simple.

MOU by itself can grow nothing and it can be counterproductive if not implemented rightfully.

China just 18 years ago when the PNP took office was poor very poor and a pure communist state. What they realise is that business has a place to grow the economy. Even now there is still low wages in many places in China so what you are saying is just not true. We have had how many years since independence now? not just 18. The PNP has proven to be a failure by having 2.5% growth as their highest in the last 18 years. Is it also the history of Domican Republic made them grow too?
                            What about the current leadership of China and Domincan Repbulic do they play a role in their developement?

Since the 1970s many of us have been singing "better mus com" and tighening our belt, it is time to start sing something else, like I believe I can fly or as Shinehead say "Strive".
                            We have had many years since independence yes and also had many conflicting changes of course. So one step forward two backward. 18 years ago china was poor but they were continuing to build on what they started since Hiroshima...

You are now planing to change from what has been built over the pass 18 years...do you see the differnce. China - 70+ years of unchanged course...Jamaica 27 years of conflicting changes...Now we finaly got 18...It is noy naturally if we continue as oppose to lose faith nd jump ship.

Are you suggesting we have a one party system?
                              What so drastic will the JLP change? Will we not be a democratic society after this? How much more can our debt be? how much worst can our internal roads be? healthcare, and all the services in Ja?

What exactly will a JLP under Bruce Golding change? Will he reverse indepence?