I think after the dust has settled..........

• I think after the dust has settled..........

When analyzing the reasons for Portia’s loss, the national debates will come to be seen as a key factor in her demise. It was a mistake for her to attempt them. She surprised me with her shocking ineptness.

The debates were widely anticipated and followed and it crystallized in a lot of people’s minds what those in the PNP already knew. And that is that Portia just doesn’t have it. She is severely limited. I now see the wisdom of her strategy to remain silent on most issues such as trafigura etc. She was the only Prime Minister that never held a press conference within 100 days of holding office. It was a prudent strategy given her limitations. But I suppose she would have been damned either way.

Are you kidding me? Are you saying she
    she should have done what Bruce did (play the semantics game) When asked about West Kgn and gang violence. His response was that it was a culture and he had join it to effect change. Now I can just see mayor bloomberg saying he can only effect change by joining the Crips, blood latin king et al. That would be a major media fallout. Bruce also compared himself to Joshua (I was this close to just closing the browser, cho) and it was okay by the media, I even heard some cheering. Can you come here and tell me that Bruce is ven a shadow of Michael Manley? Last time a politician pullled that stunt here it was the butt joke of the month "I knew JFK and you are no JFK". Nanny P mek him slide but ah so. Bruce is no debater trust me on that. Bruce was just more comfortable in the environment that's all.

you saw the debate or a clip of the debate or did you just read about it? remember balla and you re: the 1996 olympic football games when you answer

I listened the debate via
        the web. Boss Balla cyaan tell mi nutten bout 1996 Olympic & Brasil. I have all the games on VHS and DVD, Balla had to yeild then,now and in the future. Anyway what's your point, if you don't mind me asking. Is it the Gang culture or the Joshua comparison?

nope....i remember the discussion quite well....thanks for your input.

Care to answer my question? Thanks.

Originally posted by Comment View Post
              When analyzing the reasons for Portia’s loss, the national debates will come to be seen as a key factor in her demise. It was a mistake for her to attempt them. She surprised me with her shocking ineptness.

The debates were widely anticipated and followed and it crystallized in a lot of people’s minds what those in the PNP already knew. And that is that Portia just doesn’t have it. She is severely limited. I now see the wisdom of her strategy to remain silent on most issues such as trafigura etc. She was the only Prime Minister that never held a press conference within 100 days of holding office. It was a prudent strategy given her limitations. But I suppose she would have been damned either way.
              She is limited because she was not as fluent as Bruce in the debates?
              ...and, I suppose you will claim Bruce is not limited. He is on par with the Almighty - no limits?

Portia is not a debater. Give her her mandate and her debating skills shall improve. But, it is the ability to 'do well for the people' that we wish for.

Some of our people may be fooled by so-called perfect speech and give more weight to that ability to handle the language than carrying out actual work to advance the welfare of the people.

...but, then as I have said many, many times on this site...long before any election campaign was being run for the leadership in 2007-2012, I met many well spoken fellow students who were uncomfortable with being tied to/linked with their parents...mainly because of those parents familiarity with...or some would term unfamiliarity with the English Language. I pitied them then...I pity those who are similarly uneasy with the fact of Portia's humble beginnings.

....hey, it will take years before all our people rid themselves of that type of mental slavery. ...but, it shall happen.

"Give her her mandate and her debating skills shall improve."

Karl. talk wid sense fi a change nuh?

"Give her her mandate and her debating skills shall improve."

Karl. talk wid sense fi a change nuh?
                  I'll ask you one question: Has the PM ever gone into any international arena...not just since she became PM...not on the many occasions that she has represented us in the international arena...but, from she entered political life...and, not represented us well?!
                  Last edited by Karl; August 31, 2007, 10:30 PM.

i did.

portia and Maxine have a rift.

Originally posted by Comment View Post

Portia and maxine have a rift,internal power struggle.Lazie!!!!!!!!!!

She is limited because she was not as fluent as Bruce in the debates?
                        ...and, I suppose you will claim Bruce is not limited. He is on par with the Almighty - no limits?

Portia is not a debater. Give her her mandate and her debating skills shall improve. But, it is the ability to 'do well for the people' that we wish for.

Some of our people may be fooled by so-called perfect speech and give more weight to that ability to handle the language than carrying out actual work to advance the welfare of the people.

...but, then as I have said many, many times on this site...long before any election campaign was being run for the leadership in 2007-2012, I met many well spoken fellow students who were uncomfortable with being tied to/linked with their parents...mainly because of those parents familiarity with...or some would term unfamiliarity with the English Language. I pitied them then...I pity those who are similarly uneasy with the fact of Portia's humble beginnings.

....hey, it will take years before all our people rid themselves of that type of mental slavery. ...but, it shall happen.
                        Portia lost the debate because she had no grasp of the facts.
                        As PM, that was unforgivable.

It is a red-herring to talk about her diction or whatever. Truth be told, it is mainly the PNP stalwarts that seem ashamed by that. Neutrals dont mind that so much, but they dont forgive the bumbling and hemming and hawing from a sitting PM.