The Gleaner's all-time top 10
published: Saturday | September 9, 2006
Tym Glaser, Associate Editor - Sport
PICKING A 'Best Of' anything is always fraught with danger because, basically, you can never be right but, heck, ain't that part of the fun?
When The Gleaner sport team sat down to brainstorm over Jamaica's 10 greatest athletes of all time it didn't know in which direction the votes would fall.
Cricketers and track stars were expected to dominate but when you look at our final list, five sports are represented: cricket, track, boxing, netball and football. That is a tribute to our island's athletes' all-round talents.
Three stars walked straight through the door and on to our list, cricket immortal George Headley and track legends Herb McKenley and Merlene Ottey (yes, we still call her a Jamaican), but then the debates ensued.
There was no hard and fast criteria, just who we thought was the best - and even that got tricky.
Was Courtney Walsh a better fast bowler than Mikey Holding - no way, I'd pick 'Whispering Death' on my team any day but you simply can't ignore the fact that 'Cuddy' more than doubled Holding's Test wicket total.
Lindy Delapenha over Ricardo Gardner? A blast from the past against a current star is always difficult because it's hard to compare eras. However, Delapenha was the first Jamaican to play top-flight football in England and was a star with both Portsmouth and Middlesbrough while Gardner shines bright but does not stand above his peers at Bolton.
Olympic medals
Donald Quarrie over Asafa Powell? In a few years, when this list may be revised, Powell will probably be a lock but, for the time being, Olympic medals count for more than world records and Asafa's still yet to win a race/medal of substance.
'Ottey never won Olympic gold', you may counter, but do you really believe that Veronica Campbell, at this stage and despite two Olympic medallions around her neck, was a greater sprinter than the most durable athlete track and field has ever seen?
Of course, there are some unlucky omissions because we could only pick 10.
Boxer 'Bunny' Grant was KOd by 'The Body Snatcher', Mike McCallum. Olympic medal winning cyclist David Weller was unseated because he competed at a Games (1980 Moscow) which was boycotted by most of the western world's top riders.
Football great Alan 'Skill' Cole, cricketers Holding, Jeffrey Dujon and Alfred Valentine, netballers Connie Francis, Oberon Pitterson and Elaine Davis and a plethora of track and field stars were all thrown up for nomination but, at the end of the meeting, only ten could be chosen and they didn't make the cut.
As you may have noticed, this story is littered with 'buts' and question marks but (there I go again) we stand by our picks.
Then bottom lines is we are not wrong and we are not right; it's a purely subjective exercise, but (jeesh) one thing from all this really stands out, and it is captured in the great and accurate Jamaica adage: "Wi likkle but wi tallawah".
------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEON HEMMINGS
DEON HEMMINGS was the first woman to win an Olympic Games gold medal for Jamaica.
The historic feat came at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta where she out-ran and out-leapt her opponents to win the 400m hurdles.
Now Hemmings-McCatty, she started her athletics career as a nine-year-old doing the sprints. She moved to Vere Technical but didn't enjoy a successful high school career.
However, she managed to get into Central State University in Ohio, and it was during her days at that institution that she found coach Josh Culbreath, the 1956 Olympic 400 metres hurdles bronze medallist.
From then on, Hemmings' career rose to another level.
A licensed real estate agent, Hemmings' career also includes a second-place finish at the Sydney Olympic Games in 2000 and the 1997 W
published: Saturday | September 9, 2006
Tym Glaser, Associate Editor - Sport
PICKING A 'Best Of' anything is always fraught with danger because, basically, you can never be right but, heck, ain't that part of the fun?
When The Gleaner sport team sat down to brainstorm over Jamaica's 10 greatest athletes of all time it didn't know in which direction the votes would fall.
Cricketers and track stars were expected to dominate but when you look at our final list, five sports are represented: cricket, track, boxing, netball and football. That is a tribute to our island's athletes' all-round talents.
Three stars walked straight through the door and on to our list, cricket immortal George Headley and track legends Herb McKenley and Merlene Ottey (yes, we still call her a Jamaican), but then the debates ensued.
There was no hard and fast criteria, just who we thought was the best - and even that got tricky.
Was Courtney Walsh a better fast bowler than Mikey Holding - no way, I'd pick 'Whispering Death' on my team any day but you simply can't ignore the fact that 'Cuddy' more than doubled Holding's Test wicket total.
Lindy Delapenha over Ricardo Gardner? A blast from the past against a current star is always difficult because it's hard to compare eras. However, Delapenha was the first Jamaican to play top-flight football in England and was a star with both Portsmouth and Middlesbrough while Gardner shines bright but does not stand above his peers at Bolton.
Olympic medals
Donald Quarrie over Asafa Powell? In a few years, when this list may be revised, Powell will probably be a lock but, for the time being, Olympic medals count for more than world records and Asafa's still yet to win a race/medal of substance.
'Ottey never won Olympic gold', you may counter, but do you really believe that Veronica Campbell, at this stage and despite two Olympic medallions around her neck, was a greater sprinter than the most durable athlete track and field has ever seen?
Of course, there are some unlucky omissions because we could only pick 10.
Boxer 'Bunny' Grant was KOd by 'The Body Snatcher', Mike McCallum. Olympic medal winning cyclist David Weller was unseated because he competed at a Games (1980 Moscow) which was boycotted by most of the western world's top riders.
Football great Alan 'Skill' Cole, cricketers Holding, Jeffrey Dujon and Alfred Valentine, netballers Connie Francis, Oberon Pitterson and Elaine Davis and a plethora of track and field stars were all thrown up for nomination but, at the end of the meeting, only ten could be chosen and they didn't make the cut.
As you may have noticed, this story is littered with 'buts' and question marks but (there I go again) we stand by our picks.
Then bottom lines is we are not wrong and we are not right; it's a purely subjective exercise, but (jeesh) one thing from all this really stands out, and it is captured in the great and accurate Jamaica adage: "Wi likkle but wi tallawah".
------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEON HEMMINGS
DEON HEMMINGS was the first woman to win an Olympic Games gold medal for Jamaica.
The historic feat came at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta where she out-ran and out-leapt her opponents to win the 400m hurdles.
Now Hemmings-McCatty, she started her athletics career as a nine-year-old doing the sprints. She moved to Vere Technical but didn't enjoy a successful high school career.
However, she managed to get into Central State University in Ohio, and it was during her days at that institution that she found coach Josh Culbreath, the 1956 Olympic 400 metres hurdles bronze medallist.
From then on, Hemmings' career rose to another level.
A licensed real estate agent, Hemmings' career also includes a second-place finish at the Sydney Olympic Games in 2000 and the 1997 W