• Give me Portia, storm or calm

Give me Portia, storm or calm
    published: Sunday | August 26, 2007

Dawn Ritch, Columnist

There is no doubt that Jamaica is a blessed island. Last weekend, we were spared a direct hit by Category Four Hurricane Dean. And we haven't had a major earthquake for a century. That is well and truly very lucky.
    Just the thought of a hurricane puts me into a daze. Terror has no greater name than earthquake or hurricane.

On the day of anticipated landfall, the Prime Minister of the country was quoted on the United States television network CNN, as saying, "we must all bend down together." I know this because someone called me from Atlanta. At first I couldn't understand a word she was saying, because I had no power, no water, only telephone. Eventually I got the drift and struggled back to my chair. I felt myself foolishly feeling around for seat belts, and realised there were none.

That afternoon, a friend in Jamaica, nudged me by telephone too. She told me to listen to the radio. I had batteries so I flung them in, and tuned to RJR. My friend was on Power 106. She thought she had a pal. But I was glad when the telephone died the next day. That was unaccountable bliss.

The fear I acquired of hurricanes is relatively recent. But matters were certainly not helped the night before the event. I still had power and the television news was on. There was Opposition Leader Bruce Golding, with his hair blowing in the wind, standing on the Palisadoes strip. He was on camera telling us that it would be cut up into little "islands". He said the repairs weren't done properly since the last hurricane impact in 2004. Well, I don't think anybody needed to know that right then.

The radio was kept on. For the entire weekend the Jamaica Labour Party ran advertisements with Bruce Golding saying he was in contact with the prime minister. Big deal to him, small comfort to me. His ads were as annoying as the mosquitos.

The daybefore the hurricane, I heard Mrs. Simpson Miller on the radio. Among other things, she was asking people in low-lying areas to evacuate, and telling them where to go for shelter. That was information everybody needed to know at the time. Over the weekend, I heard her voice more on radio than I've ever heard it before. It seemed like everybody, even the Jamaica Observer reporters, got an exclusive interview with the prime minister.

'Dean' was the third most intense hurricane since records began in 1850. The Jamaica Observer printed a photograph of the Prime Minister in a disaster meeting. She had three good-looking men on her left, and three good-looking men on her right. That's how I'd always pictured it in my imagination. Mrs. Simpson Miller was in command.

Bruce Golding was oblivious to all that. He just kept on talking about how he'd been chatting with the police commissioner as well as the Prime Minister, and told them that a declaration of a state of emergency was unnecessary. But the prime minister told the country on radio that she would lift the state of emergency only when the majority of people had electricity again, and then go to the general election.

The aftermath
    The day after the passage of 'Dean', I couldn't move an inch. The phone was dead. I was in slack-jawed heaven all day long.

Tuesday now, was a different kettle of fish. When I heard there was a state of emergency, I was mightily relieved, because I had a lot to do out on the road. I was able to clean up my business place downtown while the doors and windows were wide open. I slept at home with the doors and windows open. First time in decades; best sleep in decades.

There's nothing I love more than a padlock and a safe seat, except a good strong wall to hide behind. At one point, I thought the hurricane had struck. The wind wouldn't stop howling, the rain flew horizontally until 20 feet away from me was like a solid sheet of white zinc. Trees bent in every direction and snapped. Branches wrapped themselves right around each other.

Even people in Port Royal say they'll evacuate next time, and they are the hardiest people I know. One of them told me that the sea came up from both sides and met in the middle. These are not people given to exaggeration. The sewers backed up in some people's homes; not even a mattress could be saved.

This really isn't the time to be politicking no one seems to mind. Maybe they're in a daze too. But soon, we will all calm down, and I don't think that on reflection, the business-as-usual politics we endured from the Opposition will sit well. They even stuffed our letter boxes with promotional flyers during the hurricane. Politicians must not give the impression of thinking only about their votes, when other people are thinking about their great and personal losses.

I was alarmed, therefore, to hear some talk-show hosts incandescent with rage when the general election was postponed. Even Bruce Golding kept trying to set the new date. He tried it before and failed, but that has not dissuaded him from trying again and failing again.

Palisadoes strip prediction
    The Palisadoes strip did not break up into islands, as he had predicted. I don't know who Golding thinks put the Opposition Leader in charge of the country, but it can only be his lawyers. This is a most deluded presumption, and under the circumstances of a national disaster, quite irrelevant.

I'm glad Desmond McKenzie, mayor of Kingston, spent little or no time on radio. The sound of him stammering into the microphone was most unsettling. On balance, therefore, the country is indeed most fortunate that an alarmist was not prime minister last weekend.
    Mrs. Simpson Miller did an impressive job to rave reviews internationally and locally, except among the well-known tribalists. Before the rain had even stopped, I heard her again on radio, confirming international relief aid from Brazil, Venezuela, Spain and the U.S. I'd rather go through a disaster with her anytime than any one of those 'Frighten Fridays' now seeking representational office.

Storm in a teacup?

published: Sunday | August 26, 2007

Orville W. Taylor

Like his namesake, he stammered and stuttered but slightly changed course. Depending on whose side one is on, Hurricane Dean hit us or he missed. In fact, there is enough evidence to say both; but we should be thankful that it was not worse. Indeed, there has been so much wavering that he should have been named after another politician.

Having experienced 'Allen', 'Gilbert' and 'Ivan'as an adult, I am terrified of ill winds that blow no good. Add to that, the lack of water, baths in margarine tubs, dry-cleaning of private parts, copious servings of bully beef, sardine, 'wutliss' tinned mackerel, hot cola champagne and 'coal tea', and it is almost as uncomfortable as having to sit through a week of political debates.

Beyond the rotting leaves, discarded personal belongings and furniture, comes the stench of discord during a national disaster. One finds a moment to chuckle, because 'Dean' made you realise that your neighbour's bed and 'whatsitnot,' drying in the sunlight, are not as nice as she boasted.

Multiply all of these by increases in illegal firearms over 1988 and 2004, a persistently high homicide rate, and the apparent incapacity of either of the political leaders to control their supporters. Then imagine the nights in the aftermath of a Category Four-plus hurricane, more directly pointed to us than Ivan the terrible?

'Gilbert' wrought upon us
    In 1988, after he saw the massive damage that Category Three 'Gilbert' had wrought upon us, then Prime Minister 'Pappa Eddie', had the Governor-General declare a state of public emergency. With forethought and not wanting to be left behind, P.J. Patterson called it prior to 'Ivan's' expected landfall. Somewhat strangely, Sista P did so Sunday, in the middle of the hurricane.

I am not going to be a hypocrite. Despite the abuses and travesties of the People's National Party (PNP), which included Portia in the 1970s, I found nothing wrong with the action of either of the three. If there is a national blackout, looters pillaging homes and businesses, gunmen pushing the AK over the wall and prowling the streets, shouldn't the majority of citizens, except for those in the essential services and key industries, be prevented from having unrestricted access, especially under cover of darkness?

Given the shortage of resources of the National Worst Agency (NWA), police and fire brigade, shouldn't the Government have access to those of private corporations and citizens? After all, who can forget the quick 'tinking' of the cesspool emptier driver who recently used his 'initiative' to tackle a gas-station fire and extinguish it?

It is squarely the fault of the Government that we do not have enough tractors, trucks, graders and backhoes. Nevertheless, the NWA can always use a few more backhoes in this crisis.

Furthermore, the 'adequate' supplies of rice and other foodstuff might be appropriated by the Government if we are to believe the words of competent super minister Paulwell instead of the Super Plus supermarket chain.

On air, an American-accented man vehemently opposed the declaration. The Prime Minister has made some blunders in her short year, but this is not quite one. The leader of the free world, President George W. Bush, as short on geography as he is, declared states of emergency in Louisiana and Texas, a full day before Dean was scheduled to arrive here. Given the experiences of 'Katrina', exactly two years ago this Tuesday, was he wrong as in Iraq, where he constantly declares even today, that he is not changing course? After all, Dean would have had to change its projected course in order to reach any of those two states.

The US law
    Under American law, the president can make the declaration "to save lives, protect property and public health and safety, and lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe." It gives access to increased federal funds, to mitigate its impact and gives government immense powers. These include suspension of firearm permits and commandeering private resources. It is also possible to detain individuals without charges and without the write of habeas corpus being allowed.

Other specific pieces of American federal and state law are triggered by the declaration, but in essence, it is an abnormal adjustment by government to unusual and perilous situations. For the record, there were 32 Federal declarations of emergency between 1976 and 2001.

Nonetheless, of the Prime Minister's action, many have spoken ill. My concerns are two-fold. First, can we trust Portia's PNP, not to replicate the 1970s abuses in an election period? After all, the temptation is great since the polls are so close. With the potential for abuse, she could easily 'run with it'.

More worrisome is the accusation by 'Leader of Opposition' (and not simply Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) leader) Bruce Golding that she acted unilaterally. On my talk show last Tuesday, Attorney-General A.J. Nicholson, who feels my pen again, declared that there was indeed consultation no consensus. No problem, because a leader has to take decisions and stand by them. However, she should end it quickly.

Nonetheless, the public was informed that the declaration was the recommendation of the security chiefs, while Bruce rebutted that after the bilateral meeting with them there was no such understanding.

Someone is lying!
    By the way, why, after three years, did parliamentarians not enact laws forcibly to evacuate people at risk and prevent them from building in zones like Portland Cottage? I'll tell you why! The clowns have wasted our energy on three years of election watching.

Jamaica is too small to create storms in this T or C cup. By failing to keep 'abreast' of real priorities, they could grow into F cups.

Dr. Orville Taylor is senior lecturer in the Department of Sociology, Psychology and Social Work at University of the West Indies, Mona.

I noticed ALL the people who were ranting about this are suddenly quiet.....
      Even now, my Mom is without electricity....yu tink it easy?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        I noticed ALL the people who were ranting about this are suddenly quiet.....
        Even now, my Mom is without electricity....yu tink it easy?

...but, seriously - do you think, for example, if dem man(...an 'oman) deh relative or friend was in dire need of rescue and ei-di-hots dem are up and about slowing down and or preventing those who should rescue getting swiftly to help being held up...that they would be a friend of the 'fool-fool' PM who had Tom, Dick, Harry and im fren dem a run up an dun a block dem? ...and, or prevent rapid clearing of roads...or whatever?

Those who oppose the the State of Public Emergency are....

Early election date ans SoE are 2 diff things. Karl

Stop mixing metaphors

Early election date ans SoE are 2 diff things. Karl

Stop mixing metaphors
            Aaaah Willi, you try too hard!

But matters were certainly not helped the night before the event. I still had power and the television news was on. There was Opposition Leader Bruce Golding, with his hair blowing in the wind, standing on the Palisadoes strip. He was on camera telling us that it would be cut up into little "islands". He said the repairs weren't done properly since the last hurricane impact in 2004. Well, I don't think anybody needed to know that right then.
              When it comes to emergencies like this, I would rather not see any politician, unless he/she is some expert on what to do. Bruce Golding was not very convincing as he stood on the Palisadoes strip telling the NWA engineers that they did not know what they were doing. When hurricanes approach the USA, CNN goes to the National Hurricane Centre in Florida to talk to the big boss, Bob, or whatever his name is. They not go to the White House to get the president's view, because he doesn't know jack! Likewise, I would rather see Barbara Carby or the present head of ODPEM on my tv when disaster is imminent.

I hope Bruce does not continue to play Mr. Know-it-all when he is prime minister. These are life and death matters.

Bruce can do no right in your view? Him wrong in everything he does

So when did Bruce get his engineering degree where he can tell the NWA people what to do or what they did wrong??

Or are you the flip side to Mosiah where while he finds fault in everything Bruce does you swallow everything Bruce says hook line and sinker?

I recall some time ago every time rain fell in MoBay, South Gully Creek flood over and caused mayhem and all Barnett Street turn two way.

They a contract was signed and one day I was driving past with a JIS manager and he was critical of what he saw the engineers doing.

When once we had a wide open gully which we thought would allow free passage of water (but it still get blocked)., they were putting in these walls at 10m intervals with about 20 holes in them.

To my friends mind, this made no sense, if the place was flooded with the wide open place, what would happen when they put in walls??

Well since the completion of the project there has not been any serious flooding that we used to have, yes one in a while after serious heavy rains, there is some flooding but it never lasts as long as it used to.

I pointed it out to my friend a few months ago and he says he never said any such thing...

No,

I agree with one and disagree with the other for very good stated reasons.

Not true, Assasin. Yuh speaking to the wrong man here. Please, do not generalise!

I hope Bruce does not continue to play Mr. Know-it-all if when he is prime minister. These are life and death matters.
                          if?

My former boss had a PHD in Psychology and he was the director of Information Technology, do you assume he don't know anything about technology?

Unnu claim say want a strong opposition leader unlike Eddie Seaga. Now you have one and instead of looking at policies and criticising it unnu choice the most trivial things in the political silly season. Portia has the mantle and I assume she has said some very silly things now too but it is that time and what unnu expect an OPPOSITION LEADER to do? Just accept whatever the PNP do?

"Terror has no greater name than earthquake or hurricane"
                              I wonder how many lives Dean and his friends(Gilbert etc) has taken, and how many Mr.Politician and his friends....,at least hurricanes are seasonal. Jamaica's greatest threat is not from so called acts of God, it is from men with guns and policies implemented by people that has no business calling themselves socialists.
                              Dawn and her friends continue to disappoint.

Blessed

Blessed