PM gives order for State of Public Emergency to be lifted

• PM gives order for State of Public Emergency to be lifted

After days of calls that the State of Public Emergency imposed on the island be lifted Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller has now asked the Governor General to make the adjustment.

The State of Public emergency was imposed on the island last Sunday in the wake of Hurricane Dean.

In a release to our news centre on Friday afternoon the Prime Minister stated that she has advised Governor General Kenneth Hall to issue a proclamation terminating the state of emergency with immediate effect.

The Prime Minister said this decision was made after she met with Heads of the Security Forces earlier Friday, who gave her the assurance that there would be special security measures in effect in areas that still do not have electricity.

She said she was also assured that special arrangements would be made for areas with special security challenges.

And just before the Prime Minister's order to lift the State of Public Emergency, several groups had been calling for it to be lifted.

The latest group was the Private Sector Organisation.

The PSOJ said on Friday afternoon that the Government should immediately re-evaluate the necessity for the State of Public Emergency and to swiftly remove it.

And the Ocho Rios Cruise Ship Council Chairman, Michael Belnavis also said the state of public emergency had been affecting tourism in the hotel industry.

His concerns come on the heels of those of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association, the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce and the Opposition.

Several Human Rights Groups and the island's two daily newspapers had also called from the lifting of the State of Public Emergency.

Ok 2 less things to harp about - SOE and election date.

Not really. I still oppose the willy nilly usage of SoE by ANYONE!

We dont need martial law to deal with disasters. You said it best, we need a State of Disaster law.

See Observer letter below:

State of Emergency

Friday, August 24, 2007

Dear Editor,

I read Rev Stoddart's letter, "Firmly behind State of Emergency" in the Observer of August 23 and feel compelled to take issue with the assertions at the beginning.

(1) The commissioner of police and his most senior deputies declared that they did not see a need for a state of emergency and communicated as much to the prime minister.

(2) Although the State of Emergency was declared on Sunday night, the police were not informed of the special powers conferred under this matter until Wednesday (much of the country still doesn't know), and as such continue to operate as if there is no state of emergency.

With that in mind, it is fair to say that not even one life has been saved by the imposition of this State of Emergency.
      I am not berating you, however. There is a confusion of language. Jamaica has no direct equivalent to what is called a "State of Emergency" in Florida. After all, we have no federal government to call in.

The closest thing the US has to a Jamaican State of Emergency is "martial law", that is, a situation in which some or all civil rights declared in the constitution are suspended. Any American politician will tell you that this is a last-ditch act of desperation.

Kevin Forge
      kevinforge@gmail.com

bwoy the foriegner "them" can whine eeeeehhh

dem nuh know that them nuh fi have no say? Unless them a Lee Chin.

bwoy the foriegner "them" can whine eeeeehhh

dem nuh know that them nuh fi have no say? Unless them a Lee Chin.

Sass - let's rephrase bwoy the foriegner "them" can whine eeeeehhh from the comofrt of them air-conditioned living room

Well, there was no way for Parliament to convene and pass such a bill during the hurricane. Portia used the laws available to her.

We have other workarounds.

Its not the draconian powers that help. Its organization, curfews, communication, etc. Martial law is of no real positive benefit in and of itself.

Anywayz, parliament is no more...dissolved weeks ago.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                Sass - let's rephrase bwoy the foriegner "them" can whine eeeeehhh from the comofrt of them air-conditioned living room
                Which of us foreigners live big like top Govt officials??? Steeeups
                Dem mussi think that we a all Lee Chins.

LoL

Wili this is the same party that almost gave us Renato Adams as a candidate. The same Renato that Mosiah and JFJ fraid of and bawl blood because of.

Willi, from me likkle til now me hear seh a pure rich man live a switzerland still. So, me kinda understand to a point. Anyway, guidance you hear mister track and field. Pray for our athletes.

Well you cant be poor to live here, as it just too dear. The system sucks out all you make!!!

Rich is something else though!

You have some real rich people in the country, but not ususally here in Geneva as it is high tax (relatively) and socialistic compared to other Cantons. Marc Rich lives in Lucerne with his business in Zug. Zug, Baar and Vaud have some serious money people. Ikea owner lives in Vaud. So does the owner of Alinghi (Americas Cup yacht race winner), who is worth at lest $5b personally.

All when Americans come here to visit, dem bawl. Europe dear bad, bad.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                        Willi, from me likkle til now me hear seh a pure rich man live a switzerland still. So, me kinda understand to a point. Anyway, guidance you hear mister track and field. Pray for our athletes.
                        If you want to know where some serious money is...check Luxemburg and Lichtenstein.

A some senior corn dem man deh have.

Candidate for what a straight jacket? How unnu love follow fool fool argument suh?

LoL

How well did Oliver Clue perform as MP?

LoL

How well did Oliver Clue perform as MP?
                              Suh why you haffi tek set pon the STETHS man Willi?

It would be good to hear how O. Clue performed as MP. Knew him from my days at STETHS. He was coach of the DaCosta team when I was there.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran