• Jamaica's growth challenge

Dennis Chung
    Friday, August 24, 2007

Hurricane Dean has come and reminded us of our vulnerable fiscal and growth situations. We will certainly see challenges to our macroeconomic environment, fiscal accounts, growth, and balance of payments. This will result primarily from the destruction to the agricultural and tourism sectors, which are significant contributors to inflation and foreign exchange earnings. The passage of Dean is also a reminder to us that hurricanes are a way of life in the Caribbean, and the fact that Jamaica has been so lucky is no reason for us to be complacent and not put the appropriate provisions in place.

I often wonder whether Jamaica's phenomenal endowments (geographic location, natural beauty, and agricultural resources) have led our politicians since 1962 to deliberately create problems for the country. The fact is that there has been no natural disaster, since 1962, that has caused greater devastation on Jamaica than the sustained mismanagement of our country by successive governments.

While hurricanes and floods may have come and caused a few billions of dollars in damage, and resulted in lower growth performance, the mismanagement of this country has resulted in far greater losses. Examples of this mismanagement are (1) the cement crisis, which cost us billions of dollars in opportunity lost; and (2) the cost overruns on contracts.

Lacking growth capacity
    I have long said, and regret that I am right, that Jamaica does not have the capacity to grow at 3 percent or more consistently. There is no doubt that Dean is going to negatively affect growth, but even before Dean the growth target was already revised down by 1 to 1.5 per cent. We had projected growth at 3 per cent for the fiscal year, and this was revised down to between 1.5 to 2 per cent. With the passing of Dean we can expect that target to be further revised down by 0.5 to 1 percent, resulting in growth of 0.5 to 1 percent for the fiscal year, consistent with our average since 1990.

If we look at the growth outturn for the January to March 2007 (Q1) and April to June 2007 (Q2) quarters, we achieved total GDP growth of 2.0 and 1.8 per cent respectively. The main sectors contributing to this growth included agriculture (Q1- 4%; Q2- 3%), Construction and Installation (Q1- 7%; Q2- 3.6%), Electricity and Water (Q1- 4.7%; Q2- 3.9%), Miscellaneous Services [Tourism] (Q1- (0.1%); Q2- (2.3%)).

As a result of Dean we can certainly expect that these sectors will be further negatively affected. Some players have also said that the state of public emergency has negatively affected tourism, but this has been disputed by the authorities.

The main reason why we are always so distressed when a natural disaster occurs, however, is because when times are stable we do not take advantage of the growth opportunities.

I come back again to last year, when we did not have any natural disaster, but then we created the cement crisis, which cost us significantly in a year when we should have been growing at a faster pace and taking advantage of the stable times. So when a natural disaster comes around it hurts us even more because we have not capitalised on the opportunities.

Jamaica's growth
    The graph shows Jamaica's GDP growth between 1962 and 2006, and I have assumed a growth rate of 1.5 per cent for 2007. It shows that in the 45 years between 1962 and 2006 we have grown more than 2 per cent in 17 of those years and more than 3 per cent in 12 of those years. What is more is that of the 17 years we have grown more than 2 per cent, 10 of those years were between 1963 and 1972, with the other years being 1981, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1993, 1995, and 2003.

We have only grown 12 of the 45 years above 3%, with 9 of those years between 1963 and 1972, and the other years being 1987, 1989, and 1990. So we have not grown above 3 per cent in over 16 years. Doesn't this tell us that there is something seriously wrong with our capacity to grow in excess of 3 per cent? And if we understand this concept, then why do we project these growth rates when there is no fundamental change in our production factors? As a matter of fact, in my opinion, productivity and the pillars of growth are even more eroded than they were in 1990.

It is therefore apparent to me that there is no way that the economy will grow at 6 to 7 per cent rates without some fundamental shift in our production arrangements. At the heart of this are the social and political policies that influence growth. I speak of things such as elimination of bureaucracy, crime, waste and corruption; functioning institutions such as the courts and police; quality education etc. Unless these things are dealt with then I regret to inform everyone that we will not see any sustained growth in excess of 3 per cent. For me the concept is clear. When I heard the news report that the police were trying to restore public order after Dean, I thought to myself that there was not much to do as one of the primary problems we have, with or without a hurricane, is the inadequate level of public law and order.

It is for this reason why I continuously say that Jamaica does not primarily have an economic problem, but rather a social and political one. It is for this reason also why our governance relationships are of primary importance. So whoever forms the government after the election should understand that acceptable growth levels will only happen if we have the proper infrastructure and policies in place. Providing a stable macroeconomic environment and a positive primary surplus, while desirable, is not enough if unsupported by proper social and political policies.
    Last edited by Karl; August 24, 2007, 02:14 PM.

The graph mentioned

in the article is attached. I've been telling unuh all along. Whenever the JLP is running the country growing more that 3% is nothing. Why is it whenever our economy grow 3% or more it is under a JLP gov't? Is it rocket science fi unuh see who manage the country better?

Unuh look what Manley's reign did. Yet unuh continuously mek up stories bout Seaga? You people cannot be serious.
    Attached Files

Very telling stats. Anyone who denies that since independence the JLP governments have been far better and achieving economic growth is either a damn liar or a damn idiot. One can find other reasons to criticize JLP administrations but not economic growth.

Of course past performance does not guarantee future performance and the players are always changing , but thats a different argument.

I can't believe you have the nerve to post this without an apology. When I said the exact same thing, reputing Bruce's empty promise to the Jamaican people, you and Maudib tried to insult me, as if I were a fool. Well, your newfound economic guru shares (stole?) my belief.

If you have an ounce of dignity, I am right here waiting for your public apology.

Dennis Chung
        Friday, August 24, 2007

I have long said, and regret that I am right, that Jamaica does not have the capacity to grow at 3 percent or more consistently...It is therefore apparent to me that there is no way that the economy will grow at 6 to 7 per cent rates without some fundamental shift in our production arrangements. At the heart of this are the social and political policies that influence growth. I speak of things such as elimination of bureaucracy, crime, waste and corruption; functioning institutions such as the courts and police; quality education etc. Unless these things are dealt with then I regret to inform everyone that we will not see any sustained growth in excess of 3 per cent.

Is Seaga running for office?

And economic growth by way of GDP growth hardly tells the entire social story.

Wasn't suggesting that it did, but it is certainly a major part of the story. I would even say it is a NECESSARY part of any successful social story.

Somehow the leftists in the 70s didn't quite grasp that concept.

Agreed!

I can't believe you have the nerve to post this without an apology. When I said the exact same thing, reputing Bruce's empty promise to the Jamaican people, you and Maudib tried to insult me, as if I were a fool. Well, your newfound economic guru shares (stole?) my belief.

If you have an ounce of dignity, I am right here waiting for your public apology.
                  Apology for what? Simply look at the stats and see reality. Each time the JLP got the economy going unuh vote dem out and put in some jokers. After Manley's mess of the 70s it took the JLP 6 years to correct it, then as soon as they got going again, we voted them out.

Now unuh mek this set a idiots muck up the economy for 18 years now unuh waan talk bout 6% growth nuh possible? It simple Mosiah ... Vote JLP. Yes Exile ... it needs to be said.

What are you on about? I am talking specifically about how yuh trace mi when I said we will not achieve 5% growth for the very same reasons your new god Dennis Chung has suggested. Stop clouding the issue!!!

I educate ... please substitute that for trace. Thanks.

I wasn't aware I've been changing gods? The man mek points that I've agreed with, his graph fully supports what I've been saying all alone.

As for you ... you only object to us achieving 5% because a di JLP say suh. In presenting the PNP's manifesto Portia said they're going to grow the economy. Did you object to that? The FACT is whenever our economy grow more that 5% it was always because of the JLP. EVen in the PNP's first year.

... Anyone who denies that since independence the JLP governments have been far better and achieving economic growth is either a damn liar or a damn idiot. ....
                        Karl .. JAwge ... any other comrade. Which is it ... Liar or Idiot?

You are lying, but I love consistency. I stated exactly why I don't believe we can achieve 5% growth in the short or medium term. You seem to remember everything but that.

But like I said, if you have any dignity at all...

in the article is attached. I've been telling unuh all along. Whenever the JLP is running the country growing more that 3% is nothing. Why is it whenever our economy grow 3% or more it is under a JLP gov't? Is it rocket science fi unuh see who manage the country better?

Unuh look what Manley's reign did. Yet unuh continuously mek up stories bout Seaga? You people cannot be serious.
                            Lazie mi fren!

You have always failed to grasp the concept that growing can be achieved and the majority do not benefit.

Let’s break it down to something all, even the person who never entered the doors of a school can relate t–

Look at your fingers (Yeah 10 fingers!) …all of us know 10 fingers.

Let us say each finger have 1 sin-ting tie pan hit!

Let us say – there is growth that gives each 10 sin-ting. So now we have 10 x 10 sin - ting. dat his 100 sin-ting. luk pan growth?! (Wonda han ha-maze-ment!)

His a different sin-ting tuh heach finga when each have 10 sin-ting pan hit…or, when yuh ave various di-fa-rent permutations has tuh wah tie pan heach di-fa-rent finga. Rite?

Let's seh waan figa gat 96 sin-ting tie pan hit. Dem di nedda waan dem ave ongle 1 tie pan dem…a still 100 sin-ting (di grow). Great growing gwaan…but, di 9 finga dem dats gat di same 1 deggie ting paan fi dem wi a hask which growth unnuh a talk bout?

Well…mi live tru di Seaga JLP growth years!

~WHAT~!!!!!! obviously people who say lawyers use legalese to confuse people have never been subject to what we are being subjected to today!!

karl i beleive that you have violated the constitutional rights of persons from cuba to china to russia.....