Devastation - Dean wrecks Old Harbour Bay!!!

• Devastation - Dean wrecks Old Harbour Bay!!!

BY KARYL WALKER Observer staff reporter walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, August 22, 2007

Two days after powerful Hurricane Dean sent 20-foot waves crashing onto the south-east coast of the island, residents of the fishing village at Old Harbour Bay, St Catherine are yet to come to grips with the devastation that has befallen their community.

Ten year-old Nicholas Nembhard pushes a trolley loaded with zinc he salvaged yesterday after the passage on Sunday night of Hurricane Dean in Old Harbour Bay, St Catherine. (Photo: Karl McLarty)

What was once a lively fishing beach at Market Street has been completely levelled by the hurricane's force. At least 40 houses were blown apart, others severely damaged, shops and stalls were blown away and an arcade lost its roof.

In addition, some boats were swept over 100 yards inland when the storm surges hit.

Jennifer Manley, a mother of three and grandmother of four, lost all her possessions in the hurricane. Manley was depressed when the reality that she and her younger relatives no longer had a place to rest their heads, hit her.

"I don't think I am going to live here anymore," she said. "This is too much. I lost everything and I am asking anyone for some assistance now."
    A neighbour, who gave her name only as Marsha, was also confused.
    "Right now me don't even know where and when me a go start over. Everything mash up," she said.

Hurricane Dean was at Category 4 strength with maximum sustained winds near 240 kmh (150 mph) when it brushed Jamaica's southern coast Sunday night. Before its arrival, forecasters had predicted that it would strike Jamaica directly and pass over the entire island.

But Dean took an almost similar path to Hurricane Ivan in 2004, a category 3 storm, which also battered Old Harbour Bay. However, like their counterparts in Rocky Point and Portland Cottage in the neighbouring parish of Clarendon, the residents of Old Harbour Bay conceded that Hurricane Dean was the most powerful hurricane they had ever experienced.

"This is the wickedest hurricane ever come a Jamaica," one man said. "Ivan never bad so, the breeze give the sea a power no one never see yet. Dean a bad man."

Robert Brown, a fisherman, recalled the first signs that Hurricane Dean was on the prowl while repairing his fishing boat and nets.

"A the first me see the sea get vex so," said Brown. "Everybody haffi run out yah. The sea cover the arcade and wash way everything. Is a lucky ting nobody never dead."

But 60 year-old Hazel Baker did not evacuate and is now praising her lucky stars. She, too, lost her house.

"Me decide say me a watch the ting and all of a sudden the water come powerful. When the breeze take me, me hold on pan piece a iron and a di iron save me," Baker said, pointing to metal bars some 50 feet away from the spot where her house once stood.

The Old Harbour Bay Police Station did not escape Dean's wrath. Wisely, the 14 cops stationed there evacuated to the Old Harbour Police Station before the building lost its roof.

Damage was also evident in the Dagga Bay, Station Lane and Cross Roads sections of the community. Houses were also blown away, roofs were gone or storm surges completely soaked residents' furniture, appliances and other belongings.
    Last edited by Karl; August 22, 2007, 10:55 AM.

And we going to have elections in less than 14 days because Lazie's draws are in a bunch.

Huh? What does Lazie have to do with anything? Why not blame Portia? She is the one that saw the need to call an election in the hurricane season.

This hypocrisy must stop. ALL of sudden now, it's Potia's fault to call elections when you have been calling for it all year???? This nonsense about not calling elections in hurricane season...how many hurricanes have we had for the last 50 years? How many elections? I heard a barely literate Journalist on TV (from Ja) postulating about since adult sufferage...who is PAYING them?
        Last edited by Exile; August 22, 2007, 10:34 AM. Reason: typo

Originally posted by Exile View Post
          This hypocrisy must stop. ALL of sudden now, it's Potia's fault to call elections when you have been calling for it all year???? This nonsense about not calling elections in hurricane season...how many hurricanes have we had for the last 50 years? How many elections? I heard a barely literate Journalist on TV (from Ja) postulating about since adult sufferage...who is PAYING them?
          Damn Exile. Anybody being a hypocrite is Portia. Mek Mosiah dem tell yuh har argument against fixed election date ... no dem ago claim dem nuh know. Portia said a fixed election date isn't possible ... what if there is a hurricane. Then she announced the election date the following week.

If hurricanes were on her mind, why do this then? Unuh need fi stop being defensive. I deal with facts.

Hurricane season lasts from June 1 to November 30. These days of global warming could change those dates to May and December.

So, I guess, Exile, Lazie is saying that elections should only be called anywhere from January to April. So what if school is in session?!

Damn Exile. Anybody being a hypocrite is Portia. Mek Mosiah dem tell yuh har argument against fixed election date ... no dem ago claim dem nuh know. Portia said a fixed election date isn't possible ... what if there is a hurricane. Then she announced the election date the following week.

If hurricanes were on her mind, why do this then? Unuh need fi stop being defensive. I deal with facts.
              After 18 years of opposing, good to see that y'all have it down to a science!

Nonsense!

Nonsense!
                  Same thing I said too. Yet unuh a defend har every move.

What's wrong with one more holiday? Might be one way to capture the young people vote.

My problem with election day is that yu have to make sure you have your bar stocked as no liquour sell that day... I'ma assuming this is true for JA.

pr

I never seen such to and fro. First - it was call elections, then Aug 27 was too late, then no SoE, then dont call elections in hurricane season, then why re-schedule elections soooo early, why didn't she talk to Brice, now we hear she DID talk to Bruce...
                      You know what we don't need an election again...just hand over the government.

Not so at all...just think there's just too much UNNECESSARY criticism.....

If free aid money is flowing in then she is better off waiting, let the good times roll, declare effective management and then call the election.

However if the relief is not on the ball then Portia is going to get the blame. I she believes that things are going to go downhill fast then the best advise for Portia is to call the election early.

Say after me" My name is Peter-R and........
                            Come down for 12:15

I never seen such to and fro. First - it was call elections, then Aug 27 was too late, then no SoE, then dont call elections in hurricane season, then why re-schedule elections soooo early, why didn't she talk to Brice, now we hear she DID talk to Bruce...
                              You know what we don't need an election again...just hand over the government.
                              Let me guess, when yuh guh a restaurant yuh tell the waiter / waitress fi carry everything come one time? Appetizer, main course and desert.

Don't be comical Exile. Portia is the one that indicated that hurricanes are a factor that prevents fixed election date. If you fail fi see the result of 1+1 then yuh on yuh own.