• Mo let me make myself clear about

the state of emergency.

I have no problem with Portia calling one. If she thinks it is neccessary for the Hurricane and the after but it must be removed as quick as possible so that life can go on.

You said nobody give police power to do what they do when they abuse people but you know Human nature. Bush and Cheney never have to tell the soldiers in Iraq prisions to do what they did. It is human nature and if police think they have absolute power then no reason for them to report to anybody or hold back.

the state of emergency.

I have no problem with Portia calling one. If she thinks it is neccessary for the Hurricane and the after but it must be removed as quick as possible so that life can go on.

You said nobody give police power to do what they do when they abuse people but you know Human nature. Bush and Cheney never have to tell the soldiers in Iraq prisions to do what they did. It is human nature and if police think they have absolute power then no reason for them to report to anybody or hold back.
    kiss teet! Mosiah is a darn hypocrite. Isn't he the one that continuously point out how the state have been abusing citizens. Yet this happened and him waan gwaan like him nuh see it. Fi a man that champion human rights, him coming across as being selective.

People need fi stop comparing the SoE in Texas and Mexico with the one in Jamaica. THEY ARE DIFFERENT. Then again, people in Texas have rights ... in Jamaica, yuh rights depend on yuh status.

So, what's the problem? I too would like the state of emergency to be removed as soon as possible, and suggestions that she did it in order to win the election are unfair.

When you have a war or a SoE, security forces do get out of hand and commit human rights abuses, and that's why you would rather not see any of the two. But the fact that we have them gives no one the right to commit the abuses. Yes, you might say it's human nature, but...

What exact powers do states of emergency give our security forces? They are not given the freedom to shoot as they please and beat down as their hearts desire. So, perhaps we need to be clear about what the SoE means.

And that's why having a clean police force, where the officers are men of integrity, civility and who considers themselves protectors, reassurers, servants, is so important. You can't send out thugs in uniforms during an SoE and expect them to exercise good judgment, restraint or decency.

Calling a state of emergency is committing a human rights abuse??!? Cho! It's Wednesday, Lazie. Sensible Post Day!

"What exact powers do states of emergency give our security forces? They are not given the freedom to shoot as they please and beat down as their hearts desire. So, perhaps we need to be clear about what the SoE means."

How about being locked up for almost a year without being charged? How about being taken to the airport and told to go to Canada or be locked up?

Calling a state of emergency is committing a human rights abuse??!? Cho! It's Wednesday, Lazie. Sensible Post Day!
            Yuh brighter than that Mosiah! Try again.

the state of emergency.

...if police think they have absolute power then no reason for them to report to anybody or hold back.
              What do you mean by this?

So, what's the problem? I too would like the state of emergency to be removed as soon as possible, and suggestions that she did it in order to win the election are unfair.

When you have a war or a SoE, security forces do get out of hand and commit human rights abuses, and that's why you would rather not see any of the two. But the fact that we have them gives no one the right to commit the abuses. Yes, you might say it's human nature, but...

What exact powers do states of emergency give our security forces? They are not given the freedom to shoot as they please and beat down as their hearts desire. So, perhaps we need to be clear about what the SoE means.

And that's why having a clean police force, where the officers are men of integrity, civility and who considers themselves protectors, reassurers, servants, is so important. You can't send out thugs in uniforms during an SoE and expect them to exercise good judgment, restraint or decency.
                Lazie needs to understand that there should be no thug in the security forces, period!

His constant harping on the line that something is wrong with the PM's actions is rooted in his blinkered views. It matters not who is the PM when such events as the coming of a supposedly monster hurricane...or, any hurricane for that matter the sitting PM must act as the present PM acted. Unless Lazie is going to tell us the nonsense of his PM being able to see into the future.