Are elections a priority right now?

• Are elections a priority right now?

Listening to a discussion on Hot 102FM on the topic of whether general elections should be a priority and I heard one person express his disgust that BOTH parties were still running during the hurricane.

I fully agree..these people have no regards for the people they are seeking to represent.

But the meat of the matter was whether elections should not be pushed back to a time when the country is back to some semblance, people are out of shelters back in their homes and getting on wit their lives.

They asked whether some one who was still living in a shelter, like many in the east would care about getting to a polling station (some of which are used as shelters) when they dont know what is going to happen.

Listening to a discussion on Hot 102FM on the topic of whether general elections should be a priority and I heard one person express his disgust that BOTH parties were still running during the hurricane.

I fully agree..these people have no regards for the people they are seeking to represent.

But the meat of the matter was whether elections should not be pushed back to a time when the country is back to some semblance, people are out of shelters back in their homes and getting on wit their lives.

They asked whether some one who was still living in a shelter, like many in the east would care about getting to a polling station (some of which are used as shelters) when they dont know what is going to happen.
    You have stuff like this and there are persons out there taking about whether or not emergency measures should not have been taken or that it was taken too quickly?

Got to be kidding!

A driver for the Observer said he saw no fewer than 15 young men marching up and down the streets in his neighbourhood during the hurricane all apparently 'strapped', some with rifles over their backs...no these were no police or soldiers, some had access to cars and people talk phart.

See it is easy to sit down in a nice air conditioned house in the US or where and talk but there are people this evening who have lost everything and others who have no way of protecting the little they have left

Mek Portia push di date past Labour Day (sic) and see wha happen! Civil war!

A driver for the Observer said he saw no fewer than 15 young men marching up and down the streets in his neighbourhood during the hurricane all apparently 'strapped', some with rifles over their backs...no these were no police or soldiers, some had access to cars and people talk phart.

See it is easy to sit down in a nice air conditioned house in the US or where and talk but there are people this evening who have lost everything and others who have no way of protecting the little they have left
          So is only people in the US that questioned the SOE? A who write the article in the Observer paper? ..And while I don't doubt what the Observer driver said he saw, who is to say his story is credible?

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
            So is only people in the US that questioned the SOE? A who write the article in the Observer paper? ..And while I don't doubt what the Observer driver said he saw, who is to say his story is credible?
            Yuh affi see wid Sickko, thats his punchline when he can't make his point. Funny, some criticize us for leaving, yet dem have dem escape strategy. Dem tink dem slick.

I have no reason to doubt what the driver said, why would he make up a story like that? What would it benefit him to lie like that??

Can you tell me..the problem with you people is it is so easy to sit back and chat especially when you have nothing to back up yopur argumnets..

Dem deh story a regular someting. Observer driver never haffi tell me dat. A man call in from Rollington Town during the hurricane and a bay gunshot. It was on 106 so some a unnu muss did hear it tuh.

Up at the top of my street, dem never joke fi let off during di hurricane.

I caught a report on TVJ some times after 4pm on Sunday saying some one got killed in the morning in Spanish Town when gun man kicked off their doors even while the rain was falling anbd we talking about SoE will scare away tourist

Like I said, if the tourist have any sense at all, he/she will know that the SoE is associated with the storm, as happened in Texas even though the storm had little chance of getting there. I think the lack of power and roads might be more upsetting for the tourist than a state of emergency.

You have stuff like this and there are persons out there taking about whether or not emergency measures should not have been taken or that it was taken too quickly?

Got to be kidding!
                      The question is not whether emergency measures should be taken, but which kind!!

Stop throwing up non sequitors. There are curfews, Suppression of Crimes Act, and SoE possible. People are questioning whether we needed to go for the ultimate! People are free to question.

Red herring.

People do this in Jamaica all the while without hurricane. Look how often areas are locked down by gunmen, etc. Hell, the last week has a lower murder rate than the average.

So let me understand you. People are breaking the law openly and police and military need special draconian powers to deal with it??? So are they useless when One-order lock down Span. Town, or when Mountain View flares up, or when there is war in Jungle or Tivoli or Payne Land when there is no SoE???

Natty Morgan etc, had cars, soldier uniforms and organizations. Where was the SoE then? Sandokhan, etc.

FYI, mi nuh have nuh air conditioning, so try again.

I have no problem with delaying the date. Never expressed such sentiment.

What is an extra week or 2???

Dem deh story a regular someting. Observer driver never haffi tell me dat. A man call in from Rollington Town during the hurricane and a bay gunshot. It was on 106 so some a unnu muss did hear it tuh.

Up at the top of my street, dem never joke fi let off during di hurricane.
                            The problem is that it is regular thing, hurricane or NOT!

Some people seem to get religion now that its hurricane time, but we all know that gunman have way too much lattitude in jamaica at all times. Indeed, they have been less fatal in the last week than usual.

So, are you saying we should have a state of emergency right now, storm or no storm, election or no election?