I am at work. How does it prevent people from working?
EDITORIAL - Lift the State of Emergency now
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostTopic reopened to deal with this piece of nonsense.
Lazie, anything she did would have resulted in unnu bitching. If she called it before, unnu would have tings fi say. If she call it during, unnu dideh a whine. Maybe she should have called it a day before the general election, storm or no storm."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
How pompous you are in declaring this topic closed! That is the kind of unilateral declaration that is the perfect complement to Portia's action. I believe most people here are saying that the introduction of curfews was sufficient. However, the declaration of a state of emergency has impacts beyond where they need to be. For instance the north coast tourist sector needs to be back to normal. Curfews away from the north coast would be fine. The news about a state of emergency has the the effect of cancelling bookings by many tourists before they even embark on a trip to Jamaica.
You might be in Jamaica, but I have spoken with folks all over Ja, of all stripes, who believe the State of Emergency was unnecessary. How often has it been that both newspapers in recent years have been so emphatic about an issue?
In fact, a prominent comrade declared that it would inspire confidence in Jamaica, from foreigners, if they were able to see that we could isolate problem areas and restore normalcy to the tourist and other industries in a very short time."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"
You are sad.
Just as names don't affect you, your silly barbs do nothing to me! I am comical, I am defensive, I am emotional, I am...insert you crap here!
How about dealing with points or facts?!? You think you can try that in one of your posts? Just one, the rest can be laden with your f#$%y all you want, if it makes you feel good.
sigh
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostYou are sad.
Just as names don't affect you, your silly barbs do nothing to me! I am comical, I am defensive, I am emotional, I am...insert you crap here!
How about dealing with points or facts?!? You think you can try that in one of your posts? Just one, the rest can be laden with your f#$%y all you want, if it makes you feel good.
sigh"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
This entire forum knows you are the one behaves childishly. Just re-read your post and you will comprehend. The issue is about the economy and and normalcy. Isolating problem areas should be rather easily done. I dealt with point and facts, just as both newspapers and many posters here. When anyone disagrees with your ideas, you launch personal attacks instead of getting to ideas."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"
Same thing! The police have admitted that they were not acting under any SoE. Yet the poppyshows come here acting the fool. When unuh ago be man enough fi question the actions of unuh gov't?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWhoa! Looks like someone else may be getting emotional!
Wi might need a State of Emergency for this site, what with all this potential for violence!"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Lazie View PostYou keep citing other countries. You realized that our SoE was implemented AFTER THE FACT???
The hurricane winds were on us...the truth is it was declared during the first hours when gale force winds were being felt.
I happened to be on the telephone with my daughter in Jamaica when the statement was being read on NNN. Her comments to me from her Cypress Ave address (off the Constant Spring Road) was everything is OK only a "little winds and rains". Where she lives the full force of the hurricane was not being felt.
She was not listening to the radio, I was. I am the one who told her a State of Public Emergency was being (present continuous) declared."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."